We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well worth the effort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bay Horse Inn

Save Saved
You added The Bay Horse Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Bay Horse Inn
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   8 Brandon Village, Brandon, Durham DH7 8ST, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Brandon B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“well worth the effort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We were not sure if we should make the trip from Glasgow due to the weather but we did and glad we made the effort as we had one of the best weekends we have had. Burn's Night or was it Bob's night was an unexpected suprise, all the locals we met were very friendly and staff could not do enough and always with a smile. We had lunch and 2 evening meals all of which were great value and good quality. We had room 10 and found it very comfortable, The new management have been in place since November and it is obvious still a work in progress but you can see the work being done and have no doubt this will be a real gem given time and look forward to returning later in the year,
If there is a problem tell the management as they can not fix it if they don't know about it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    94
    29
    18
    17
See reviews for
25
144
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Twynholm, null, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed one night in January 13. The staff were friendly and welcoming and we have stayed here a few times prior to this visit. The Bay Horse is under new management again (3rd or 3th time in a couple of years) and we're not sure how long the current owners have been in place. The rooms are basic and we did find the heating is inadequate for the size of the room. At least this was left on overnight unlike our last winter visit! Our room had a 3 quarter size bed (I think) rather than a full double and had 1 not very comfortable chair. The bathroom was quite basic with a very small bath with a functional shower.

The saloon bar is frequented by locals (usually a good sign) and has an open fire which was in use on our visit and kept the room warm when the front entrance door wasn't ajar - it would be a quick and cheap job to fix so it closed properly after people come and go. The resturant part is slightly bigger and, unfortunately, the evening meal was pretty disappointing. I had lasagne which was very lumpy and not especially tasty. My wife has a pork dish and requested gravy which was completely cold when it arrived. The staff did offer to provide a replacement without hesitation but we opted to have it heated in a microwave to save some time. The resturant was busy, and not just with residents, so perhaps this was just an unlucky experience.

We have now found an alternative hotel which, in our opinion, is far better although slightly more expensive and further away. We might try the Bay Horse again provided the owners stay in place rather than change yet again and, hopefully, some money might be spent on sprucing up the place and some focus might be bought to bare on making sure the food is of a consistently good quality.

Room Tip: Request room 10 (have had this before) which has / had a 4 poster bed and is a bigger room. Be aware...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

2 night B&B stay and paid the full price of £55 per night - the couple we were with had a cheap KGB deal. The pub itself is small and in need of re-furbishment. 9 chalets have been built in the car park. Our chalet was cold when we arrived and had no storage. Restaurant had poor service, basic food and was dark illuminated by night lights. On our second moning no hot breakfast was provided.

Room Tip: Best to avoid unless you get a very cheap rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

A very warm welcome. Staff very friendly and welcoming. The weather was very deep snow and when we left they came out to make sure we could get off the car park. The food was excellent. The room was comfortable and had an extra heater that we could put on in really cold weather. The bathroom needed a sprucing up and the shower needed a deep clean in the corners. This is the only negative comment as the rest of our stay was really good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We arrived on 26th december 2012. Althoough we were informed that there would be food on that day on arrival we were informed it finished at 16.00hrs. Not a perfect time when you want an evening meal. The room was sparse and only had one hard chair to sit in not good enough when there,s two of you. The bed was double and you could actually see the springs in it. Bedding of very poor quality. The pub itself was really down and out. We bought a pint and glass of wine we couldn,t sit in the pub and decided to drink it in our room. Regardless to say we packed and returned home the same night.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Where to start, went on a bargain KGB 2 night deal and it was head turning great, all the rooms are lodges with parking right outside your door and they were clean, spacious and warm, but the biggest surprise was the evening meals, they were STUNNING and great value for money, we have stayed in gourmet pub/hotels who's food was similar but twice the price, well that sealed the deal for me and we promptly negotiated 2 x 3 night stays direct with the manager and we can't wait to go back so book and enjoy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Booked a 2 night stay via KGB deals stayed in a chalet within the courtyard which was very comfortable and private. The Inn has an amazing set of staff from the owner Richard the Chef who is of Michelin Style Quality and the barman Keith all make you feel part of the family. We tried numerous meals on the menu all of which where amazing and excellent value. We met the locals who are a treat very friendly and with lots of tales to tell, there is no need to go out we stayed in the bar both nights and had amazing conversations and laughs. The staff and owner make your stay welcoming and we will definitely be visiting again in the near future.

Room Tip: All excellent rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Still looking for a hotel?
Travelers also viewed these Brandon hotels
High View Guest House 5.0 of 5 stars 1 reviews
Show Prices
View all 0 hotels in Brandon, ranked by popularity

Been to The Bay Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Horse Inn

Address: 8 Brandon Village, Brandon, Durham DH7 8ST, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham > Brandon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Brandon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Bay Horse Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Bay Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bay Horse Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.