We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a dramatic location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palacio de Luces -Relais & Chateaux

Save Saved
You added Palacio de Luces -Relais & Chateaux to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palacio de Luces -Relais & Chateaux
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ctra AS - 257 s/n, 33328 Luces, Colunga, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Luces
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in a dramatic location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Just came off a bad experience at another Relais Chateaux in Portugal and this one put my faith back in the brand.

Location - incredible views if a little wind swept
Room - beautiful junior suite, loads of room, missing conditioner for my partner in the bathroom but this seems to a Spanish thing. The biggest issue was no water supplied other than the mini bar which is atrocious for this level of hotel.
Food - excellent food and a great choice on the menu, the manager went out of his way to show us several wines and recommended a fantastic local wine. Breakfast was fine but all cold selections and the dining room was empty for the 1st 20mins so took a while to get a coffee.
Service - except for breakfast was impeccable at all times. The manager greeted us on arrival, checked on us in the restaurant and at breakfast.

I would stay here again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    21
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
35
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

This is a lovely 5 star hotel the room we had was large with a small patio garden looking over their mini golf area and the small village nearby. We had a large bath room with a walk in shower double sink. Everything you expect from a top quality hotel
The views from the dining room are to die for overlooking the Pecos De Europe just fantastic. The breakfast was very very good all fruits breads meats and cheeses. All just right.
The pool and garden a joy.
The hotel service impeccable. The cost of our room was 180 Euros a night very cheap for what we got breakfast included.
This is a modern hotel so some people might not like the slightly cold atmosphere.
The area around the hotel is interesting loots of villages to go to and beautiful beaches.

Room Tip: try and get a room with a balcony or terrace south facing if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

This is a great value for a Relais property. Many things to do nearby. Immaculate property and excellent staff.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamplona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010 via mobile

Very nice rooms with bad A/C system and tiny in-room bar. Good restaurant with good service but not professional or 5 star level. Recommended only if you get a nice deal. No jacuzzi in spa area.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ni
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

great food, great service, fabulous views, lovely architecture. Great with kids. 2 adjoining room both very spacious. Great pool. Very quiet but not in a strange way. VERY clean

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2008

I stayed here in August 2008 and I cannot understand its five star rating.

The hotel is pervaded by the smell of cow manure from a nearby farm, there is piped music in all the areas - swimming pool, outside the swimming pool area, in the corridors and in the restuarant.

The rooms are fine - and the bathrooms are great, but it is expensive. Including the evening meal I spent 400 euros for one night, in comparison to what I spent in other 5 and 4 star hotels in the area this is more than double.

Finally, the service in the restaurant and at breakfast is atrocious - it is slow and not attentive. This is the type of restaurant that does not leave the water and wine on the table, so you are dependent on a waitress noticing when your glass is empty. The food is also not very good. The menu looks very similar to all other menus in this area but is double the price. Given the fact that this was a 5 star hotel and the prices were double I had high expectations of the food. They weren't met!

At breakfast I waited over 20 minutes for someone to offer me tea or coffee, before I walked out. Who knows how long I would have waited? I will say that the Spanish people and the table of Germans did get much better service than me.

  • Liked — Bathroom
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2007

We spent two weeks in this luxurious five-star hotel. Situated outside the small town of Lastres, the hotel is beautifully designed in a modern style. The whole impression is one of space, mostly created by the floor-to-ceiling windows, through which you get stunning views of the Picos de Europa.

Throughout, in the rooms, the restaurant, the lobby, the attention to detail is astonishing. I have rarely had the privilege of staying in such an elegant place anywhere in the world.

Generally the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Special praise to Delfina, the head of reception, who is of a calibre and professionalism to match the best hotels in the world. But there was also a genuine warmth and interest in our well-being from all the staff. For example, I needed to get something for my computer (the wi-fi link in the hotel worked perfectly, whether in the common areas, in the rooms, or out on the terrace) and asked reception where I could buy the part in Gijon, the nearest city (35km away). The next thing I knew they had arranged for someone to buy the part for me and bring it to the hotel.

We ate several times in the restaurant, and enjoyed the dishes, although we might have eaten there even more had the menu changed more frequently.

The Asturian weather was not up to much, and, presumably as a direct result of this, the local sports facilities are rather low key (no decent tennis courts within 40km radius, and the hotel only has no outdoor swimming pool).

But it is worth staying in this hotel for its own sake and I can thoroughly recommend it.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palacio de Luces -Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacio de Luces -Relais & Chateaux

Address: Ctra AS - 257 s/n, 33328 Luces, Colunga, Spain
Location: Spain > Asturias > Colunga > Luces
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Luces
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palacio de Luces -Relais & Chateaux 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Palacio de Luces -Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio De Hotel Luces

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palacio de Luces -Relais & Chateaux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.