We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the top hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilltop Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hilltop Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilltop Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hanioti, Hanioti 63085, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 24 hotels in Hanioti
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Still the top hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Our 4th trip to the Hilltop was just as good, if not better than before. The facilities are excellent - and improved from last year with the upgraded bathrooms as other have mentioned - and so are the staff. All the staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. No longer with Thomson so we got the 5 star treatment of a pick up and dropp off at the airport thanks to Bill. It also means there are less Brits at the hotel, which we found a bonus and more reflective of Hanioti. We will be back next year and have no hesitation recommending the Hilltop.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    51
    15
    7
    2
See reviews for
41
92
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Just returned from my annual two week stay at the Hilltop and once again I can't fault it. The only difference this year is the hotel has gone independent and not with Thompsons. Which means you get more nationalities in the hotel. There is also a few new members of staff this year. During the winter break the shower rooms have been upgraded and all now include a shower cubicle and power shower. The rooms are as spotless as ever and cleaned daily. Linen and towels changed regularly. Breakfast is plentiful and there is a good variety of food from cooked breakfast to simple fruit and cereal whichever you fancy. Nothing is too much trouble for Bill and his staff and that goes a long way to make a good holiday. A big thank you to Benni who keeps the pool and grounds spotless as usual and a big thank you to the new members of staff especially Victoria and Sophia. Already booked for next year. If you like peace and quiet after a busy day this is the place to be!

Room Tip: rooms on left hand side have shade in the afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Just returned from our annual visit to the Hilltop. Once again a very good holiday. Staff as friendly and helpful as ever. No longer with Thompsons this is now an independent hotel. Bill collected us from the airport so we were at the hotel far quicker than by coach with package holidays. The hotel, as usual, is spotlessly clean and rooms are cleaned on a daily basis with sheets and towels changed regularly. The bathrooms have been upgraded and now include a shower cubicle with power shower. Rooms are spacious with plenty of storage space. With different nationalities at the hotel it was not unusual to speak to Greeks, Rumanians, Swiss, Austrian as well as the few Brits that were there. If you like small and friendly hotels then this is a must. The village is only five or ten minutes walk and is a very lively place but once you return to the hotel there is peace and quiet, just right for a relaxing drink and chat with other people.
I cannot find any faults with this hotel and will certainly be returning again next year.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea view and as you look at the hotel from the front it is best to be on the left han...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Location is on a hill overlooking Hanioti (nice sea view), 5 min walk from the village and 15 min from the beach. Hotel in very good condition either relatively new or with fairly recently refurbished rooms. Showers were powerful, beds comfortable, and spacious veranda. We got a spacious double room with a double bed and a proper single bed (not a cot) for our 5 yr old and the room didn't feel crammed at all.
Family run hotel with friendly service and great price. Breakfast was basic but satisfactory. Hanioti was nothing special in my humble opinion, just a square with a few cafes and taverns. If the hotel was in Pefkohori it would be perfect for me. Beach bar Molos is nice though (south side of vilage).
Pefkohori (5 min drive south) has a long seafront with taverns, and nice cafes and bars and is much busier.
Best beach was Hroussou or Xenia after pefkohori and before Paliouri, around 2 km sandy bay with shallow sandy crystal clear and calm water, ideal for kids, and pine trees on the backround. south side probably better (koursaros beach bar). Beach at Posseidi (west side of kassandra) in front of Cocus beach bar was also beautiful and the beach bar itself had a great set up and excellent music! However all beaches including Hanioti and pefkohori are nice and the water is crystal clear. Sithonia is definitely worth a trip or more with more natural beauty and dense forests.
Food recommendations:
Hanioti: Faros fish tavern on a side road up (SW) from the square
Pefkohori: Bakalis fish tavern and Stamboulis for souvlaki, both on the seafront
Fourka: Takis (seafront) fish tavern
if you make it to Sithonia and Porto Koufo try Delphini on the edge of the bay (fresh fish, excellent)

Room Tip: If you have a child ask for a triple room with a proper bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

this was our latest visit to the lovely Hilltop Hotel....it never disappoints! As always there is the feeling of coming home - but this time it started at the airport, as Vasso collected us & drove us down to the resort. On arrival, we were in a different room, which was even better than the other rooms we've been in. ALL rooms have a sea view!!! We were on an end so had 2 windows with lovely views of the gulf - I never ever tire of looking at it! As always the rooms were spotlessly clean. The bathrooms all have a fantastic new powershower (couldn't fit it in my luggage to bring it home!) There are also large flat screen TVs for use too - which includes Sky News

As the clientele had changed this year, so had the meal arrangements. Breakfast was great - fantastic fresh fruit & Greek yogurt were our preferred options, but the choice was there if you wanted it. Evening meal was also lovely with plenty of choice & great salad options. I can quite honestly say that we had something different everyday.....not like previous review which seemed to have assumed everything was moussaka - which it wasn't!

The clients are more eastern European now, with very few British people. This was no problem & the other visitors were really nice. It made a real change not to be surrounded by Brits. As a consequence, the pool area was very quiet - in fact most days we had it virtually to ourselves all day.

As the name of the hotel suggests, yes it is at the top of a hill. This year, there is a minibus shuttle provided which runs 4 times a day - both to town & back to the hotel. It drops you off by the great Bread & Breakfast coffee & cake shop & then collects at the other side of the road. Otherwise you could always walk - the track back up the hill or the road which is a gentle climb & steady walk.

I would always recommend this hotel - I'm not just saying that it's great - it really is. Yes we are repeat visitors & we will continue to be repeat customers. The Papaterpos family do a great job in creating a home from home environment. It won't be everyone's taste but I would say that you should try it - it's great!!!

looking forward to next time.......

Room Tip: all rooms have a great sea view. We like the end ones as they have an extra window
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara, Romania
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We had a perfect 15 days holiday at Hill Top - Hanioti in July 2013. The personnel which I understood is a family is doing a great job in administration of this hotel. Many thanks for everything. Very friendly.
Everything includind, last details was perfect. Very good conditions, every day cleaning services and very good meals ( we had breakfast and lunch, both in buffet) and in all 15 days everything was great - lot of options to choose, fruits, etc… We book 2 double rooms for our large family – including 2 little girls 4-6 years. Great SEA view for all the rooms being on TOP of the HILL.
Cleaning services, very good furniture, large rooms, great LCD TV with USB player, bathroom very nice and VERY clean. Free and functional AC, fridge, iron and iron board, big balcony for all the rooms, free parking and most – VERY QUIET IN THE EVENING.
The pool is also great. The depth is from 1 m to 2,60m, so is perfect for everyone. We went for 2-3 times, water is very clean and there are enough sunbeds and umbrellas for all guests. There is also a kids pool, very safe and also a pool bar.
We recommend 100 % to all tourists. Its not a 3 Star, its more like 4 star.

Regarding the beach, every day we went to another beach and everywhere was perfect. Very clean water, warm and perfect for kids. If you want sunbeds and umbrella its free as long as you make consumption for 2-4 euro/sunbed per day.
Alos perfect for snorkelling. My 6 year daughter was amazed by snorkelling, being the first time when she did it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

So i've just returned from Hilltop 2 days ago.
And i can say it's been a horrorific experience with this hotel.
And i visit grece a lot.
The food was just bad. 4 courses that kept repeating every day. Fries and mousaka like every day. In the land of oranges you only have orange juice once / day.
They use the mixxed meat from...lets say meatballs to cook meat filled tomatoes the next day.
We came back from meteora trip and we were ordered to sit at one table 10 ppl at a table of 6. and all food was cold and slimy.
They call it all inclusive but its from 11 to 23. and one night it rained and we had to stay in. so we got ourselves some beers from the bar (in a very small glass, dont belive their add with Draft beer.) . At 22:40 the owner of the hotel closed up the bar and came threatening like "if you want to enjoy the rest of your stay you should be carefull on how much you abuse our all inclusive program"
and at 00:00 they came and told us "go back to your rooms the hotel is closing" ( they say on add reception closes at 24) but we were told to go to our rooms cause at 24 hotel is closing its doors and if we want to go clubbing we cant get back in the hotel after 00:00.
The next day one lady a room away from mine was terrified cause she had a very large mirapode in her room and the receptionist just said to her husband "you're a man why didnt u picked it up and threw it away"
the same day we avoided the pool. there was a family with 2 small kids by the pool and their dad was teaching them how to swim when they started yelling cause a damn rat was swimming at the other end of the pool.
Also the distance from the hotel to the beach is not 500meters its like 25 mins walk through a deserted field.with no shadows whatsoever. there is indeed a shuttle , but again dont be fooled. the shuttle takes u from the hotel entrance and leaves u downhill of the deserted field. in the mail street ( no crossing zones around ) from that point to the beach theres another 15-20 mins walk to the beach.
All in all it's a total nightmare. I posted this ( i rarely complain) so that other ppl don't get their vacantions ruined by this ...vila (IT CAN NOT BE CALLED A HOTEL)
I myself work in the hotel industry as a front office manager and this is NOT a 3 star HOTEL. I cant even call it a hotel. Bad food / far from beach / very lowsy personel not to mention the hotel manager . if u ask around everyone will tell you something like "omg you stay at hilltop? i feel sorry for you

Room Tip: only 5 rooms have an actuall sea view. the ones on top of the entrance. rest of them are ugly roache...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilltop Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilltop Hotel

Address: Hanioti, Hanioti 63085, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Kassandra > Hanioti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Hanioti
#3 Family Hotel in Hanioti
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hanioti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilltop Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilltop is a hotel located in the village of Hanioti in the Kassandra Peninsula of Halkidiki, in Mainland Greece. Set upon a small hill it's only a couple of minutes walk from the village shops and about 600 meters from the beach. Hilltop is a small hotel (only 50 rooms), built and run by a Greek - American family. It has been catering for couples and families for the past 20 years, offering a hospitable atmosphere, that has made many return year upon year for their summer holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hilltop Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilltop Hotel Hanioti, Halkidiki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilltop Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.