We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, we left very happy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marconfort El Greco Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marconfort El Greco Hotel to your Saves list
Marconfort El Greco Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Cala Portinatx s/n | San Juan, 07820 Portinatx, Sant Joan de Labritja, Ibiza, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Portinatx
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent value, we left very happy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

It's been a long time since I've been able to afford a holiday got myself and my girls so when I booked this I had my fingers crossed it would be good. Thankfully I wasn't disappointed, the hotel is spotless, service excellent, I can see why people may complain about the children but the bar closes at 11pm personally I wouldn't be asleep before then anyway but I was never disturbed anyway.
I do think it is harsh blaming a hotel on children's behaviour when really it's upto the parents, one night I told a member of staff a child was climbing on the terrace he was quick to tell him to get down or he wouldn't be getting any ice creams the next day!!!. But ultimately this is the parents responsibility.
Food was good not 5 star but a good 3 star I never went hungry.
We had a car for a couple of days hired from the airport much cheaper than local hire but paying for a full tank unlike local hire so swings and roundabouts, anyway we got to see the whole island which I personally loved. Not being a sun worshipper this was a welcome break and kept us all happy as portinatx is quite small, visit the hippy markets, the girl cafe in saint juan, Ibiza town etc is well worth it but if you catch the bus only €2.60 into Ibiza town. If we hadn't done this I think us personally would have got bored, the girls loved the waterpark as did I much more than the poolside but like me they like to explore. All in all was a brilliant holiday and I would definitely go back. If I was in portinatx again I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    360
    152
    56
    31
See reviews for
606
162
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stayed at this hotel the end of may for 10 nights with my husband, and daughters aged 7 and 15 months. Short flight from newcastle, and very short transfer time to hotel. Hotel was quite busy when we were there, and the pool was always very busy so we didnt even bother trying to get a sunbed there. we went to the beach every day and paid 5euros per bed, per day, but bought a parasol from the local shop. The beach is very clean, and the sea is beautiful, if a bit cold, and we hired a pedalo which was fun!
The rooms are very clean, and cleaned every day, and small, but very sufficient. Shower head could of done with being changed, and was a bit awkward to swith on due to the position of the bath and the shower screen, but not a major problem.
Restaurant was always very busy and if you dont get there for opening times, apart from breakfast, sometimes you may have to queue. The restaurant always looked manic and I think that is due to the fact that there is not a lot of space around the tables and the space between the food and the tables is very small, so a very tight squeeze. The food was excellent, different meat every night, fresh fish and freshly cooked pizzas and pasta. Fresh salads, fruit and puddings, cant fault the food, there was something for everyone, one thing I did notice is that there were brussell sprouts served everyday!!!
There are a few steep steps and we had to lift the buggy up and down everyyday, and i didi see people there with walking sticks, it didnt bother us, as I'd read the reviews so knew what to expect.
There are a nice few local shops and bars, and a lovely little park nearby. Theres also a hotel run kids club and it always seemed busy although we did't go there.
The only gripe I had was that the all inclusive 'alcoholic' drinks didnt appear to have any alcohol in them! not that I wanted to get drunk, but after a few Malibu's I would expect to be a little tipsy...not a thing!! we ended up going to the local 'Booze Buster' for Vodka and had a few drinks on the balcony.
All in all a good holiday, very clean, food lovely, great beach...would I go back? not with young kids as I like the Holiday Villages, and this is not anything like that, but i wasnt expecting it to be, so wasnt disappointed!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

went for 7 days, arrived in very early hours of morning, reception where good and explained our room was on the lower ground floor - the room was fine although we had no view and as we were on the lower floor it was really cold and not in easy access to the lift which we needed.

I asked the reception the next morning if we could be reallocated a room and we they were able to do we switched to a ground floor the room which was located behind the wifi/reception area - this did worry me with the sound but we were fine and couldnt be happier - only negative I would say about the rooms is they do not have heating which may be a problem if the weather is not good also all the corridors only have a small strip of carpet onto of marble type floors so the sound proofing is not good loud children or guests dragging suitcases up and down them late at night it can disturb you the hotel could fix this by better flooring in the corridors to sound proof.

The hotel itself was very clean, we found all the staff very good and really helpfull the water park was very good - it did close all day on a Saturday which did disappoint us, you have the usual game around the swimming pool with the sun beds, other guests rather selfishly reserve beds with towels, dissappear all day and do not use them - Why!

The food was good, plenty to eat dont really see how some people say they struggled to find something as I always found plenty to pick from including a fish dishes, meat dishes, pasta lots of salad rather yummy puds and fruit/ice cream - I loved the fresh warm breads and rolls too!

Drinks were available although I did find them not quiet as strong as we are used to in the UK the beer was like shandy to us. The soft drinks and ices where good through out the day and it was a nice restfull place to stay, didnt really bother much with the evening entertainment we liged to walk around the bay and beach. Portinatx itself is a very small resort a few shops and a limited bus service to Ibiza town - nice place to unwind.

Would l stay at this hotel again - yes but only for a week as we had covered most things to do

Room Tip: if you are allocated a room not to your liking speak to reception as they may be able to change swap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire uk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed in this hotel for about 6 years running now and enjoy it there every year. Yes the previous reviews about unruly children are true but I can't see how the hotel can improve on this with the amount of children that stay there.
As with the food. The breakfasts are, in my opinion, great. Lunch and evening meal was also good. Food was always hot and varied. A little too varied some nights as you had lasagna with bussel sprouts being the only veg option. There was also a new option in the show cooking area this year with a chef offering cooked meats off the bone and fajitas on 'Mexican' night.

One of the downsides to this hotel is the amount of people staying there. It gets very busy in the food area (by the way this is the only place you can get food so if you want to eat everybody has to go there as there are no poolside areas for food. Also you are not allowed to take food out of the restaurant).
Unfortunately the noise is a problem in this hotel. If you happen to be there if the weather is bad and the entertainment is inside you may be going to bed with a headache. Luckily we never stay for the entertainment as we go into the small town at night to some of the bars (delboys is good) so only had to endure the racket as we passed through.

As for people commenting about miserable staff, I will never understand these comments, I have stayed here for the past 6 years and yes, some of the staff are a bit 'plain faced' but they are always polite to talk to and always help out if asked. Try saying hello instead of judging these hard working people by their covers.

Another small niggle is with the sun lounger reservations. You will be lucky to get one by the pool if you get down there any time after 8:30. There are not nearly enough loungers for the hotel when it is full. Not a great problem as the beach is so close but if you don't like spending €15 for a parasol and 2loungers on the beach per day you will have to be up early.

Cleanliness of the hotel is second to none. Towels changed every day and beds made.

We will be staying there again next year. You get what you pay for. If you want a cheap hotel with nice food and clean surrounding then go there. By the way. Steps could be a problem for the less phisical and people with prams/very small children.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

We visited this hotel from may 7th til may 21st and I so wish we had only stayed a week. Firstly I will say the hotel was clean , the staff were friendly and I personally thought the food was great. Now the bad points, my god the noise , I have to agree with other reviews , kids running riot and the corridors were so echoey that every sound of every person could be heard well into the night. We dropped a star rating and I have to say I will not be doing this again. Portinatx has lovely beaches but absolutely nothing else, the buses to ibiza and st eulalia leave early and you can only catch certain ones back so be careful. The hotel also has 43 steps to the pool so be warned and be ready to carry your pram. Do not go here if you are a couple , families yes it's great but cramped . The hotel is for families with 5 year old kids and upwards. We will not be going back but that's just us, we met lots of people that go back year after year. So each to their own!!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Nothing wrong with hotel at all, food is great and the male restaurant staff are friendlier thN the poker faced ladies in there. Pool area very crowded but beach on doorstep, which is fabulous. The prices attract some unruly families though. There were a lot of children left doing their own thing, being very noisy, especially at night running up corridors shouting and screaming with no thought for anyone already in bed, parents not even telling them to be quiet. Stayed 3-10 june, 4 adults and 2 well behaved children. Rooms are lovely and bright and clean. All in all we had a greag holiday but it was far too busy and noisy for us, wouldnt go back for that reason only.

Room Tip: Would be better to get a room away from the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

don't do mistakes, this hotel strictly not for young couples or friends, for this hotel is quet a high price... then we were last summer in this hotel, we made a mistake, around only families and seniors, this summer in June I bought 5stars hotel in Turkey Mamaris the hotel was even cheapest than El Greco and big difference between luxury...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marconfort El Greco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marconfort El Greco Hotel

Address: Playa Cala Portinatx s/n | San Juan, 07820 Portinatx, Sant Joan de Labritja, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Joan de Labritja > Portinatx
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Portinatx
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marconfort El Greco Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marconfort El Greco is an All Inclusive property situated on Cala Portinatx Bay, and it even has a free water park! The bright guestrooms at Marconfort El Greco offer air conditioning, satellite TV, a rental safe, a private bathroom with a hairdryer and bath amenities, and panoramic views. Many rooms feature beautiful views of the ocean, gardens or pool. The water park at El Greco has waterslides and a pool. In addition to daytime and nighttime entertainment, guests can also enjoy a wide range of activities. The hotel's restaurant offers an abundant buffet with a wide variety of international and Spanish cuisine. You'll also find a poolside bar serving free drinks from 9am to 11pm. The reception desk is open 24 hours a day, and the hotel also has a tourist information desk with car rental and tour bookings. At this property, you can enjoy a poolside terrace with loungers, along with a gym and free WiFi access in the reception area and in the pool and bar area. Marconfort El Greco is a seasonal hotel that is closed every year from October 31 through April 30. The water park is closed on Saturdays. ***ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN*** With the All Inclusive plan at Marconfort El Greco Hotel, you'll find the following services: The hotel's excellent All Inclusive plan sets it apart as one of the best properties on the island of Ibiza. Buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner at the hotel's main restaurant. All alcoholic drinks are national brands. Included are beer, non-alcoholic beer, wine, and liquor (with and without alcohol) at all hotel bars and the buffet restaurant. Note: Premium brand international and national drinks have an additional cost and are not included. All inclusive drinks are served from 9am to 11pm. Entertainment: Daily entertainment for kids and adults Live music at the main bar Professional inside and outside the hotel Hotel guests must wear the All Inclusive bracelet. Use of the water park is free for hotel customers. (Closed Saturdays) All schedules and locations for services are subject to change at the discretion of hotel management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marconfort El Greco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Greco Portinatx
El Greco Hotel Ibiza
El Greco Ibiza
Hotel El Greco Ibiza
Marconfort El Greco Hotel Ibiza/Portinatx

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marconfort El Greco Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.