We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coral Mist Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Coral Mist Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Coral Mist Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Highway 7, Worthing, Barbados (Formerly Blythwood Beach Apartments)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Worthing
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Perfect location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

On arrival we were a little disappointed because we had contacted the hotel to ask for a room which was not on the ground floor. We were told that although they tried to meet requests unfortunately it wasn't possible on this occasion. We accepted this and admit that the view from our room was beautiful, only a few steps from the beach and we liked the sound of the sea on the rocks. However we then learned that our patio door which led to the beach did not lock from the outside. A member of staff quickly came but the lock was clearly broken, it did lock from the inside but this was inconvenient as we couldn't just walk out to the beach as was the point of these rooms. The lock was not fixed during our stay and I doubt it has been since. The hotel was also very quiet so I do think we could have been given a different room but staff just chose not to. Our one bedroom suite was spacious and cleaned well but the bathroom was awful and really needs updating.

However, the location of this hotel did much to ease our initial disappointment. The beach is stunning and was really quiet throughout our stay with plenty of beach chairs and umbrellas. It is also within walking distance of many bars and restaurants. The boardwalk was also pleasant for a stroll and also has a number of restaurants. We also walked into St Lawrence Gap on an evening which was enjoyable too. The supermarket and the ATM were within easy walking distance.

Reggie the concierge was excellent, he really is an asset to the hotel. We told him exactly what we wanted to do and his recommendations were excellent. He also made a point of being around the hotel speaking to the guests. I would recommend the Silver Moon catamaran trip.

The restaurant at the hotel has a great location but as others have said it needs something to encourage guests to eat there. We had lunch there and it was delicious but we never saw anyone there in the evening which is a pity.

Sunsets on the pool deck were lovely and it was nice to sit and have a drink there in the evening.

Overall, we would not let our experience with the room put us off this hotel and I would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    132
    24
    6
    1
See reviews for
47
162
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Ok so this isn't a luxury resort but the location more than makes up for it!
You are literally on the lovely rockley beach and the sound of the waves is so relaxing.
The staff are very friendly and the rooms are clean (super comfy bed!)
I would suggest that they sort out the safety deposit boxes though. They are in reception rather than in your room which is a little annoying. I also think they could make more of the bar/restaurant. It's such a good location that if it was given a revamp it would be fab.
All in all a great stay and I would recommend!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rural Sussex
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my daughter for a week at the beginning of April. Initially I was disappointed to hear we were on the ground floor as I had read the reviews here. But on reaching the room we were thrilled with our easy access to the beach from the patio. Some people have said its not good being next to the bar ....we were in 106...but it is such a quiet place this really is no problem. The room is perfectly set up and the self catering option made for such a relaxing holiday. As did the consistent helpfulness of all the staff. Security was unobtrusive but effective. We were asked who we were by a staff member who was passing when we visited the neighbouring pool on site, but I thought that was fine. People have mentioned that the apartments are a bit tired. It isn't 4 star with fabulous fabrics an all but its the most gorgeous beach hotel. You really are only yards from the sea! The waves were quite rough for swimming so we used to walk for 10 mins to the other end of the beach where the Carib beach bar is. Perfect swimming there and you can hire 2 posh beds for £8 all in with the large umbrella. You can walk along the beach to get here if the tide lets you get around a few rocks. We preferred the beach route to the supermarket as the road is a bit fumey.

Our favourite restaurant was Mojos across the road. Very reasonable, serving good wine and a varied Mediterranean menu. The veggie burgers were great. Interesting salads. Cafe Sol at the Gap is great fun but you must be prepared to wait 20 mins for a table. You cant prebook. Let them know as soon as up you arrive that you want to eat there. Mexican menu. Great margaritas. We loved the food at Bellinis, Italian restaurant at the Gap. But it seemed a more formal venue. We tried Bubbas and regretted even thinking about the American sports bar genre! Inside with air con and a bit clinical. But the food was good. Just Grilling at Rockley was very popular and there was a long queue. Good budget option but not a place you can sit around for long.

The suoermarkets had all you need but I agree that food is pricey so bring what you can. The nearer supermarket was good for drinks and general grocery but you need to walk the further 5 mins to the other one to find good fruit and veg. The ATM is in the Shell garage shop. Handy.

I was very pleased we chose Coral Mist. Easy access to the night life but peaceful with everything you need. We loved it so much I have already rebooked for next year! Our first trip to Barbados and such a treat. Everyone everywhere was so friendly.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I spent a week at the Coral Mist in March and I have to say I loved this hotel.
It's well located in Worthing on the south coast and situated right on the beach. Our beachfront room was literally steps from the sand! The beach itself is beautiful. Secluded and bordered by rocks from Rockley beach, the next beach up. In effect like a private beach for the hotel. The sea was calmer than I expected and perfect for swimming.
Great service from all the staff, who were wonderful without exception. Really friendly and accomodating. The only food we tried at the hotel was the breakfast, which was pretty good. There are plenty of places to eat close by as St Lawrence Gap is just a few minutes bus ride away (you must take the reggae bus, an experience in itself!) although you can walk it in around 20 minutes. There is a terrific beachfront bar just next door on Rockley Beach called Tiki's which has cocktails and burgers to die for, and I recommend Mojo just down the road from the hotel too. Harlequin in St Lawrence Gap comes highly recommended.
Our room was self - catering, with a fridge / freezer, cooker, microwave, kettle, toaster - everything you need. There is a supermarket just up the road from Mojo's where you can stock up on drinks, breakfast etc or an all night garage even closer. Bed was comfy. The decor is a little tired but who cares? You only sleep in the room! My tip is to ask for one of the beachfront studios, as we had - you have your own patio, beach views and are steps from the beach! Sound of the waves crashing on the shore was so relaxing. Cleanliness was good and we had absolutely no problems with insects.
This hotel was a great choice and we absolutely loved our stay there - best holiday ever!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Booked a 2 bedroom apt. For 7 days ...arrived late due to flight delayed...no problem Sean the night security man walked us to the late opening supermarket and even helped carry some of our shopping back...we have now been coming to Barbados for over20 years and the staff at coral mist are easily the best we have experienced...thanks to each and every one for being so helpful....will certainly return again with so much choice for eating out in the evening, and all just a 2BD$ bus ride away, and great rooms looking straight out at the ocean....Well done

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We were booked somewhere else and moved to Coral Mist on our 2nd day. It was great!!! I have never had all of a hotels staff go way out of their way to make me and my 9 year old welcome. We left feeling like we would not see our friends for a long time. I could talk for hours about many of the workers and what they did for us. Rooms, food, and beach were amazing. I will be back. Did not hear traffic noise at night ever. Jason in water sports is the greatest!!!! Thank you again to all of the front desk who helped turn our trip into one of our best trips because of you we will return to Barbados.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Spent 2 nights the Coral Mist with a group of friends having checked out of some awful accommodation nearby. So glad we found found this hotel!!! The rooms were clean and spacious, with great views of the ocean. We were self catering but had a Basian breakfast which was pretty good. I would definitely recommend this hotel as it is great value for money and in a good location for local shops and places to eat..

Thanks to Tamsin at reservations who was very helpful in finding us accommodation at such short notice and to the friendly reception staff..

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coral Mist Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Mist Beach Hotel

Address: Highway 7, Worthing, Barbados (Formerly Blythwood Beach Apartments)
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Worthing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Worthing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Mist Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Coral Mist Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Coral Mist Beach
Coral Mist Hotel Barbados
Coral Mist Beach Christ Church
Coral Mist Beach Hotel Barbados/Worthing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coral Mist Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.