We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Visir Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Visir Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Visir Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Del Mare, 211 | angolo via Lubiana, 91026 Mazara del Vallo, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Excellent hotel, friendly and attentive staff, especially Giuseppe the bartender and his excellent cocktails.

Rooms are very clean, decorated tastefully and we had a hot tub in ours. Airport transfer to Trapini is extra but is much cheaper than a taxi at the airport,

We will be back.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    220
    76
    30
    11
    11
See reviews for
35
194
3
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mikulov, Jihomoravsky Kraj, Czech Republic
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have to add excellent rating to this hotel. Everything was perfect (room, pool , spa, personal atitude, transport to the beach), but I want to highlight amazing cuisine. Every evening we had three-course dinner. Lot of fish, pasta, eggplant, ...
Roman a Jana Jelinek, Mikulov, Czech Republic

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This has the potential to be an amazing hotel, but it doesn't quite deliver on all its promises.

Location: mazara del vallo is a good spot to be to explore western sicily and its many beaches, but the hotel is on the edge and first impressions aren't helped by having to drive to it past a pretty grotty area. However that seems to be true of many Sicilian hotels!

Rooms: we booked a room for the four of us. However that meant we got what would have been an adequately sized king bed room turned into a far too small space for a king bed plus two child single beds. We managed, but I would not expect a hotel to offer 2+2 accomodation without the ability to properly provide it - and our room was one of the bigger in the hotel from what I could see. Beds were comfortable and the hot tub was great! Rooms were clean if slightly faded and standard of hotel service was very good.

Pool and bar area were great during the week - hardly anyone else there so had the pool almost to ourselves and Guiseppe the bar man is always happy to help with requests and made us feel very welcome. At the weekend it gets more crowded - but nowhere near as crowded as the beaches get!

Gym has plenty of machines and weights, but no air-con, which depending on your point of view / mood, makes for a great workout / torture....

The hotel seems to survive more through hosting functions and dinners than from its guests - which means it is generally lovely and quiet and service is very attentive. There is music in the evenings, but was never loud enough that it bothered us - although we were generally pretty tired when we got back from an evening out at the beach!

Would recommend for couples who want a quiet week away, for families, not really set up for it...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The hotel is certainly the place to be in the area. Excellent rooms and the pool area and bar is fabulous. Giuseppe the bar man was entertaining and accommodating and whilst there were difficulties in communicating due to our lack of Italian we felt most welcome.

The area is ok with a huge beach just down the road but a trip to Marsala which is 30 mins away provides lots of local culture and shops.

Room Tip: The suites are great with the outdoor jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Spend at week at Visir in June. Very clean and attractive hotel complex with friendly and attentive staff. Wonderful pool and adjacent bar area. Breakfast was included and was adequate enough, although the choice was limited - unless you are partial to cakes for the first meal of the day! The hotel picked us up from the airport (at Trapani) and dropped us there at the end of the week for a 100 EURO fee. Pricey enough for what is a relatively short journey. The hotel is located some 3km outside Mazara (its a long walk, believe me) and there are no taxis or bus service. The hotel will drop you in town - for 20 EUROs - which is frankly excessive. Drinks and food are also pricey in-house, but there is an excellent local bistro just 200m down the road to the beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This hotel may well have been a lovely 4 star hotel....in the past. Right now it is not, which is a real shame as you can see the potential. The positives are the bedrooms are nice, they are a good size and bed was comfortable. The pool area is also quite nice, with large, comfortable sun loungers.

The less positive aspects of the hotel are numerous but perhaps the most important is the service, which is awful. Whilst a language barrier may contribute (we can't speak Italian, they can't speak English), taking 20 minutes to bring a customer a beach towel, or telling us we could check out at 1pm as we had a late flight and then telling us the morning of the check out that actually we had to leave at 11am is just not good service.

Furthermore, the breakfast is TERRIBLE. We went for the first two days of our stay and then didn't bother again as it was so bad. The bread and cakes were stale, there were ants running about the place and at 10am almost everything had run out and not been replenished (despite breakfast allegedly being served until 1030am). The staff made no effort to top items up once they realised customers had arrived for breakfast. On the second morning we asked if there was anymore bread and were simply told 'no'.

The dinner is equally poor. We ate dinner only once on our first night and it was the worst I have ever paid for. Tasteless, not to mention not exactly cheap!

It feels like this hotel has run out of money and so lots of small things really let it down, making a big impact. simple things like The beach towels didn't appear to be clean (they smelt and were greasy with sun lotion) and the gym had air conditioning but wasn't switched on. It is clear from some of the other reviews that this used to be a good hotel. It isn't currently.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

the hotel VISIR is fully corresponds to the level of superior.
sumptuous food, friendly atmosphere, responsive staff, lots of great beatiful nooks, a full spa, a lovely room with a plush bed - real oriental paradise and full relaxation!
Rented with the service reception car made available to all places of western Sicily. However, every evening we have great pleasure in welcoming back hotel.
Special thanks for the wonderful national color - Sicilian evening!
GRAZIE!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Visir Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Visir Resort and Spa

Address: Via Del Mare, 211 | angolo via Lubiana, 91026 Mazara del Vallo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Mazara del Vallo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Mazara del Vallo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Visir Resort and Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Visir Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Visir Resort And Spa Sicily/Mazara Del Vallo, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Visir Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.