We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apartamentos S Arenal

Apartamentos S Arenal
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Apartamentos S Arenal to your Saves list
Apartamentos S Arenal
Playa S"arenal | GrosCala, 07810 Portinatx, Sant Joan de Labritja, Ibiza, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Portinatx
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Perfect view, nice staff, food was ok. NOt the best, but there a plenty of other restaurants in the neighbourhood. Really clean bedrooms. Perfect location! Only downside are the beds, little bit too hard for us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    17
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The apartment was everything you could wish for - clean, tidy, beautiful views, excellent service. The only downside for us was the restaurant. We always try to use the restaurant associated with wherever we are staying, however on our first night we ordered special pizza only to find the special thing about it was the lack of topping. As we were only there for 6 days we decided not to risk it again, we love our food!

Good points about Portinatx are literally the beaches and clear blue sea perfect for snorkeling. We found, because of the time of year, that even with 3 weeks to go to the end of the season, everywhere was winding down and we were often told 'this and that is not on the menu' anymore - our attitude was if you want people to come back then you must make everything available until the last day. Also the restaurants were very expensive for average food; we kept being told that this is because the prices had gone up since last year. However on a visit to Santa Eulalia, where we stopped last year, this was not so; cocktails could still be brought for as little as 2.90 euro and the average meal was approximately 8.00 euro and could be as low as 5. We had facility to cook but when trying to purchase fresh garlic none was available; we found out later there is one shop that stays open all year, and it is worth noting, called Rosa's at the back of Del's Bar, where we might have been able to purchase some. We heard tales of the cash point being empty, we were glad we took cash.
All in all, even with the perfect apartment, we will not stay in Portinatx again; however we will have at least a day or two there for the perfect beach/sea.
Also please note: mosquitos!!!!! if you are prone take lots of preventative lotions, I didn't get one bite in Santa Eulalia last year, even by the only river in Ibiza, but within one day I had 10 here, and they were savage!

Room Tip: all rooms look out to sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford West Yorks
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the apartments in May 2006 they were spotless and clean with the balcony overlooking the bay and in between 2 nice beaches. They were well equipped with everything we needed for self catering and Maria was always on hand if any problems arose.The resort is small with plenty of small restaurants and bars,and with easy access to the rest of the island,the weather was fantastic and we got a great tan.
We had a good chillout week and maybe woukd return again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

All the rooms have sea views and the views were lovely.
The location of the apartments was really good, right on the sea front with easy access to everything Portinatx has to offer.
There was no pool but we knew this before we booked, that's why I gave it an overall 4.
The apartment was a nice size with a kitchen when you enter with double sofa bed and then a shower room (no bath) and bedroom with two single beds which we pushed together.
The balcony was large and walled so safe for children.
We had a tv, we found the only tv channel in English was discoveryDx which was good as we had a young baby and spent longer in the apartment than normal.
The apartment was spotless, had microwave, gas hob and sink all useful and plenty of utensils, cups, glasses etc, they even provided washing up liquid, towels and sponge which is really helpful. There is a hair dryer.
The apartment was over the restaurant and supermarket but was not noisy at all.
There is a children's play area right next to the apartments the beaches are literally a minutes walk.
Portinatx is quite hilly so not that great for wheelchair users, we were fine with our pram though as there are ramps everywhere next to any steps.
We used trip advisor reviews to decide where to eat, our favourite was ZuluLounge turn left at the front of the apartments and it is one minutes walk, great for a nice drink and dinner watching the sunset. We also enjoyed a meal at Le Jardin the other side of the main beach, worth a visit.
For evening entertainment visit Vincent's bar again the other side of the main beach.
All in all Portinatx is a family resort, mostly all inclusive hotels so its not got a huge choice of places to go out to of an evening but enough for a weeks holiday there.
I would recommend the S'Arenal apartments highly and they were great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorks
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed here last week of May and have to say there were a lot of empty rooms. Why?? I think the "all inclusive" hotels have a lot to answer for. They are killing these smaller resorts. But I know I made the best choice by far. Couldn't fault these apartments, and the views, just sitting with a glass (or 2!) of wine on the balcony, especially when there was a decent sunset. Nothing better!! Have to echo the other reviewers. We had a smashing time. Lovely people, and the 2 Marias!! even lovelier!!!
I felt for the bar and restaurant owners on the beach walk in the evenings (busy during the days), most were empty evening wise, even at the weekend, We stopped off at one on the Saturday for a night cap, it was about 10pm, the owner said she was closing, apart from us they had one other person in all evening. Then we looked over the wall at the all inclusive hotel, it was heaving!! such a shame
Ate in the apartment restaurant a couple of times and couldn't fault the food.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

After readin the reviews I was a little sceptical about this place but i cannot sing its praises enough.

The two Marias, especially the bournemouth lady were brilliant, they were cheerfull, friendly, they went out of their way to be helpful.

the apartments themselves are in my opinion the best situated in portinatx, being smack bang between the two main beaches. They were clean, modern, in good repair and the airconditioning was so refreshing after a day on the beach.

If you are planning a holiday in Portinatx you HAve to consider booking here!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

S'Arenal apartments are in the best location in Portinatx (which, in turn, is one of the loveliest bays in Ibiza). They are right on the sea front with fantastic views out to sea, with a supermarket below and also a restaurant. The beach is but a hop away.

The apartments themselves are clean and feel safe and secure - the patio windows are secure and significantly for those with children, the railings feel secure also. The doors also keep out ambient noise (though Portinatx is not the sort of resort that those going to [--] Me I'm Famous! go to). Staff were friendly and helpful.

Had a lovely relaxing week here. Only downsides to the apartments really is that the kitchen is a bit basic (not a problem for us) and that the beds could be slightly more comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apartamentos S Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos S Arenal

Address: Playa S"arenal | GrosCala, 07810 Portinatx, Sant Joan de Labritja, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Joan de Labritja > Portinatx
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Portinatx
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Apartamentos S Arenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos S Arenal Ibiza/Portinatx

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apartamentos S Arenal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.