We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant That Lifts the Heart” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mulino a Vento - Fattoria Lavacchio

Mulino a Vento - Fattoria Lavacchio
Via di Montefiesole, 48 | Monterifrassine, 50065 Pontassieve, Italy
0039-055-8396168
Website
Update attraction details
Type: Architectural Buildings
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This is the only WORKING windmill of Tuscany !A 18th century piece of art, completely restored and still producing flour. Guided tours every day upon reservation.Opened with free entrance on Saturdays and Sundays from 10.00 am till 8.00 pm
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Restaurant That Lifts the Heart”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Slow food Tuscan and Florentine style prepared with flair, served by attentive interested staff, knowledgable about the origins and particularities of both. The food is not fussy or pretentious. The view at sunset (Spring around 8:30pm) is great and if you listen, the hush and rippling songs of the birds will make you glow. And the Serial Griller Chef will make one laugh.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    12
    1
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bronx
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“The Windmill Farm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This place is a must visit when visiting Tuscany (Pontassieve Italy). I went here with a group of eleven friends to attend cooking school. The owner was super friendly and came out to greet us and serve us espresso and cappuccino to start. After this we were introduce to our Instructor and phenomenal chef Michelo. This guy spoke decent English and was very entertaining. We prepared Tiramisu, Fresh Pasta with artichoke in season, Artichoke in lemon with cheese appetizer and a pork roast with potatoes and veggies. A meal fit for a king. The atmosphere was very relaxed and of course wine was served. The place is spotless and has views to dream about of the Tuscan country side. After all the preparation we toured the property and met a resident artist who makes beautiful Pottery creations. After an extensive tour we went back to the restaurant to enjoy our Lunch which we helped with. On the property is also a windmill that has been refurbished based on designs of Leonardo Da Vinci and you can go inside. The whole experience was fantastic and I highly recommend the cooking school or just lunch or dinner.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hengelo, The Netherlands
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“ask the Serious Griller!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Fresh, organis, biologic, home made...etc etc. service and the vieuw are great. Home made pasta`s... The Wines like Pachar and Cedro Riserva are to die for!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Amazing place, amazing position, amazing staff, amazing food!!!
Here you can taste some of the best Tuscany dishes with a chef's personal interpretation.
A little expensive but it is worth.
Every time I go there I go home satisfied and happy.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwijndrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Tuscan food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Lovely restaurant on a hill, with a beautiful view. Large outside terrace. They serve Tuscan food, organic and biological as much as possible. Especially great is the huge fireplace where Sergio (Serial Griller) grills the meat. Portions are large, so we struggled with the antipasti, primi, secondi, it was just too much. We went here twice while staying at Fattoria Lavacchio, and it was great. Thank you Sonia for the Limoncello recipe, we will def. try to make it at home.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mulino a Vento - Fattoria Lavacchio also viewed

Pontassieve, Province of Florence

Been to Mulino a Vento - Fattoria Lavacchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mulino a Vento - Fattoria Lavacchio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.