We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chilled out!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hanioti Village Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hanioti Village Resort to your Saves list
Hanioti Village Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hanioti 63085, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Hanioti
Sheffield
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Chilled out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

I can't begin to describe how relaxing this holiday was. Mainly due to the Hotel.

Hotel...
It was very clean all of the time. Atmosphere was relaxing. Staff were very friendly (Billy, Tas and Paris). Rooms were spacious, clean and basic. (Junior suites were meant to be very modern and classy) We had a standard room for the main reason we didn't plan on spending a lot of time in it other than for sleeping, geting changed and storing our gear in there. We also would rather spend the extra money on something else for what a junior suite would have cost us.

The aircon was a must for us because it was very hot (ave 37 degees) while we were there. Although it does cost a lot it was worth it.. (Aprx £85 for the two weeks depends on the exchange rate).

Although there were a few families there with young children I wouldn't say it was the ideal hotel for families with children as there isn't really much for the children to do. The hotel is more for couples and friends wanting to relax all day and basically do nothing. Because the hotel isn't all that big you tend to get to know everyone else who is there on holiday within a few days, which for us was nice cos we're quite chatty people.

The swimming pool is nice and clean all the time. There's a little whirlpool/Bubble/Jacuzzi pool to the side of the main pool which when turned on is very relaxing. (Ask the staff to turn it on before you get in).

The food was great. I can't say we had a bad meal in the 2 weeks we were there. This is the first time we've been half board and the evening meals have not been Buffet style. You choose the meal you want that evening by selecting it during the day (the list/menu is in the reception during the morning) Everyday you would usually get a choice of 2 starters, 4 main courses and desert which they normally ask you about after your meal. For the whole 2 weeks we were there the meals were all freshly cooked and waiter/waitress served to your table. (No two meals were the same for the whole of our holiday. Which was nice). Breakfast was fine although a bit repetative. Buffet style help yourself. same every day with the exception of Boiled Eggs one day, Scrambled Eggs the other. Not complaining tho. You can also buy meals throughout the day from the menus in the bar areas (Recommend the Club Sandwich).

The drinks in the hotel are a little pricey but not a pricey as anywhere else in Haniotti. I'm not a big cocktail drinker but i did try several which were strong and refreshing. The staff would also make you any drink you like even if it's not on the menu/list which was good also.

The entertainment in the hotel isn't the best but is a good laugh, Dingo Bingo Night, Quiz Night, Karioke Night.

The location is good in my view, just far enough out of the hustle and bustle. Which adds to the relaxing atmoshere.

All in all Hanioti Village Hotel is great value for money and probably the most relaxing hotel i've stayed in in terms of affordable low star rating holidays. You can't compare it to a 5 star all inclusive holiday..... But in my view the big 5 star jobbies aren't always the best value for money or most relaxing. This hotel is by far one of the best i've ever stayed in for the money I paid and I would highly recommend it to anyone.

Hanioti.....
The beach is a 5 min walk straight across the road and down the hill (You can't really miss it.) Hanioti square is about 15 min walk either left out of the hotel or down to the beach then left which is probably the better route.

The beach is shingle which is not great on the feet and after 11am it gets packed and you're like sardines in and out of the water. The sea is clear and really nice tho. Be prepared to see some sights on the beach. There are a lot of Eastern Europeans (Russians and Romainians mainly) and they're all stuck in the 80's which is quite amusing if you enjoy people watching. We didn't go down to the beach that often because we found it a little too busy at times and on a Friday, Saturday and Sunday everyone and there dogs turned up from all over greece.

Hanioti Square is where the nightlife is and everything evolves around it. We found Hanioti square very busy and very expensive. On ave £5-£7 a drink. But if you go slightly off the square it gets a little cheaper £3-£4 a drink. We also found eating out very expensive around the square. (We didn't really need to tho. Hotel food was spot on).

I found Hanioti more suited to the Eastern Europeans more than the British. Did find most of the Eastern Europeans rude, very loud and also noticed they do not like to pay for anything. (saw a lot of them stealing from the shops and stalls. Walking off without paying for meals things like that)

We hired a Quad for a day which cost around £25 (need your Driving License tho) bought a map and went traveling. This was great because we found some really nice beaches which were a little off the beaten track but well worth finding. We got to see alot of the surounding area which you wouldn't have been able to walk to. (You can also hire a quad for several days which we wish we had done)

We heard a lot of bad things about the excursions one being that they are very over priced and that they weren't really worth going on. The other being that all of the boat trips were over packed and not a lot really happens on them. If you want to go on a boat trip you can hire your own little speed boat from the near the Square.

It would highly recommend the Hanioti Vilage Hotel and Hanioti to anyone. Unfortunately we like to go to a different and new location every year so i can say that we won't be going back to Hanioti. But if we were to go back to Hanioti the Hanioti Village Hotel is the place we would go back to.

Mark & Emma July-Aug 2009

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    41
    17
    4
    1
See reviews for
34
96
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

Just came back from Hanioti Village after a 2 week holiday and have already booked another week in September!
Went with a friend who has been many times and I can see why..........staff are very friendly, helpful and nothing is too much trouble.
The place is spotless, rooms basic but clean with great showers and the spa is 5*, just sitting in the jacuzzi makes you relax completely. The pool area is great, never too crowded and always enough sunloungers and is kept very clean.
Chippy the dog and the cats wander around making friends with everyone.
Food is excellent and plentiful, always something on the menu we wanted.
Had a great time and going back soon!
Thanks guys.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amybu
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

We have just got back from a week at the Hanioti Village and it could not have been better. We booked with Thomson who were very good and the flight times were excellent. We got to the hotel and the staff were friendly. We were placed in one of the junior suites which was amazing, a huge comfy bed, big rain shower and tastefully decorated. Also, spotlessly clean. We did not expect to be in this room so it was a lovely suprise but from what I heard all the room were lovely. The pool area is a good size with plenty of loungers and umberellas, and once again very clean (we saw them checking the water etc every morning). The bar (Lazy Croc) is lovely and very modern with a good selection of the usual drinks and also serves good food until late afternoon. On the subject of food - we went half board, which we have never done before, and we were so impressed with the food! Breakfast absolutley fine and something for everyone. You have to select your evening meal before about 12/1pm and there are a good range of choices and was often a difficult decison to decide what to have. The food was beautiful, fresh and the majority of it home grown/cooked. Service of food and drinks was excellent and very efficient.
You may have seen on the hotel website that they have a brand new spa. If you think it looks good in the pictures it is 10 times better in person! Absolutley stunning and a lot of money has been spent. We booked the whole spa to ourselves for 70 mins where we could use the steam room, sauna, jacuzzi and heated loungers. It was absolutely beautiful and well worth the 20 euros per person. Would definitely recommend this and there are a good range of treatments available.
I could go on forever about how great this hotel is. Great service, very clean, brilliant food, lovely pool area and a good location to get to the main square an other local amenities (10-15 min walk). We had an amazing time and can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

Just returned from a week at Hotel Hanioti Village. We couldn't have stayed at a better place. The staff were very friendly, the accommodation immaculate, pool area lovely, food great and bar comfortable for an evening drink or lunchtime snack. Situated a comfortable distance from the hustle and bustle of Hanioti and close to the beach the location was ideal. We stayed in one of the nearly refurbished rooms which was lovely. All areas were spotlessly clean and well kept. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

just got back from a lovely week in hanoiti village. very clean and well presented. staff are very friendly and helpfull, the food is really nice!!, australian guy seems a bit odd sometimes though??. it is situated just across the road from the beach. The beach is very shingley so we rented a quad for 25 euro, and drove about 10km down the road to a stunning beach (cant remember the name of the town). overall had a really good time, the "sunsplash" excursion was probably the best thing we did, really recomend this if you go to halkidiki as its only something like 28 euro for a whole day inc lunch!!! probably wouldnt go back to halkidiki any time soon as it seems you can only do so much there, but its perfect for a nice week off.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, London, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

I suppose everyone has different ideas about the perfect holiday. Mine is Mexico, beautiful sand and all inclusive. So this was a budget holiday to simply do nothing and chill. Therefore its not the best i have been on but read on and make your own mind up.

Arrival and rooms
The first impression of the place was it was REALLY friendly we arrived late and was offered a meal even though it was ten o clock and dinner finished three hours ago, they said there was some food left over and if we wanted it all we had to do was ask. The room we had 201 looked over the pool and was the best i have EVER stayed in and we have been 5* b4. The shower had a massive shower head and the room was modern. You can upgrade for 7 euros per person per night to the next one up, only difference is it has a bath with jets i didnt bother. Next one above that with sitting area is 10Euros pppn.
Room was SUPER clean and had LCD which was cool, however some rooms not rennovated yet so not all have this.

Beach
the beach accross the road is shingle and if like me you are unable to walk on it without feeling pain its not great. However there is a WONDERFUL beach only a bus ride away either lef of right of the hotel. We went to the right and it was called something like Xania or it was said like that, only 2Wuros on the bus for bother of us. Or left was Kassandra beach. Both Sandy no shingles.

Hanioti Village overall and spa
Is a normal greek place, nice becuase small and family run very very helpful staff, pool area nice and clean, pool is nice and the small pool dubles up as childrens pool and jacquizi. The spa we paid20 Euros each and to be honest my gym has a steam room and sauna and jacquizi so i didnt find it anything special, would have not been bothered if it was 10Euros but felt that it had to be done while there, wouldnt reccomend it not for that price, but it is lovely and you can see they have spent lots on it.

BAR
The prices were very expensive that of which i would have paid in central london. I dunno if this can be blmaed on themn though as this was the case around and about too. A cocktail would cost 7Euros and was not that big at all, a JD and coke is about 6 and a milkshake 3 euros, a bottle of 500ml coke was 3 euros!!!!!!!!!!! the 1.80 glass is tall and think so works out cheaper to get a bottle. We went to the big supermarket down the road and bought our own drink and drunk on balcony.

Entertainment
Was best i have ever had no drag shows, or clowns dancing round just a simple bingo night and quiz night, and kareoke night. Was a laugh and we won the bingo woooooooop! Its low key entertainment but most enjoyable.

Overall i wouldnt go back to Halkidiki in a rush but thats because i spoilt myself and now long for the carribean, however dont let this put you off at all, i enjoyed my holiday and thought it was worth every penny. The EURO spoilt it and for this reason if you are reading this and not yet booked, i would go somewhere where the euro.

Overall lovely place, lovely holiday, HORRIBLE EURO!!! lol!
Oh and excursions are nothing special, we did sunsplash and was fun! xxxx
Oh and dinner was LOVELY, breakfast not so great unless u get there early, but enough.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

On arrival shown to a very clean standard room which was more than adequate for our stay. Although air con was extra cost (as expected) it was very welcome and functioned quietly. Food was exceptional, something for all tastes, mealtimes well organised and food was freshly made. All staff were polite and friendly there when needed for help and advice but not overbearing. Lazy Croc bar in the evenings was great, Nick particularly enjoyed the Dingo Bingo and we all enjoyed Quiz night. Chippy the dog was lovely but we had a huge soft spot for the cat we called Wonky who was beautiful (You know who you are Wonky!) Nick, Tracey, Chloe and Kelly.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanioti Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanioti Village Resort

Address: Hanioti 63085, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Kassandra > Hanioti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hanioti
#4 Family Hotel in Hanioti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanioti Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hanioti Village Resort is situated in the traditional settlement Haniotis, a popular holiday resort surrounded by beautiful green pine forests. Stunning beaches and crystal blue waters are close by, creating a magnificent settin.The Hanioti Village Resort in Halkidiki is comprised of comfortable superior twin rooms, junior suites, and suites; the ideal accommodation for a relaxing vacation, offering quality hotel services and facilities in a hospitable environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hanioti Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel Hanioti
Hanioti Village Hotel
Hanioti Village Resort Halkidiki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanioti Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.