We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Port Road, Rhoose CF62 3BT, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rhoose
Certificate of Excellence 2014
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Clean & friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Used this hotel the night before our early flight so used the 8 day park and fly service. Couldn't fault it. Breakfast served from 4am, mainly cold food but warm croissants etc. minibus to airport on time and very prompt to pick us up on the return. Staff friendly. Would use again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Exp... M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience regarding your recent stay.
I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I am very happy that all facilities we have offered you have been to your satisfaction.
I hope we will be able to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Jessica Gresens
Deputy GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    211
    59
    21
    13
See reviews for
140
169
31
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

I had the displeasure of staying here for a week on a business trip. Room, dated. Television, cefax? Really?. Bathroom, functional. Very clean I have to say. But generally very poor. The walls are paper thin and the lift is painfully slow. I didn't attempt breakfast as I wanted to avoid spending any more time than needed there. It cost a lot from what I can gather. So no value for money . I believe the staff are lovely. I guess I will have to take their word for it as I barely had any contact with them.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Exp... M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for your review.
I am a bit confused about your review as you are not really saying what has been to your satisfaction during your stay as you are stating the room was clean and that you asume that the staff was lovely.
Our breakfast is free of charge so you would have been more than welcome to help yourself every morning.
Would you be so kind to get in touch with me under deputy@hiexcardiffairport.co.uk to explain what was the disatisfaction during your stay?
Kind Regards,
Jessica Gresens
Deputy GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weston super mare
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night as attending a wedding in Llantwit Major along with another 7 couples also at wedding. The hotel is functional, clean, rooms are excellent for purpose of just staying 1 night. Breakfast is good standard for a budget hotel and at £42 a bargain.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Exp... M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience regarding your recent stay.
I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I am very happy that all facilities we have offered you have been to your satisfaction.
I hope we will be able to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Jessica Gresens
Deputy GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We recently brought my daughter to Cardiff for her to stay with her friend and booked ourselves 2 nights in the nearby HI at Cardiff airport. I was a little apprehensive about staying at a budget hotel, however there was a limited choice of hotels in this area for the dates that we needed, so booked up non the less

Well, what the hotel lacks in comfort and style, this factor was more than made up for by the fantastic service that the hotel team provided during our stay

Nothing was to much trouble, from Carl/Danielle selecting an appropriate 'quiet room' option and finding us some information on the surrounding area to Daniel organizing and preparing some delicious and hearty options on our first night meal

The room was spacious/clean and we took full advantage of the courtesy ice machine in reception

My only criticism is that the breakfast was quite basic and on the second morning it was cold and the self service area was very messy and needed to be cleaned as it didn't look great

This wasn't enough to ruin our stay by any means and I thank the team for the genuine smiles, kind consideration and customer care that was extended to us and the other hotel guests

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Exp... M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you so much for your kind words and your high scores.
I am so glad that we were able to make you stay and that all staff members you came in contact with have been excellent.
Please be assued that I will share your comments with Carl, Danielle and Daniel and I am sure they will be thrilled to read your review.
Thank you very much again and I do hope we will be able to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Jessica Gresens
Deputy GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night prior to going on holiday, It is basic which is what we expected and for what we paid was excellent value. The menu for evening was good, breakfast was limited but again was what we expected. It was quiet considering you could see the runway from our room. if we were flying from Cardiff we would not hesitate to book here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Exp... M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you very much for your kind words and high scores.
I am very glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that all services and facilities offered have been to your satisfaction.
Please be assured that I will share your comments with the whole team.
Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience and I do hope we will be able to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Jessica
Deputy GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights for a big wedding do in Barry. Room is quadruple glazed, entirely functional, well equipped, very clean. Excellent power shower. Air conditioning was a bit noisy. Breakfast is basic but fine - except for the coffee, which is horrible. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Don't stay here if you want charm or character, do stay here if you want peace of mind.

Room Tip: All the same!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Exp... M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience regarding your recent stay here on TripAdvisor.
I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I am very happy that all facilities we have offered you have been to your satisfaction. My aplogies that you did not like the coffee offered during breakfast.
I hope we will be able to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Jessica Gresens
Deputy GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel meny times.when we have an early flight,it is only 1 night but its always very clean and the staff are great,its very quite when you think its next to the airport.You can have a good breakfast from about 3 30 and cooked after 6am what more could you ask for.we are O A P from the Rhondda Valley.

Room Tip: we always have non smokeing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Exp... M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience regarding your recent stay here on TripAdvisor.
I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I am very happy that all facilities we have offered you have been to your satisfaction.
I hope we will be able to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Jessica Gresens
Deputy GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport

Address: Port Road, Rhoose CF62 3BT, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Rhoose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rhoose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just two minutes from Cardiff International Airport and 10 miles from the Cardiff City Centre, our clean modern hotel is all you need for your business or leisure needs. We offer complimentary hot breakfast and free shuttle services to both the Airport and Cardiff City Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, BookIt.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport Hotel Rhoose
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport Rhoose, Wales, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.