We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the real taste of Tuscany” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castello del Trebbio

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pontassieve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castello del Trebbio
Via Santa Brigida 9, 50060 Pontassieve, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“the real taste of Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

When you plan a visit to Tuscany you have a number of expectations. At the Castello del Trebbio you can taste and enjoy with your mind, soul and palat the real tuscanian life style.
Genuine friendship , wonderful surrounding scenary, set into a conspiracy medioeval frame, excellent food and last but not least the mighty San Giovese chianti wine make of this place the perfect location where to spend some relaxing a quality time.
A memory which will long stay with you....
A big thank for the extraordinary vacation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

Imagine the perfect Tuscan vacation: a stone villa nestled halfway up a verdant hill, walks in nearby hill towns, a glass of Chianti while preparing fresh pasta in your Tuscan kitchen, a bowl of fresh fruit picked from the estate's trees earlier in the day.
Now, book Castello del Trebbio and that perfect vacation is only a flight or car ride away.
We rented the Castello more than a year ago for our July 2012 Italian grand tour. A week in Panicale A with another family was the topper to our three week stay. We arrived just before checkin on a Saturday, groceries in tow. Within 4 hours we were relaxed and smiling. Within a day we were in love with this land. Within a week my wife and I were planning to move here ;-)
Dealing with Alberto made planning a
breeze. Our week included a castle tour and a bottle of 2010 Chianti, both enjoyable.
Panicale A is part of a large stone villa complex, the largest of three apartments contained within. The three share a shallow pool with million dollar views of the vineyards, olive groves, and neighbouring properties.
The grounds are immaculate. Our young children had a great time climbing, playing outdoors, exploring the nearby forests and riverbed. We picked fresh apricots, pears, and plums to keep our fruit bowl full. Rosemary lined the wall next to the steps leading down to the pool. Some ended up on our rosemary infused chicken. One evening we ate al fresco on the tiled patio under the walnut trees.
The house itself is torn from the pages of a Tuscan tour book. Thick stone walls, clay tile floors, a sunken living room, exposed wooden beams throughout. In the morning you throw the wooden shutters open, in the afternoon you darken the place to keep out the heat. The kitchen is fully stocked with pots, pans, dishes, a gas stove and electric oven. Just add pasta.
Try some of the Castello's wines and olive oil to round out your meals. There is a store in the office with products from the estate. A small grocery store and pharmacy is walk able in Santa Brigida. A larger coop store and more shops are a short drive away in Sieci.
Our week at the Castello will forever be remembered as the best part of our Italian adventure -- as special in its way as the ruins of Roma or the canals of Venezia. Our thanks to the owner, Anna, for creating such an experience.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

My husband and I just returned from and amazing wedding at Castello de Trebbio. I can’t say enough about how beautiful everything was.

The Wedding: Everything was perfect! The couple was based in NYC and Alberto was amazing at helping them arrange everything (food, band, make-up, photographers). All the vendors did an exceptional job all the guests were so impressed. The band played a wide range of songs and the food was simply impeccable. The restaurant served a 10 course meal that everyone was raving about. To put it simply, Alberto just “gets it” – it was clear from the moment we got there the management was going to do whatever necessary to make this a perfect wedding for everyone, which is not easy when you have a big group of difficult New Yorkers :-) There was also a tour included in the wedding festivities and it is a totally MUST. It was so interesting to be taken through the castle and learn about the history and wine making operations. Alberto was a great tour guide!

The Villas: I stayed in a large Villa on the property for a week and it was great. There were about 16 people staying there and all the rooms were spacious and comfortable. There was a beautiful and well kept pool right outside where the group spent most of our time relaxing and drinking delicious wine with the other guests. The only thing I would say is that the fridge in the Villa was kind of small for 17 people and not really cold. They might need to upgrade to a larger or more industrial refrigerator / freezer for such a big group.

Overall: If you want to have a wedding in Tuscany this is THE PLACE to do it. The staff will take care of everything and they honestly care about every guest that comes to the property. Castello det Trebbio is truly a professional and first rate venue.

I would also just mention that there is no air conditioning, which is the norm for pretty much all of Tuscany. During the week of the wedding it was about 100 degrees every day, so just plan accordingly. If you are not a fan of the heat or have many older guests it’s probably better to come and stay here in the fall or spring.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We just married (June 2012) at the Castello del Trebbio and thanks to Alberto we had a wonderful wedding. The infrastructure of the Castello is amazing - 3 fully equipped Appartements and 1 Villa with 7 bedrooms located in the middle of an amazing landscape!! All guests enjoyed and loved the stay at the Castello. With the Restaurant la Sosta del Gusto and its excellent food matches together with the great wine from the wineries of the Castello you have the real tuscany feeling and of course not to miss the legendary guide through the castle and the wine cellars, which are spectacular!!!
We would like to thank you Alberto for all his support and his dedication for his work as well as Claudio (cook) and Veronica for the incredible job they did at la Sosta del Gusto!
You are amazing and please continue like this, you all do an excellent job!!! Bravissimi, grazie mille ragazzi!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights, for a wedding (which was hold in the Castello).
Beautifully located not far away from Pontassieve and Florence. Huge
villa (7 bedrooms) and nice other house. Both very nice, amazing gardens. Pools were okay, not heated, Food in the Restaurant was a dream (wedding dinner was hold there). Friendly and charming staff). Worth to go again for 1 week.
They produce their own wine and olive oil.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

This was a wonderful interlude to our holiday in Italy. We had 2 weeks between Venice, Florence and Rome. We stayed 2 nights here and it was one of the highlights of our trip. A beautiful setting, quiet and great hospitality from Alberto and his team. As part of our package we learnt to make 2 pasts dishes for lunch which was great fun...tis of course went down well with the Chianti produced by the family.

Alberto was great and saved us by quickly organising for our passports (unfortunately left behind)to be transported to the train station...Alberto..we made the train

The onsite resturant is absolutely superb...My wife and I enjoyed some geat meals throughout our trip but the meals here were simply the best.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

A group of around 40 of us visited Castello del trebbio in August 2011 for my wedding. All I can say was that it was absolutely wonderful. It could not have been better in any way. From the moment everyone arrived to the moment everyone left no one could have had a better time. The accommodation is beautiful, in the most beautiful setting... possibly in the world, the only down side was that the villa could have done with a bigger fridge.... we all quickly got over that and just embraced the beauty of the place. The assistance that was offered from Alberto and his team was 100% fantastic. Alberto even arranged a huge BBQ for all my guests on the Sunday night so that they were able to get to know everyone, all I can say about the BBQ was that it was the most luxurious BBQ I have ever been to. The food was just incredible, the waiting on staff were great and exceptionally friendly, they could not do enough for everyone. On the Monday we had a wine tour, everyone thought that it was very educational and especially enjoyed drinking the wine at the end. The Wedding day was just perfect as any wedding day is except I actually think it was more than perfect. Alberto had offered such wonderful assistance, he was able help us arrange cars, hair dressers, make up artists, photographers and put us in touch with an amazing florists who all helped make my dream come true. The wedding meal at the restaurant was just unbelievable - 6 courses of intense italian food and non stop flowing wine. Claudio the Chef is just an artist. I might sound like I am exaggerating but this place is seriously off the hook. The care and time that goes into making trebbio just perfect can be seen right across the board. Everywhere is spotlessly beautiful, immaculately clean and everyone is incredible helpful, supportive and kind. I can not actually write a review that would give this place justice. All I can say is that I am apprehensive about telling people about trebbio because it is so perfect I'd like to keep it as my little secret.

Room Tip: Rooms do not have A/C - this is fine apart from in August.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Castello del Trebbio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello del Trebbio

Address: Via Santa Brigida 9, 50060 Pontassieve, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Pontassieve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Specialty lodging in Pontassieve
Also Known As:
Castello Del Trebbio Pontassieve, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castello del Trebbio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Castello del Trebbio to your Saves list