We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money in paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coral Mist Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Coral Mist Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Coral Mist Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Highway 7, Worthing, Barbados (Formerly Blythwood Beach Apartments)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Worthing
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Value for money in paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed at the Coral Mist in January/February 2014 (17days) for the fourth time. The hotel rooms are a little dated but have everything that you need and are clean. The small kitchen area with fridge, microwave , kettle and toaster is perfect for us. We have breakfast on the patio, usually a sandwich for lunch and then walk to one of the many restaurants nearby. The patio is less than five metres from the beach, and less than 20 metres from the sea (at low tide, less than 10m at high tide).

The pool is adequate for a cooling dip, but for me the sea is the place for a swim. My wife and I tend to sit in tha shade by the pool or on the beach reading, but we also are close to St Lawrence Gap, Oistins and Bridgetown for outings. Reggie is the man to go to for outings (island tours, catamaran trips, fishing trips etc) and, like all of the staff, is always friendly as well as helpful.

We prefer a tranquil holiday and this is ideal for the older couples (maybe not so great for families with young children). It is no surprise that many of the couples there, from UK, USA and Canada return at the same time year after year (29 times in one case, but several into 10 times plus). This is surely the best recommendation any hotel can have.

We intend to return each year for the foreseeable future.

Room Tip: We prefer a ground floor room but other prefer first or second floor. There are only 30 rooms so I w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    132
    24
    6
    1
See reviews for
47
162
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We had a 22 hour lay over in Barbados and needed a room for the night. We selected Coral Mist because it was on a beach, the price was reasonable and it was not far from the airport. When we arrived and saw the hotel from the busy front street it looked a bit dated and crowded in by the neighbouring hotels. When we walked into the lobby and saw what was on the other side of the hotel. The view and the sound was a breath taking surprise. I was in shock at how beautiful the beach was. I was surprised again when we entered our second floor suite. The room was dated but again the sound and the view took my breath away. I was only in the room to sleep as I spent the rest of my time on the balcony and the beach. We kept the windows fully open all night so we could listen to the waves crashing in. There were no bugs and the ocean breeze kept our room cool enough so the was no need for the air conditioner. Through out the entire stay I never heard any traffic, only the ocean and birds. The service at the hotel restaurant was slow but the staff was friendly, the drinks were good and the view was worth the wait. There is a grocery store just a few minutes walk up the road, so having the kitchenette in our room came in handy. The shower looked fine but the water pressure and temperature was lacking, which is not uncommon for the Caribbean. The beach is shallow so you have to walk out a distance for deeper waters. The waves were large and the sand gets everywhere. The beach was not crowded as it was just the two of us for much of the time. The beach was perfect and I could have spent many more hours just hopping the waves. I would definitely stay at Coral Mist again.

Room Tip: A kitchenette is great as there is a grocery store near by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

stayed for the second year running due to location and self catering facilities. Location is the selling point and hotel staff are so friendly. noise from the road and sea can be distracting, and an upgrade on the décor would be good. lick of paint and modernising. TV's don't work. but will go back. more parasols for the sun loungers a must.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

The hotel's location is perfect! It pretty much has its own private beach (even though all of Barbados' beaches are public), nobody else is there. Only the hotel guests which were only, like, 20 at a time. The waves are perfect, not too little, not too big, beautiful clear water. There are also plenty of restaurants nearby at St. Lawrence Gap. But i was nice to have a small kitchen in the room and we did take advantage of it for breakfast.The cleaning ladies even did our dishes every day! Having breakfast on your own balcony with an ocean view - priceless!

Staff is very, very friendly! Especially Tameka and Reggie are great! We immediately felt welcome and this didn't change throughout our stay.
The restaurant was not bad, we ate there 2-3 times. The menu wasn't big, but it hit the spot.

However, the facilities and rooms desperately need a renovation. It was ok, but could have been better.

Room Tip: All the rooms have ocean view, cannot go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here between Oct 23 and Oct 29th 2013. I chose this hotel mainly because of the location and price, being that we were on a budget. The location is perfect...close to the Gap and Oistins. There is a supermarket only 5 minutes away and an amazinsg restaurant, Mojo's, across the road. (We have never tasted a more delicious burger in our lives). A little ways up the road you can find Rockley Beach and Accra Beach. The rooms all have ocean views, and there is nothing like waking up to the sound of those waves! The beach was somewhat small but we loved the fact that is was uncrowded, (October being low season) we sometimes felt as if we had it all to ourselves. They also provide loungers with umbrellas.

The front desk staff were very helpful and professional. The cleaning staff were wonderful as well...what a nice surprise the first day we came home to find they even washed our dirty dishes while we were out.

The rooms were clean, bed was comfortable, nothing fancy, but then again, we didn't visit Barbados to hang out in our room :)

In case anyone is wondering about Barbados weather in October...During the 7 days we were there, there was only one afternoon where it rained for 2-3 hours (it happened to be the day we visited the Wildlife Reserve and we found cover inside a little room that housed a very large snake. lol There was a local daycare visiting the reserve that day as well, so they took shelter along with us... the kids were so adorable, the brave ones taking a peek inside the snake's enclosure...one of my best memories about the trip.) Other than that, it sprinkled rain a few times, but only lasted several minutes and then the sun was out again! I would definately return during the "rainy" season, as the prices are low and the beaches are uncrowded.

I can't say enough about the friendliness of the people of Barbados! We toured around the island by bus, and on several occasions we relied on the locals to guide us. We were astounded at how many people offered to not only give directions, but actually walk us to the bus station and point out which bus we needed to take. The friendly, laid back attitude of the people is one of the main reasons we will visit the island again :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Perfect location, on the beach. Then the beach runs out for about 100 meters and only up to your chest with brilliant crashing waves and surf. The beach is secluded and very quiet, with a cool breeze all day. The rooms in the hotel are more than basic, they’re good. Fully stocked, if you are on a budget, and eat in the room. Two supermarkets nearby. The CM has a small restaurant for breakfast, snacks and cold drinks.

The hotel is situated so it’s a short walk to Accra beach shops and St Lawrence the gap. Also hop on a bus or the white mini vans 2 BD$ fixed fare – avoid the taxis. I found most of the restaurant’s in the area the food deep fried and everything with chips. I had lunch most days in Champers Restaurant – perfect, set lunch 69BD$ 35US$ 20UK£ which is a 3 minute walk from CM.

Most bars and restaurants in the area play backing music, normally reggae style. Which I found a bit dull. So my favourite bars are MOJO – decent rock music over the road from CM, and the rum shack at The GAP, with ‘Absolute Vodka ‘on the roof which is loud and lively from 9 pm.

I nearly forgot The Coral Mist has the prettiest reception staff on the island !!

Only negatives – it’s on a noisy road – take some ear plugs. But when you open your curtains on the morning the view compensates for this.

To the manager............

CHANGE THE PILLOWS, THEYRE ARE TOO HARD. ITS BEEN MENTIONED IN REVIEWS IN THE PAST. I HAD A SORE NECK ALL WEEK. ROOM B301

I thoroughly recommend the Coral Mist and would visit again

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

When we arrived we were greeted by Tanya on the desk who was very helpful unfortunately the 1st night they gave us the wrong room so we were separated for 1 night & then put in to a larger room the 2nd night (which we had to pay for) the location is great! Right next to the gap which has loads of great restaurants & bars & a 2 min walk from Accra beach & the little shopping centres! 1 bad point which others have mentioned is that they only have about 5 parasols for the whole hotel so we had to get up about 7.30 every morning to get 1! The only bad thing I would say is a couple of the reception staff told us that on the day of leaving if there was a spare room we could use that to shower later on as our flight wasn't until 8.40pm but then on the day said this wasn't the case & we'd have to pay for a late check out. Obviously they want the money for you staying later which I understand but they shouldn't have given us wrong information to begin with! Overall the hotel is a good standard compared to many others in a great location with it's own part of the beach! (Just make sure your up early!)

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coral Mist Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Mist Beach Hotel

Address: Highway 7, Worthing, Barbados (Formerly Blythwood Beach Apartments)
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Worthing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Worthing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Mist Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Coral Mist Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Coral Mist Beach
Coral Mist Hotel Barbados
Coral Mist Beach Christ Church
Coral Mist Beach Hotel Barbados/Worthing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coral Mist Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.