We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yuk” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Marconfort El Greco Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Marconfort El Greco Hotel to your Saves list
Marconfort El Greco Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Cala Portinatx s/n | San Juan, 07820 Portinatx, Sant Joan de Labritja, Ibiza, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Portinatx
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Banbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“yuk”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2006

yuk,yuk,yuk,
what a terrible place to stay,smelly,small room overlooking hotel presidente,food not to bad,service good.
but that is all i can say about this hotel without being very grapic.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    366
    152
    56
    31
See reviews for
618
164
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
southampton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2006

We went here for Whitsun half term with friends who had stayed here 2 years ago. We were a bit worried because of all the previous reviews however we were pleasantly suprised! The food was fantastic - it was like being on a cruise - non-stop!! The restaurant and the hotel itself was spotless and the cleaners were always around cleaning and a smell of disenfectant was around after they left! You have to wipe you hands on hand wipes before entering the restaurant which proved great as you knew that their would be no germs on the food! Again - the room are basic and you can hear your neighbours talking - but do what we did - wait for the entertainment to finish at 11:30pm then go into the restaurant for a sandwich and get back to your room after midnight the same as everyone else and you don't notice the noise. The beach is lovely and I recommend going on the Banana boat 10 euros each boat and the pedalos 13 euros for an hour- both cheap. Take some bread and feed the fish who follow you in the water and jump up to you - lovely! The waterpark is great too and free drinks , beers and icecreams there as well. In fact the only complaint was that we had one day of rain and we were confined to the hotel which was very smokey with all the doors closed! All the entertainment was inside so we had to put up with it - but now they have the entertainment outside so all those going for the summer hols will find it ok. the kids had a great time - lots of freedom because it's very safe. The cove next to the hotel is very pretty and so is the one round the corner. Lots of nice walks as well! I only put on half a pound in weight due to all the steps so I was well chuffed - they didn;t bother us at all as the exercise was welcome after stuffing our faces with all that lovely, home coked food!!!
I would definately recommend this all inclusive hotel if you have kids - preferably over 5 would be ideal - the kids clubs are great and the hotel even have their own kids club as well! all ok - so don't worry - ENJOY !!!!!!!

Stayed May 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2006

millions of steps not suitable for mature people had to descend steps to go to the beach then climb more steps to go to shos ie. suprmarket to buy water etc
only 3 buses per day in or out to ibiza town cost € 2.50 each way and the journey is very tortuos,usually the children are sick on the bus. the rooms are basic and clean but noise starts at 5.00am with bins being emptied then other transport unloading beer barrels etc.right through to 10.00am so much for trying to get a bit of a shut eye.

the all inclusive drink at the bar are well watered so is the coffee.
the entertainment is not too bad but only if you could hear it .the lounge is massive and when every body is talking its impossible to hear anything, we had to buy ear plugs with little help.
most evenings after dinner you could`nt get a seat together only two of us most times.
if you are buying water at the bar they are charging you € 1.50 for a small bottle which only costs € 0.40c at the shops.

we would not go back to that hotel unless there was a big change in the lounge set up ie.dividing it into 4 areas.

Stayed May 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2006

We stayed at the El Greco in Sept 2004. This hotel is excellent for families with children. The pool is just a nice size. The rooms wher a little small but how much time do you spend in there on all inclusive? Our room had sea views which were beautifull. The food was of a good standard & there is a fat controller standing at the door to make sure there are no hairy legs on view at dinner!!! The big plus for us was the water park which is just across the beach. it`s not massive but kept me entertained never mind the kids-& there is also the free bar in there too-so you don`t miss out. This hotel is in a superb location & the bay is nice & sandy. There are a few shops & bars across the bay. I will certainly return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2006

excellent holiday, first time abroad with my 5 children aged 8 to 23 everone found it brilliant. food lovely. hotel spotless. reps very helpfull. plenty to do and see. had lovely trips on catamarean.would recomend it to everyone.

Stayed August 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2006

We returned fron the El Greco in the middle of May 2006, and I shall try to list all the points both good and bad!!

Overview;- Set in one of the most beautiful bays you can imagine, the location of the hotel is perfect, it is without doubt a hotel that sets out to cater for families with young children, if thats not your cup of tea don't go there!!! We went with our 4 and 6 year olds and they loved it!!

Rooms;- We were on the 5th floor, the room was clean with excellent maid service, however it was small and had a definate lack of hanging space. We also found noise from other guests in the corridor to be a problem on a couple of occassions, although to be fair this is the fault of inconsiderate scum bags rather than the hotel.

Food;-This is a self service hot and cold buffet, the service is excellent with something for everyone although it did become a little "samey" by the end of the week, the pizzas are excellent though!!

Bars and Entertainment:- Clean with excellent service, the entertainment is geared up for kids with mini discos, parrot shows, bingo etc but as I said before this is a hotel geared up for families so this is expected, I should also rave about the daytime kids clubs which were professionaly managed and offered a wide range of activities giving the parents a break!!

Pools and beach;- Much has been said about the steps to the pool and beaches there are fourty of so steps between the hotel and beach, but these are seperated by terraces so its not one long flight of stairs and we found no problem. The beach is beautiful, we went during low season and was not too crowded, this may change at the height of season!!

Local ammenaties:- Shops, bars, chemist, off licenses, tacky souveneer shops etc!! Regular cheap bus service to larger towns.

In Conclusion;- The staff and Thompson Reps were fantastic and very helpful. This hotel would not suit couples looking for peace and tranquility, it is geared up for kids so if you don't have kids you may not appreciate them running around, if you are after a family holiday with children, I would reccomend the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2006

We got to El' Groco hotel and first thoughts were that is was fine ! The scenery was beautiful however we spent two weeks watching people get on and off the bus, as our room view was the main road and reception. Although this was over looked, we went for a spot of sun bathing...again, BUT there was a terrible stench of sewage, 24/7. The pool also recieves very limited sun, mostly shade. There is also no snack bar so the all inclusive deal is more like full board with drinks from plastics cups. Its ok if you can live on pizza for your whole holiday. We travelled with Husband, Wife, 4 yr old son, and 15 yr old daughter. Resort very secluded and restricting, few shops and bars, very quiet. My advice dont go unless you want a quiet holiday, an a pretty beach, with a few free drinks !

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marconfort El Greco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marconfort El Greco Hotel

Address: Playa Cala Portinatx s/n | San Juan, 07820 Portinatx, Sant Joan de Labritja, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Joan de Labritja > Portinatx
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Portinatx
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marconfort El Greco Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marconfort El Greco All Inclusive is situated on Cala Portinatx bay, and it has a free water park. It offers a free WiFi access in common areas. Guest rooms are bright and with views of the sea, gardens or pool. They have air conditioning, a rental safe, satellite TV and a private room with hairdryer. The water park has a pool and waterslide and offers nighttime and daytime entertainment services among a wide range of activities. The buffet restaurant combines international and Spanish cuisine. There is also a poolside bar serving free drinks from 9am to 11pm. The reception desk opens 24 hours a day, and it has a tourist information desk with tour booking and car rental. The resort has a gym and a poolside terrace with loungers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Marconfort El Greco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Greco Portinatx
El Greco Hotel Ibiza
El Greco Ibiza
Hotel El Greco Ibiza
Marconfort El Greco Hotel Ibiza/Portinatx

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marconfort El Greco Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.