We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exellent 5 star hotel will definatly be returning” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oceania Club

Save Saved
You added Oceania Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Booking.com
and 7 more sites!
Oceania Club
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   P.O. Box 132 | Nea Moudania, Halkidiki, Nea Moudania 632 00 , Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Nea Moudania
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exellent 5 star hotel will definatly be returning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

We travelled to the Oceania Club on 23 May for 7 days, we are a couple in our 30s with 2 young children. Before we went I had read all the reviews on trip adviser and had high expectations.

We booked direct with the hotel and they arranged for a taxi to meet us at the airport, the journey took about 35 mins and was trouble free, from the moment we arrived we knew it was going to be a good holiday - sparkling wine on arrival and orange juice for the kids, we were then taken by golf buggy to our deluxe junior suite in block 5. The room was very large - particularly the bathroom, one single bed was in the seperate room and then in the main room was a double bed and a made made up on the sofa - what baffled us is that if they had made the bathroom half the size (it still would have been a good size!) then 2 single beds could have fitted in the seperate room and therefore the kids could have both had their own room - but this didnt matter really.

The view from our room and from most parts of the hotel was spectacular - this hotel is very big, as we stayed in the deluxe block we had access to the private pool, there were AWAYS spare sunloungers so we were lucky as we did venture down to the main pool on a few ooccasions and there were never any. We ate by the deluxe pool for lunch every day, after a big breakfast we didnt fancy going for lunch in the restautant - every day by the pool you could have baguettes, toasties, cake, pasta, fruit and you could just help yourself.

The only negative thing was the problems booking the al a carte restaurants - you have to book 3 days in advance, and you have to queue before 9am in the morning to get a place. Now on holiday we do like to relax and dont want to be getting up early to book restaurants, I understand the reasons why you need to book, but why not make the booking procedure a bit later on like, 11am or lunch time?

Due to this we only got to go to 2 of the al a carte restaurants, the Greek Taverna and the Italian. Both were absolutely lovely - especially the greek restaurant, it was my birthday and they gave me a cake at the table and all the waiters crowded round and sang happy birthday!

We enjoyed going for evening drinks down by the main pool sitting on the loungers watching the sun go down over the amazing infinity pool, and then going up for the evening entertainment, which was fantastic, the kids loved it and so did we, we went to 3 shows - mamma mia show (fab), the beatles show and a traditional greek show, we also went to the kareoke night in the nightclub, the kids disco and the quiz night.

Theres really so much to do at the hotel and its great for kids, theres a game room with air hockey and computer games, internet room with pool tables, pedalos (included in the all inclusive!), indoor soft play area and outdoor playground all of which we used! There is free wifi in the blue bar and reception area which i made use of every day.

The hotel is spotlessly clean, even the pool toilets and beach toilets. The kids ate their own bodyweight in ice cream!, the food was great and so much choice, a different theme in the main restaurant every night. The cocktails were great, i would say there were about 30 different ones and they were all on offer at all bars including beach and pool bars all day!

Sorry for the long revew i could go on and on! we will definatly be back

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    739
    176
    53
    14
    4
See reviews for
453
334
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

I have been to nicer hotels (Blue Lagoon Kos, Sensatori Crete) BUT this is the most relaxing hotel I have ever been to with the friendliest staff.

Travelled 1st week of June with my two children 5 and 3 and hubby.
Booked hotel through Sani holidays & booked my own flights which was much cheaper than Thomson or First Choice.
Transferred to hotel in a taxi (just under 60 Euros)

As soon as we reached the check in desk we were greeted by one of the management staff with a welcome, a smile and a glass of sparkling wine.

Room was lovely - no complaints at all.
We booked a suite so had a separate bedroom.
Mini fridge well stocked on arrival with beer, wine, water and orange juice. Filled daily.

Room servicing is excellent. More fresh towels delivered than we could ever use, robes & slippers.
They come back twice a day to check room and make beds etc.
Had a double balcony with table, 4 chairs, washing line and 2 sun loungers. All rooms have view of the sea as far as I can tell. We got the sun on balcony all afternoon which was handy one day when the kids had a nap.

I loved the fact that you are not allowed to reserve sun beds - makes holiday so much more relaxing. We strolled down after breakfast and always got beds around the main pool. There are loads of beds at the beach too so shouldn't be a problem to get a bed.

Pools are lovely - pretty cold but to be expected in early June I guess (not unbearable).
Pools towels provided and they always seemed to have plenty - even after the short rainfalls we regularly had where towels got soaked they managed to turn over fresh towels.
Main restaurant was fine, tasty enough dishes and large choice. Would run out of fresh fried eggs pretty quick at breakfast so queues there to get more.
If the restaurant was not busy (breakfast & lunch) you just picked any free table you liked. In the evening when busy the managers would show you to a free table. I liked that balance (other hotels I have been to would either do one or the other).

The only negative was that we didn't get to try any of the other restaurants as you had to queue up every day at 9am - we were not on holiday to queue so gave it a miss.

Main town was a pretty peaceful stroll following the beach along. Took about 10-15 mins to walk but hotel offers a free shuttle bus.

Kids clubs very chilled, we just turned up and signed in daughter whenever she wanted to go.

I found the hotel staff to be very friendly and helpful with a genuine care for customers.
Hubby had problem using the computers in the internet room; the managers gave him a refund and let him use their own computer.

Would definitely recommend this hotel and would love to return and go deluxe (building 5).

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

We stayed here in 2006, but Tripadvisor would not let me go back that far. We stayed for two weeks and had a view with spectacular sea view. The rooms were really very good, spacious, bright, clean and with all necessary amenities.
The hotel itself is large, several restaurants and pool areas. We rarely went to the pool as it was rather crowded with noisy tourists. The sea view is great, but the beach is disappointing. Very narrow with an industrial feeling looking to the harbor.
If you stay longer than a couple of days, be sure to get a rental car to see some of the area. Otherwise it is too dull.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, Essex
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

Excellent staff, food, facilities and very clean. A lovely holiday. The Greek Taverna Restaurant by the pool was our favourite place to eat lunch and dinner.

The only minor negative I could possibly mention would be the usual sun loungers being reserved all day with no-one ever using them. Not really hotels fault -it's down to a few selfish guests. Would be good if you could be allocated sun beds for your sole use during your stay. Must be a way to make it fair for all.

The staff really are a credit to this place- especially the chefs! Put on a few pounds.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorks
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

This is the 2nd time we have returned to this place within a year, and we found it to be just as relaxing and value for money.

Although the prices on some websites can be off-putting, until you go there you cannot appreciate the quality and variety of the food and drink, and entertainment. The hotel is worth every penny. The theme nights in the restaurant whilst we were there were Chinese, Mexican, Greek etc, and it's hard to describe the quality of the Italian restaurant until you have tried their pizza!

This year, we managed to catch the Mamma Mia show and it was one of the best things we have ever seen- professional and entertaining, with amazing singing, acting and dancing- it was fabulous.

We went for 2 weeks this year, as opposed to the 11 nights last time, and I will say this: if you are looking for a hotel based holiday, this is definitely the place to be. There is a huge entertainment base catering for the kids day and night, and we barely saw our daughter most days. For adults, bingo, water polo, aqua aerobics, pilates, volleyball and quizzes take place through the day, and the beach provides water-sports like the pedalos (some of them are not free though, e.g. the speedboat raft, and jet-skis), but if you're the type who likes to venture outside the hotel then this is not the place to come.

Nea Moudania is extremely run-down an there is truthfully nothing at all to see in the town. We had a couple of days rain whilst we were there, so because the pool area was closed off we took advantage of the free mountain bikes from the hotel.... We biked to the supermarket and then went the other way down the beach path- it is literally a ghost-town. We were back within an hour-and-half. Excursions are available; water parks, cruises etc, but if you were to take advantage of all these just to pass the time then it would end up costing a bomb. In fairness, the lazy-pool holiday is my type of holiday, and this hotel provides me with everything I need. It's relaxing and friendly, but a word of warning: Last year, we came in late June, but this year we arrived on 24th May which was a lovely quiet week; no queues, no sun-bed rush, no shoving in the dinner hall... Then the following week was Britain's school half-term week and the chaos began. The hotel was jam-packed and I have never seen it so busy. There was huge queues at all the bars (it took me 20 mins to be served one time), and the queues for the dining hall were horrendous between half past 7 and 8pm. Also, last year when we made our reservations for the 3 a-la-carte restaurants, we were in and out and signed up within a couple of minutes. This year, you had to queue up from 9.00am for it, and I swear some people must have camped outside the door- and people were still waiting to be signed up an hour later. For this reason, we only booked into the Italian on the first week we were there, which we were very disappointed about.

Then there came the sun-bed chaos. Bear in mind we came here last year, and were there for a week before the half-term deluge, and I have never experienced a hotel where people are laying on sunbeds at 7.15am, no word of a lie. Last year, we strolled down to the pool about 10.30 and always got a bed- this year, we had to get down there before 9am to try and squeeze in somewhere! Please don't let this put you off though. My only advice would be not to go in the school holidays! We will go back again for sure, just not during half-term! And it wasn't the children who were the problem either, it was some adults who I found to be ignorant this year, pushing past kids who were waiting patiently at the bars etc.

Anyway, on a final note, we requested the same block as last year and they catered for us too, so any requests you might have, do drop them an email in advance because they will bend over backwards to accommodate them.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl0484
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

Me & my new husband went to the oceania club for our honeymoon & the place was absolutly fantastic! So clean & professional.

The food was also fantastic with a range of different things for different tastes & the dining staff could not do enough for us & always had a smile on thier faces (particulary Valentina & Endijus who we noticed were always so efficiant) We only dined in 1 of the al a carte restaurants & we went for the itailian, which was again fantastic, we never had to call for a waiter they kept coming to see if you needed anything but not too much that you got annoyed, we were that impressed that we generously tipped.

The rooms were clean & comfortable, with a mini bar/fridge that was stocked up everyday with wine & lager.

I think I would have to say the only thing that let the oceania club down was it's location, we walked into Nea Moundania one day for the market & other than the market there wasn't much to see, so if your into chilling, relaxing holidays & not doing much else then this is the place to go.

Overall a fantastic honeymoon - thank you Oceania club, it was fantastic.

Cheryl & Dan Stubbs

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

Local Area
The local town is called Nea Moudania. It is a working commercial port with both cargo and fishing boats using the facilities. The town is small, noisy and grubby. With the Greek economy in such a poor state, everyday items are relatively expensive.

Weather
Perfect. Some hot days and some rainy days. Temps around the 25 degrees on average.

Arriving and getting there
Good speedy airport facilities ensured a slick passage through. Transfer time to the hotel was about forty minutes and by the time we'd finished our welcome drink and found our room, the cases were there.

Hotel general
The hotel is set into the side of a steep hill with reception being at the top and the pool area being six floors below almost at sea level. To access reception from the lift you need floor six. Going down, the pool will be found at floor zero. All the accommodation is annexed in blocks away from the main building. All parts of the hotel are kept absolutely spotless and sparkling, including the rooms. There is a "hole in the wall", situated in the reception area opposite the jewellery shop. All the normal debit cards are accepted. There are three pool areas with one of these being reserved for the exclusive use of the guests in block five.

The hotel was full and the public areas had lots of young children screaming around. It often resembled a scene from Butlins. Don't get me wrong. I have eleven grandchildren and am used to pandemonium and enjoy children but having it forced fed during my holiday was unpleasant. “Ah but it was half term”, I hear you say, but ninety percent of the children I saw were of pre-school age. Tearing around the bars, some on two feet and some on all fours until one in the morning just spoilt it for those people who came looking for an adult holiday. If the hotel wishes to target guests from both camps they need to provide facilities and entertainment for both types of guest. Alienating half the guests will cause them to go elsewhere (in my opinion).

Food
Excellent and varied. Apart from the main restaurant there are three themed restaurants. All are non buffet style and all are excellent. The themed restaurants need to be booked three days in advance as they are popular. Book outside the main restaurant at breakfast time.

Drinks
Any thing you want. A decent lager and branded spirits if you ask. Waiter service in all bars with not enough waiters to cope with a full hotel.

Entertainment
A hard working animation team provided day long activities which included Gymnastics, Volley Ball, Aqua-robics, Darts, Bingo and more. The Beach was well stocked with sun beds, shelters, water sports and bar with toilets and showers. Didn't enjoy the Animation team getting the children to play water polo next to the pool bar when there was a perfectly good childrens pool up on the next level. I didn't enjoy the children being encouraged to take over the pool bar by the Animation supervisors after games.

At first I thought that the evening show was charmingly naive but as the evenings passed, I realised that the animation teams' ambitions exceeded their ability. The shows were just not professional.

Beach
The beach was great. Never a shortage of sun beds. Still many children but all I could hear was the lapping of the waves. There was an excellent beach bar with toilet and shower facilities. Powered and non powered water sports were available.

Excursions
Costly. Approx forty pounds each. Complaints from people who went on the “Sunshine Cruise”. We went on a coach sightseeing trip with a knowledgeable guide. Interesting trip. Weekly market in town. You can go into town (and back) every day by hotel shuttle bus. Leaves every thirty minutes.

Animals and insects
Cats. I counted one, around this hotel complex. I did not feed it. It looked in good health and I suspect, kept the cockroaches away. I saw one (dead) cockroach in two weeks. There were mosquitoes and other biting insects.

Sickness
Caught nothing. Brushed my teeth using tap water. Had ice in my drinks, ate salads but drank bottled water and copious amounts of booze.

Top Tips
The bath towels provided in the room are not quite big enough. Use the large pool towel provided free and change as required.

Do not place the green label on the room door telling the maid to make up the room. It also tells passers by that you are out.

When you go to the beach or town, there is no need to flash expensive rings or watches. Loads of pickpockets in the market area. Leave them locked in the safe.


Flight Booking & Thomson Reps
The flight was full and I was cramped. To pre-empt this situation I had logged on to the Thomsons web site and selected isle seats (C and D) for both myself and my wife. I checked that the seats were still selected two days before departure and on boarding discovered that we had been allocated seats “A” and “B”. The very seats I did not want. It was a very cramped journey. I am over six foot and weigh seventeen stone so I was aching to get off after three hours. After the arrival meeting I quietly explained to the Thompson rep (Julie) the problems with their booking and allocation system. She promised to report it back and ensure that we had the seats I had previously booked for the return. She promised to “do it” that week. The next week, unprompted, she said that she would get us the seats we wanted going home (we didn't care by then). Two days before we flew she caught us in the foyer and said that she would be making sure that we had the seats we wanted on the return trip! We boarded the aircraft with ticket stubs for seats “A” and “B” !*&$@*! Thomson please note.

Nothing much to say really. She didn't do what she said she would. Smiling and courteous, at her desk during the day and early evenings. Ready to offer help and advice.

Would I go back
No

Would I recommend to others
If you want Butlins you can have it, there was no escape. If you want to be energetic, you can. If you want to lay quietly around the pool you can't.

Having been to the hotel before I made the mistake of having expectations. For me it was the pitts but if you want a great “All Inclusive” hotel and you have small children then this would fit the bill.

It's what suits you that counts.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oceania Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceania Club

Also Known As:
Oceania Club Hotel Nea Moudania
Oceania Hotel Kassandra
Oceania Resort All Inclusive
Oceania Club Halkidiki
Oceania Greece
Oceania Club Greece
Oceania Resort Greece
Oceania Club Greece/Halkidiki - Nea Moudania
Address: P.O. Box 132 | Nea Moudania, Halkidiki, Nea Moudania 632 00 , Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Nea Moudania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Nea Moudania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Oceania Club 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When the day is over, you will rest to the best all spacious, Mediterranean style rooms and suites painted in light blue, inspired by the Greek sea and skies and with wonderful views over the Aegean Sea and the mount Olympus.One thing is for certain; our up standard service will see that all your holiday wishes are all fulfilled to the maximum. So whatever you expect, expect more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Oceania Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceania Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.