We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place, friendly staff, fantastic holiday!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coral Mist Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Coral Mist Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coral Mist Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Highway 7, Worthing, Barbados (Formerly Blythwood Beach Apartments)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Worthing
Kent
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous place, friendly staff, fantastic holiday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We travelled to Bardados in early January. We decided to stay for a full holiday in Barbados after previously flying here to start two P&O cruises in previous years. Our daughter came too so we had a two double bedded apartment with two bathrooms on the fourth floor. The apartment was excellent with everything you needed (even the hairdryers were powerful enough!). The beds were 6 foot wide and very comfortable. I have a neck problem so brought my own pillow but my husband and daughter had no criticisms at all. The bedding was very soft cotton and changed frequently.

The best thing about the apartment was its fabulous view. The photos on this site are very accurate; looking out to the beach and through palm trees - bliss! The fact that you are so close to the sea means that the sound of the waves is quite loud - but that's not a criticism it was an absolute treat. You could hear the road and the buses going by but it didn't bother us at all. (The birds are very sweet and quite tame they joined us for every meal and took food from your hand. We also saw hummingbirds and fire flies at night.)

The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Reggie, the activities coordinator sorted out all our trips and car hire and was incredibly approachable and cheerful - as were all the staff - we found the staff in the restaurant especially pleasant too. We ate there a couple of times and it was very nice.

There is a supermarket a few minutes walk away but we found food to be quite expensive so if you are self catering/restaurant eating I would suggest that you bring some basics with you. Generally we found Berts sports bar to be a good venue, with very nice food, lovely staff and not expensive. Mojo's was a bit of a disappointment but we did go when it was very busy so don't be put off. If you want to push the boat out go to Champers which is a 5 minute walk away from Coral Mist - we had the most fantastic evening here, the food was excellent as was the service and venue - open aired dining overlooking the sea and beach. Saying that it was far less expensive than we thought it would be. The food was outstanding - delicious.

Reggie arranged car hire and we went around the island - we went to Bathsheba beach; which was lovely - driving around the island was fun but there is a real lack of road signs in some areas and the road quality suddenly changes. We got lost but a local guy on his bike was really helpful in redirecting us. Drivers are very courteous. Its ok as they drive on the left too!

Local people are very friendly and helpful, the taxi drivers were all great to chat to and one even let my daughter drive the taxi! We felt safe everywhere we went.

I was unwell whilst there and had to call a doctor to the hotel, the staff arranged it and as an NHS worker I can say that the care and follow up treatment I received was excellent.

Our holiday could have been ruined by my illness but despite this we had a fantastic time in large part due to the location, facilities in and around the hotel but mostly due to the excellent staff and friendly local people.

I agree that the hotel is not the Ritz but it is excellently located, has all that you need and more, is very comfortable with excellent staff - what more could you want. We would all recommend the hotel if you want a relaxing, stress free holiday.

Room Tip: We were in room B407 - there was a lift a few steps away from our door that took you to a path throu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    144
    119
    21
    6
    1
See reviews for
43
152
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We found Coral Mist after a very specific and peculiar research, walking along the coast and visiting each hotel looking for the right place to stay and get married! We had stayed the first week at a supposed great place on the South East Coast which was just a surfers club and just wasn't the right vibes at any point for a host of reasons. We then the second day of that week started to look for a new hotel. We absolutely hit the nail on the head with Coral Mist. We were welcomed immediately by very friendly and kind staff who showed us around. When we asked if they organised weddings, Reggie came into the picture who has been amazingly friendly and helpful from the day we met until the day we left. He took care of every detail of our wedding perfectly and made our day, not only logistically perfect but with fun all over too! We had one hell of a wedding and honeymoon thanks to Reggie and all Coral Mist staff. Absolutely the perfect choice for a perfect holiday and wedding in Barbados. Thank you Reggie and entire Coral Mist staff. See you again soon! :)

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stirlingshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Stayed here for 2nights prior to joining star clipper cruise.Loved it!really sweet place.if you want big corporate chain,not place for you.Ifyou want to feel you in barbados,right on sand,lovely staff,nice room but not too many frills,book it.yeah,not perfect decor,but everything else lovely.kitchenette which would be handy if you stayed few nights,supermarket 5mins away.breakfast cooked to order as you sit watching waves roll in was beautiful.bridgetown 15 mins away on bus ,stop just nearby.we are pretty well travelled,but have never come across such friendly ,eager to help you people,not looking for anything,but you to enjoy their country.cant wait to return,to barbados,and coral mist.

Room Tip: Lots different options,check when book
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

We enjoyed a very relaxing 2 weeks here in Sept this year for my husbands surprise 50th b/day . Like many others my first concerns were of the tired decor and furnishings but the views through the patio doors of the beach and sea more than made up for it. Our T.V picked up too much interference to watch but that didnt bother us at all. The A/C was fantastic though - new unit and quiet as well. There is a certain amount of noise from the busy road outside but it didnt bother us much and I am the lightest of sleepers. The place is kept in good order and cleaned daily. The bathroom could use some tlc but was clean and adequate. We perfer to eat out on hols but there was a kitchen fully equipped should you need it. I would definitely recommend this place as a base from which to go exploring - use the reggae buses for a bit of fun and to get about. I cant speak highly enough of the cool runnings catamaran criuises -superb day sailing, swimming & snorkelling with good food and drinks on board.

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea - My personal preference is for a higher floor but the ground floor rooms all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We had a lovely visit. Went for a family wedding. Spent lots of time at the pool and the beach. The accommodations were good. Some of the decor looks tired, but clean. The a/c needs to be operated with our room key, and only the bedrooms had air. One unit worked well, but the other wasn't great. The grounds were very nice. Ate in the restaurant twice, okay... But you can get much better meals a short walk away at Mojo or Berts.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We were greeted at The Coral Mist at midnight by a super friendly and efficient Tamika. The hotel
Is very pretty- pale colors, slatted doors, lattice work, cafe/restaurant right on beach - and the rooms are fine, perfect for anyone wanting to save a bit by doing some cooking(there is a fridge, stove, and some dishes in the rooms). Our room was on the Third floor, which i would recommend for the view, and was clean and adequate. Nice shower, no tub. There is some street noise (the hotel is right on the main drag) which could be a problem, but wasnt for us. There is a small balcony overlooking the sea, which is lovely. The reason this doesnt get five stars is that the pillows are really terrible and the whole place could use a paint job and some spiffing up. Having made that criticism, we came for the beach , sun, and sea, and this is perfect for that!

Room Tip: Third floor - 305 was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed 2 weeks for our honeymoon and couldn't have been happier! We had a 1 bedroom suite with a huge deck on the 4th floor w/ full kitchen. It looked like every room was fantastic (every room faces the beach). Room decor is clean and white and the curtains/bedding are vibrant coloured, and the full-width balcony is great! Room service was standard - they replaced towels and bedding (I didn't want or expect more). The room also had a remote controlled AC unit which probably helped us enjoy the trip a LOT more, given how hot it was in Barbados. You get a flat-screen TV with about 20 channels, including HBO, but it was pretty grainy -- but who cares, you aren't in Barbados to watch TV. The kingsize bed was really two standard twins pushed together - I'm 6' 2", so my feet hung way off, but it wasn't a big deal and I could go diagonally just fine. The bed was pretty firm and they give you lots of pillows -- I slept fine.

This hotel is all about the location -- you are a few steps from probably the best all-around beach in Barbados, Worthing Beach. Coral Mist is on the far west side of the beach and you can see sunsets into the water from it. It has some decent-sized waves for body-surfing, yet is accessible enough for my wife to get in and she hardly swims. there are some rocky shelves about halfway down the beach near shore that offer safe great snorkeling, tho most people didn't seem to notice - about a 3 min walk down the beach. Also found an old small car transmission nearby those rocks -- never know what you'll find when you snorkel :-). The rest of the beach is clean and sandy, and the Staff provides umbrellas and padded chairs for use by hotel guests. There were hardly any beach venders, maybe 2 in the two weeks we were there. There is also a handy outdoor shower to rinse off right by the stairs. The beach wasn't crowded either, it seems to only be used by hotel guests.

They have a small restaurant with a great beach view, tho it's a bit over-priced for what you get. Still, it's handy and you should try it at least once.

They have a "business center", which is two desktop PCs in a tiny room next to the front desk available for use 24-7 and they were almost always open. They provide free wi-fi, but it was pretty spotty in our room; I had great reception on our balcony though.

There are a lot of local amenities nearby within walking distance: Tri-Mart grocery store is 5 mins away, there's a bank the same distance away with an outside cash machine (no fees). Nearby restaurants include Tiki Bar (our fav place, 3 min walk), Bert's (3 min walk), Champers (2 min walk, tho over-rated and over-priced), Mojo (basically across the street), and Rotisserie Chicken (local place -- huge portions for cheap, and tastes amazing). We didn't hit every place either, I'm sure there's more, and all within walking distance.

There's no way to beat Coral Mist - the price, location, and amenities are all top-notch!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coral Mist Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Mist Beach Hotel

Address: Highway 7, Worthing, Barbados (Formerly Blythwood Beach Apartments)
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Worthing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Worthing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Mist Beach Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Regatta Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Coral Mist Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Coral Mist Beach
Coral Mist Hotel Barbados
Coral Mist Beach Christ Church
Coral Mist Beach Hotel Barbados/Worthing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coral Mist Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.