We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best kept secret in Tuscany” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agriturismo Fattoria Lavacchio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Agriturismo Fattoria Lavacchio to your Saves list
Agriturismo Fattoria Lavacchio
via di Grignano 38, 50065 Pontassieve, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best kept secret in Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

I am a little behind in writing this review, but the memories are still very fresh. Our family of four and another family of three (3 teenagers total) decided to stay at Fattoria Lavacchio after seeing it featured in a PBS series on a DVD "Inside the Tuscan Hills." We had high expectations and we were not disappointed. We drove from Rome and used our apartment as a base for exploring northern tuscany (Siena, Florence, northern Chianti). Reviews on other sites mentioned having a little difficulty finding the Fattoria so my husband located the property on google maps to help him become familiar with the route. I think it helped our confidence level, although we followed the directions we were given and had no problem.

We arrived at Casa Bella (the main house and B&B) later than we anticipated, around 8pm and the pizza dinner was well under way on the outside patio. We offered to eat before checking in, but they said to take our time, there was no hurry. Wow! We were blown away when we sat down to eat about 9pm. Multiple types of pizza were served and kept coming until we insisted we could eat no more! There was also a table with salads, mostly made up of items grown on the property, I believe. And of course, plenty of wine. A great way to start our week at Fattoria Lavacchio!

Buffet breakfast is included if you stay in Casa Bella, if you stay in an apartment, it is not. Breakfast is served at Casa Bella and can be a little expensive for a family (currently 18 euros for an adult), but we did splurge a couple of the mornings. It is easy enough to pick up some pastry in your travels to have in your apartment. Our family stayed in the Malvasia with three floors, two bedrooms (the second bedroom had two beds and a pullout sofa) and two bathrooms (both with small, but adequate showers). Plenty of space for a family of 4 or 5.

We ate dinner at Mulino a Vento on the property one night. The views are incredible. The food was very good and also on the expensive side. One day we stopped at a grocery store in Pontassieve and purchased items for a picnic dinner. It was a beautiful evening and a picnic table is located right outside our apartment. There is a restaurant about 1/2 way down the "mountain" towards Pontassieve. I don't remember the name, but the food was excellent, prices reasonable, and it was very busy. Casa Bella serves two buffet-type dinners a week at the main house. The first was the Pizza Dinner and the second was a barbeque. Three or so meats were grilled or roasted with lots of side dishes all served family style. Very good!

I have not yet mentioned the jewel of Fattoria Lavacchio, Faye. As I understand it, she and her husband manage the property for her father. Faye's husband works on the vineyards while Faye seems to run everything else. She is quite the dynamo. We signed up for a tour of the wine making facilities and the olive groves/oil making. The tour was informative with as much detail for which you have an interest. Both tours were a highlight of our trip. The wine tasting was also a treat.

While the adults enjoyed the tours, the teenagers went horseback riding through the vineyards and olive groves. The barn is part of the property but managed separately. The riders were all beginners and were very comfortable. Remember to pack jeans if you plan to ride.

My favorite day was the day we sat by the pool all day. The other tourists staying at Frattoria Lavacchio were all from other countries. The bar not only served drinks but a simple and very satisfying lunch. The views in this area of the vineyards and the valley below are what Tuscan dreams are made of! I pinched myself more than once to be sure I wasn't dreaming. Be sure to bring your camera.

Unfortunately we did not have enough time to take part in the cooking class or ceramic classes. Next visit!!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    30
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
44
43
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

My girlfriend and I spent 6 nights in a self catering apartment on the farm. Whether you want to relax or sightsee, Fattoria Lavacchio is the perfect place to stay.

We spent 3 days relaxing by the magnificent pool, walking in the vineyards and horse riding. We also easily managed day trips to Siena and Pisa.

The farm wine is excellant (especially the Pachar), and without doubt I recommend you do the wine tour and tasting. Also if you are lucky enough to be there for a pizza night, then I suggest you starve yourself for the meal, as they easily made some of the best pizza we had in Italy and you won't want to stop eating.

Hope I can get back again soon.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lavacchio, Proprietario at Agriturismo Fattoria Lavacchio, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Dear Hasson,
we want to thank you for this review and positive comment of our best white organic wine, the Pachar.
We hope to see you again in the future and join us for a wine tasting.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

Everyone was so friendly and helpful! Made us feel like they truly wanted us there and were willing to do anything to make our stay enjoyable. They always have new activities and opened a pool side bar which was great! I would definately go back as soon as I can!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2008

Fattoria Lavacchio is the perfect place if you need somewhere to escape the hustle and bustle of the big touristy cities of Italy. It is, in fact, very close to Florence (about 30 minutes by car), but there is plenty at the hotel to keep you entertained. We stayed at Casabella, which is Fattoria Lavacchio's main house that has rooms and suites. Downstairs is the reception area, a couple of comfortable sitting rooms with a TV, books, etc. and a breakfast room that served the most amazing pastries in the morning. They also do themed dinners during the week and their wood oven pizza is incredible! It is impossible not to eat too much. During the day they offer lots of things to do. There is pool next to Casabella and a bar next to the pool. They arrange tours of the vineyard and we saw everything from the steel fermentation tanks to the small ageing barrels and the giant ageing barrels. I had never tried Organic wine before, but I got to learn all about it and it was really fascinating, and delicious! We also did the Oil and Windmill tour, so we got to see the oil mill that they have on the farm where they make organic olive oil (yummy) and we saw where they grind their wheat. We had dinner one night at their restaurant Mulino a Vento (Windmill) and it was a beautiful view from the terrace with a beautiful meal. It is a really big estate so they also have horse riding up the road and a villa where a potter lives and makes gorgeous Etruscan ceramics. You can also rent bikes at Casabella or just take walks through the vineyards. It was such a wonderful and relaxing trip. Delicious wine, Tuscan sunshine, and something to do every day! I would certainly reccomend this place to anyone, including families (they have lots of activities for kids too).

  • Liked — Beautiful views, lots to do, lots to eat and drink
  • Disliked — If you are looking to spend a lot of time in big cities it is a bit harder to get around
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Agriturismo Fattoria Lavacchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Fattoria Lavacchio

Address: via di Grignano 38, 50065 Pontassieve, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Pontassieve
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Pontassieve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fattoria Lavacchio is an ancient Organic Tuscan farm of the 16th century situated between the towns of Sieci and Pontassieve on the top of the "Montefiesole" hill (450 m), only 18Km distant from Florence. The Lavacchio Farm holiday resort is surrounded by vineyards and olive groves, between incomparable landscapes and testifies the ancient presence of simple but great men, with fine taste. The landscape surrounding Casabella is well preserved and the ancient rural tradition has modernized itself in a moderate way. The farm has been completely redecorated and furnished with great care in order to ensure the most unforgettable and comfortable stay to our guests. With all its varied facilities, the Lavacchio farm holiday resort offers different vacation possibilities: either in comfortable rooms or suites with private bathroom or in independent fully equipped apartments, or in an independent villa with private pool and garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Agriturismo Fattoria Lavacchio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Fattoria Lavacchio Pontassieve, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agriturismo Fattoria Lavacchio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.