We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best 3 Weeks of 2013 (so far)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plum Tree Club on Rockley Golf Course

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Plum Tree Club on Rockley Golf Course to your Saves list
Plum Tree Club on Rockley Golf Course
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Rockley Golf & Country Club | P.O. Box 74W, Worthing, Barbados (Formerly Rockley Plum Tree Club)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Worthing B&B and Inns
St. Catharines, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Best 3 Weeks of 2013 (so far)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was my second time at Plum Tree. I was there with a friend in 2010 but this time my husband & (adult) kids came. One improvement that we REALLY appreciated was the free Internet access! It really helped us to book our many adventures.
The housekeeping staff were great. In fact, I declined their services on many days. We had a couple of minor repair issues but they were dealt with pronto! Another improvement while we were there was the installation of a hair dryer in the bedroom. Next time we won't have to pack one.
I take exception to some of the comments & ratings I read; so that prompted me to address them so that potential guests are not influenced by what they said. Here they are:
1. Someone complained about not enough toilet paper. Did they mention that to the staff? If they had, they would have been given as many rolls as they wanted!
2. Someone said that it was miles from the beach but that they provided a free shuttle service 4 times a day. The latter part is true but the statement is misleading. The shuttle goes to & from Accra Beach but there are MANY other beaches less than a 5 minute walk away. We actually preferred them to Accra which is more touristy.
3. The kitchen was adequately supplied & we had no problem making meals for 4 adults.
4. Yes, air conditioning is only supplied in the bedroom but we turned it off as soon as we arrived & didn't use it at all in the 3 weeks we were there.
5. TV. Can't comment because we never even turned it on. We didn't go to Barbados to watch TV!
6. There IS a restaurant ("Birdie's") on site. We went there a couple of times but preferred to explore other restaurants. Our favourite was "Sharkie's" which was just a short walk. Make reservations though! We found other restaurants within easy walking distance as well, like "Club Carib".
Those are just a few things that were mentioned that I found unfair & misleading. The ONLY problem (inconvenience) we had was with the tokens we bought to do laundry. There are 2 types & the ones that were sold to us worked in the washing machine but not in the dryer. The office was closed & the night guard didn't have any on hand. Solution: we draped our damp laundry over the furniture in the rooms. Problem solved. Suggestion: Give the night guards tokens to sell or exchange. By the way, said guards were extremely personable, especially Robert Best who I had met in 2010.
My daughter & I really enjoyed the Aqua Yoga classes offered by Penny twice a week -- once at the Plum Tree pool; the other at the pool just next door.
My husband bought a week's membership to golf. I joined him once when there was absolutely no one else on the entire course. I found the green fees & clubs rental quite steep for the occasional golfer, as I am. It was fun to see an entire clan of green monkeys at the 4th green & the 5th tee!
Suggestion: Reduce the membership rate & make it more flexible so that it doesn't have to be for 7 consecutive days and reduce the price for a guest of a member. I strongly believe that your course would be busier & more profitable. Birdie's restaurant (the '19th hole') would benefit immensely as well!
Just one more comment: There's a safe in the bedroom but there is a fee of about $1.25 per day to use it. Every where else I have been the use of the safe was included. In the end we decided that the peace of mind it gave it was worth it but I still think charging for it wasn't very classy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plumtreeclub, General Manager at Plum Tree Club on Rockley Golf Course, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide such a detailed and balanced review. I really appreciate your comments and suggestions, as we take customer feedback very seriously. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back for your third visit very soon! We will certainly consider your suggestions regarding the laundry tokens and the fee for the use of the room safe. Once again, thank you for your constructive review—it gives potential guests a realistic portrayal of Plum Tree Club and lets us know where we can improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    21
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
32
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dominica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My husband and I honeymooned there for 7 nights and we loved it!!!! The atmosphere is just simply wonderful, its a great get away from it all. The service is great, the people are friendly and it was what we wanted and more. The costing is great for such a wonderful place! We'll be back next year to celebrate our 1st anniversary! Can't wait to go back! Plum Tree Club is what we would recommend to all of our friends & family looking to vacation in Barbados.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plumtreeclub, General Manager at Plum Tree Club on Rockley Golf Course, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Congratulations again to you on your marriage! I'm so glad you enjoyed your honeymoon at Plum Tree Club and look forward to seeing you back again on the first anniversary (and maybe the 30th too!) Thank you for your kind comments and your recommendations to friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We exchanged into Plum Tree through our timeshare. We saw the pictures and weren't expecting much. We knew going there it wasn't a 5 star resort. However we were pleasantly surprised to find the area one of the best in access to beaches and restaurants and shopping. We had a car but you could get around anywhere walking or taking the taxi that was provided to the beach at the resort. The staff was wonderful and the people around the pool were very friendly. Everything we needed was in the unit. Thank goodness the bedroom had the air conditioner. Although it was a bit difficult to control the temperature. It took a bit to get used to the remote and sensor combination. The staff cleaned our unit every other day, which was a nice surprise because usually at timeshares you only get 1 cleaning if you are lucky. Barbados itself is a very expensive island, but lots to do and see, if you want. The beach at Accra/Rockley is one of the best on the island.We enjoyed walking the boardwalk along the ocean. We enjoyed St. Nicholas's Abbey, HarrisonCaves and my husband enjoyed his dive. I enjoyed some jewellery shopping and dining at the Cliffside Restaurant(very expensive). The condition of the golf course was not up to our standards so we did not play and the cost was a bit too steep for us for what you got. The units could stand an update but the resort is very quiet and very relaxing. We would probably stay there again, only because of its location to everything. Barbardos is a busy island but the people are very friendly and courteous. We were very comfortable walking around or driving around the island.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The bed was small and extremely uncomfortable. The room was hot, there is only an air conditioning in the bedroom and it is sensor operated, no remote control to alter the air conditioners temperature. The cupboard, in the kitchen where the garbage is located smell horrible when open. The tv was one of the old cheap televisions with poor cable channel selections. There is no restaurant facility on the premises. Overall, i hated the place. There is no gym on the premises either.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plumtreeclub, General Manager at Plum Tree Club on Rockley Golf Course, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out to review Plum Tree Club. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us, but hope that you managed to have an enjoyable holiday. We take our guest feedback very seriously and strive to provide clean, secure accommodation for our guests. I note that you have not mentioned whether you alerted us to your problems during your stay; I assume this is not the case as we might have been able to solve some of them for you, such as the temperature of the air-conditioner.
It is true that there is air-conditioning only in the bedroom (this is noted on our website) and it is sensor-controlled; this system is part of our environmental programme designed to control electricity wastage from air-conditioners running in empty rooms.
We provide over 60 cable TV channels to our guests; I am sorry that you did not find these sufficient. There is a small restaurant on the golf course, which is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and is within walking distance. As our website also shows, the apartments have a fully-equipped kitchen which allows our guests to save on eating out every day.
Thank you again for your feedback. I encourage future guests to visit our website where all the details about the property are clearly stated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The best thing about Plum Tree is the wonderful array of timeshare owners that go back year after year - some for upwards of 30 years. They were very welcoming and the great pool was the place to be to meet and strike up new friendships. Thanks to those long-timers, we had a very pleasant stay. The units are tired and only minimally equipped for cooking. Sometimes the bed linens had rips and toilet paper was not always refilled adequately. Plum Tree is a few miles from the beach, but there is a free shuttle that goes back and forth 4 times each day.

Room Tip: Make sure that you book a unit as far away from the laundry rooms as possible - the noise from fans...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We always appreciate the friendly and efficient staff at Pluntree Club, the beautiful grounds with central pool, the well-maintained apartments, and the fact that you provide a secluded environment for guests who want to "get away from it all" while at the same time offering access to the many activities and places of interest that Barbados has to offer, through your shuttle service and information provision.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We just got back yesterday from Plumtree, The apartments are very clean but not fancy. We enjoyed our time, the staff are cordial and very helpful. Our balcony overlooked the 5th fairway, was quiet and peaceful. We enjoyed the golf at Rockley, challenging but not overwhelming and never too busy not to get a tee time. Birdie's restaurant at the clubhouse has excellent food and again staff are so friendly.
There is a free shuttle 4 times a day to the beach with Ken, who was exceptional with his personality and service. He is also a taxi driver who picked us up at any time at the apartment and also brought us home any time of day or night from the beach.
I would go back to this resort in a heartbeat.
Thank you to Kristine, Janice, Albina and Ken......hopefully, we'll be back to beautiful Barbados soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plum Tree Club on Rockley Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plum Tree Club on Rockley Golf Course

Address: Rockley Golf & Country Club | P.O. Box 74W, Worthing, Barbados (Formerly Rockley Plum Tree Club)
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Worthing
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Worthing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Plum Tree Club on Rockley Golf Course 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plum Tree Club has a total of 40 self-contained apartments grouped around its own swimming pool, car park facilities and beautifully landscaped gardens. The apartments feature full kitchens, cable television, air conditioned bedrooms and pull out sleep sofas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Plum Tree Club on Rockley Golf Course reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockley Plum Tree Club Hotel Worthing
Rockley Plum Tree Hotel
Plum Tree Club On Rockley Golf Course Barbados/Worthing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plum Tree Club on Rockley Golf Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.