We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lesse is fab dont be put off by other reviews!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lesse Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lesse Hotel to your Saves list
Lesse Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hanioti 63085 , Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Hanioti
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Notts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lesse is fab dont be put off by other reviews!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2008

After reading some rather scathing reviews in this hotel we were a little apprehensive to say the least.... all unfounded!

We arrived at the hotel and were pleasantly suprised as having travelled to Hanioti 8/9 times this was by far the best hotel we had stayed in and was definately a 4 Star (in Greek ratings)..

Main hotel and reception sat above the 3 blocks of studios surrounding a large lazy pool, sunbathing areas and bar. Lovely big rooms with full toiletries supplied, hairdryers, irons and ironing board, fridge, cooking facilities, SAT TV, tea making facilities, power shower (with curtain - unheard of in Greece!) This was kept really clean and towels were changed every second day as was the bedding. Our room was 207 in block C with FANTASTIC sea views from the balcony and pool view from the door (at no extra cost)...

The hotel is elevated on a hill although not steep and a 7 min walk into the central park area which was along a quiet beach road and was great to walk back at night and chill out. The hotel itself was lovely and quiet and plenty of sunbeds available throughout the day.

George the bar man will make you welcome but does fancy himself a little with the ladies if you are into that type of thing! Very funny to watch as most people were in couples ... but all good humour.

Food good at the hotel if you wanted to eat there but when you go to Greece you go for the exceptional food which is available everywhere. If you like sea food try the "light house" just off the central square its a small traditional sea food restaurant where the locals eat and we had a 5 course meal including , mussels, Kalamari, Greek salad galore, aubergines and two full Sea Bass (which were massive) for £16 each. Great value for Sea food. If you like traditional Kleftiko or Stiffado then try Zorbas just up the road from the hotel its great and really friendly with excellent food.

We had no issues with Mosquito's this time probably to do with the lack of tree's in the hills now around the resort which is a real shame as it was so beautiful in the hills until the big fire. Dont let this put you off though as it is still lovely...

Hanoti itself is like being in Italy with a lovely central park with fountains where locals sit at night on paved areas and the bars and restaurants are located around this where you can quite happily sit around outside in the sun and have a nice relaxing drink whilst you watch the world go by. If your looking for night life this is very low key with some dance bars but the atmosphere is one of relaxation here and couples not partying so be warned....

Prices are a little more expensive now with small local beers being 2 to 2.50 euro and large being 3.0 to 3.50 which really was the same price as over here. If like me you prefer cider or breezers then you would pay 5 euro which was a little more expensive but obviously this was imported so you would expect this. Cocktails ranged from 6 to 7 euro. With the euro being so low currently 1.18 over there and only 1.16 in the hotel so make sure you change your money here before you go as the rate was better here, i got 2.20 at the post office.

In all a fantastic hotel which we will definatley go back to and i would recommend to anyone as one of the best in Hanioti and great value. We took a couple with us that had not been on holiday to Greece before and they loved it.... what can i say.

If you are thinking of going to Greece then Hanioti is the place to stay and the Lesse Hotel is the place to book - you wont regret it!

Have a great holiday and we may see you there next year as we will be going back.

  • Liked — everything...
  • Disliked — nothing...
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    57
    24
    10
    5
See reviews for
53
104
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fleet, Hants
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2008

I have just come back from the Lesse and had a wonderful stay there. This is a family run complex, Mama and the family will make your stay comfortable in a very friendly environment. The rooms are spotless and have either seaviews or side seaviews. The pool is very nice and well laid out. The complex is well maintained and efficiently run. It's an easy short walk to the beach and less than 10 minutes stroll to the village centre which has a good choice of bars and restaurants although dining at the Lesse is a must as the buffet style menu is superb and good value. George runs the bar and will spare no effort in ensuring that you have good time. I will definitely be going back to the Lesse as had other guests that we met.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — No lifts to upper levels
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2007

My Girlfriend booked this hotel last minute with Thomas Cook, the agent said she had been there (????) and that it was a lovely place, after our stay there I would disagree entirely with the agent.

On first impressions the hotel seems fine, the architure made me think of the Swiss Alps for some reason. I won't go into too much detail but here is a list of the things that made me give this hotel a bad review;

- Thin walls, I was woken up 4 nights out of 7 by the man in the next room's snoring, now I can't blame snoring on the hotel but however loud it is, I don't expect to be woken up by it because the walls are too thin.

- When you tried to get to sleep at night, it was impossible due to the outside noise, the music from the bar went on til about 1 and it was very loud in the room. Add to this other guests playing their own music loudly!!!

- In the morning we were woken up by the constant scrapping of furniture against the tiled floors it was unbelievable.

- The bathroom was horrible and the floor was flooded everytime you took a shower, it was partly designed as a wet room but it doesn't work.

- There weren't many activities, two days it rained very heavily but there was no activities to keep anyone entertained. Everyone was sat round the bar area very miserable.

- There was a restaurant that was always empty, we ate there one day for ease and it was a terrible experience, it was a buffet style, the food was not bad, but we were the only ones eating in there at 8pm at night. As it was buffet we went straight in had our food and was out in about 10 minutes, not what I want when I eat out and paying restaurant prices.

- The location means that you have a 10 -15 minute walk to Hanioti which was not a great place, there were a couple of good cocktail bars, but everything else I found to be too British!!! I was expecting traditional greek tavernas, etc.

- Our holiday was with First Choice, and it is the last time I use a holiday company, I detest being herded round by a rep, the flights are low standard, they ran out of headphones on our flights!!!

This was my first visit to Greece, I left unimpressed.

  • Liked — The Pool Area was Nice.
  • Disliked — The rooms
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex, UK
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2007

My girlfriend and I visited the Lesse in June 07. We stayed in room B202. The room was excellent, light, airey, with air con, mini kitchen, cleanliness was good, balcony large, side view as requested - all in order.

The pool is absolutely lovely and clean with the surrounding area kept beautifully by the gardeners. Sprinklers obviously help in that heat! In June the pool area smells of Jasmine which grows on the side of the path - beautiful...

The resort was great, some very nice bars and restuarants, however, on comparison to the fun nights we had at the bar in the hotel, well - lets just say we preferred the friendliness and fun at the hotel bar at night. The staff really do make your holiday!! They are great fun and very hard working, eager to please and we did not have a single moan ourselves, nor did we hear anything negative from any of the other visitors, everyone seemed to love the place and were having a great time (night and day) at Lesse. I must say I have read some negative reports on this trip advisor site and we have to say that we do not agree with any of them. It appears to us like that these people may be disgruntled for some reason to write such bad reports about this delightful place. This hotel does reach its four star rating. Above all the staff here go out of their way to please the guests and provide a fantastic service at this very well run hotel. I dare say we wil go back again. We had an outstanding time.

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2007

We stayed at The Lesse in August 07 on a B & B basis and have to agree with some of the comments made by other reviewers.
The hotels web site shows impressive looking photos, but we were disappointed with the rooms, ours was tired and there were several damp patches around the kitchenette and shower areas. Each time we used the kitchen sink water leaked onto the floor. The shower curtains are approx 12 " from the floor and consequently each time we showered the bathroom floor flooded, not very hygienic. The second time this happened we called reception and asked for replacement towels ( we had to use our supply to mop up) this was at 5pm, we were told we would have to wait until 7pm when another member of staff would be on reception.
The Lesse also boasts a 24 hr reception, not the case, the few times we popped in on our way back in the evening we were told "come back at 8am". The breakfasts were ok but no variation. We didnt use the pool at all during our stay, the chlorine fumes were very strong and we preferred to swim in the sea,the beach is ok, a little stony, and the track leading down was badly littered which is a shame as it made it look very shabby, and dont bother taking a snorkel, the only aquatic life we saw was a lone pilchard and a supermarket trolley! We booked through First Choice and for several reasons will not travel with them in the future, the main reason being we were charged £70.00 excess baggage fees on departure at Gatwick, and ended up leaving 10 kilos worth of belongings in our room rather than pay another £70 on our return journey, I think the cleaners birthday arrived early that day! We were unaware we had only 15 kilo allowance each (our fellow passengers all had 20) I can only assume that it was due to our late booking, I say assume because the 3 First Choice reps I spoke to had no idea either. One did offer to help though, she kindly offered to relieve us of our toiletries before our return! Hard lesson learnt, always read the small print (in this case , very small print) or fly with a different tour operator. One thing that puzzled us, we had read so much about the amazing members of staff, but found them to be indifferent, not that this bothered us as we preferred to spend our evenings in the town which was vibrant with a great selection of restaurants. We travel 2 or 3 times a year and found this holiday very poor value for money, I am aware that we travelled peak season, school holidays and all that, but we have enjoyed less expensive holidays, further afield in hotels that deserve their 4* status.

  • Liked — Walking distance to town
  • Disliked — Didnt live up to the hype
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2007

We recently returned from our DISSAPOINTING stay at the Lesse Studios. We were disgraced with the state of our room (A103) the plaster and paint was flaking from the walls inside and out, air con did not work, cooker extractor did not work, bulbs out, floor not cleaned before our arrival, the front door would not shut due to wonky frame in damp wall, shower filthy and moldy with a short shower curtain resulting in the floor getting soaked and pillow case missing. Apart from that all OK :( !!! We were moved due to the damp and poor door etc and offered room A101, again damp but this time around the lightswitches!! Again offered another room A202, again with damp but better than the other two!! This is where we spent our two weeks!! Another problem was the noise from the bar which went on until 5am some mornings :( the beach was awful with building debris, rubble and metal reinforcing bars both on the shoreline and in the water. The walk back to the hotel in the evening was deadly, walking back along a main road without pavement and lighting in places! The gate at the rear of the hotel is shut at 8pm?? Making you use the main road route! Also the pool area was appalling, broken tiles in and around the pool with algae clinging to the sides and steps. The staff were arrogant and abrupt. When we asked for a pillow case for a third time at 20:40 she informed us we would get it at 20:00 ???? We asked again showing her my watch and she said it again...we walked away!! :( If you would like more detail please respond and i will be happy to help. in my opinion this hotel needs a total revamp with our three rooms being APPALLING and others we saw around the hotel. We would not recommend and will not be going back!!!



The resort was very nice, loads of bars and tavernas and restaurants and was overall very clean. The beach is poor, with very sharp shells and sand scattered with building debris including rubble, tiles, concrete, rusty metal reinforcing bars and other rubbish. Definitely a place for water shoes to be worn!!


I forgot to add, this hotel is no longer surrounded by trees as in some photos due to the fire in 2006, made worse due to the fact there is a building now next door to the hotel, not good when trying to relax by the pool!!

  • Liked — Leaving to come home
  • Disliked — spending two weeks in three naff rooms!!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2007

we've just spent two week at the Lesse and had an excellent time. The rooms are very spacious with AC free, bathroom is tipical Greece and clean.
Plenty of sunbeds around large pool area with adult pool and a long winding narrow pool leading to kiddies pool.
large pool side bar and cafe serving good food with friendly bar staff especially Georgio.
I would not recommend B & B as the breakfast is only at best lukewarm. They will not replenish say eggs until the last one as left the hot plate and this could be a long time.
Would I stay there again? Yes but only selfcatering the breakfast is my only gripe

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lesse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lesse Hotel

Address: Hanioti 63085 , Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Kassandra > Hanioti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hanioti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lesse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Lesse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lesse Hotel Hanioti, Halkidiki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lesse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.