We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“French gem in the heart of Scotlands whisky capital” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Faisanderie - CLOSED

La Faisanderie
2 Balvenie Street, Dufftown AB55 4AD, Scotland
+44 (0)1340 821273
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $72 - $72
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“French gem in the heart of Scotlands whisky capital”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Setting is fantastic; with a rustic internal look. Service was great; the young guy on shift was very pleasent and polite. The food was sublime; steak cooked to perfection and the oxtail was bursting with flavour. And you know you are in for a good meal when ALL the food served is seasoned properly (even the veg).

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    20
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Huntly, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Superbe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We have been in this wonderful little restaurant many times on celebration occasions. It is always a wonderful treat. Ambience, food and service all perfect French-Scottish mix. It can compete with many top stars.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Delicious dinner, excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

In such a tiny town we didn't expect such elegant service or refined food. We had a lovely meal and recommend it highly. The Taste of Scotland was an excellent value.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sodertalje, Sweden
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I had the 4 course menu starting with an appetizer and followed with scallops for starters, lamp racks for entree and a pear crumble for dessert. Accompanied by good wine it made a great dinner. The service was excellent. Some of my friends had the 3 course taste of Scotland which was miles better than the Speyside platter we had the day before at a restaurant down the street..

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Fantastique, one of the best meals myself and my husband have enjoyed and we are real foodies in all continents of the world. Service was perfect the waitress always appeared at the appropriate time. The food quality, taste and presentation were pure perfection. A must if in Dufftown and well worth making the effort to visit if not in Dufftown. The small restaurant was very inviting and relaxed. The smoked duck starter and the pear tartin with gingerbread icecream were sheer bliss and wow the main courses of venison for my husband and steak onglet for me again cooked to perfection. A true pleasure that was much enjoyed and we will definately be returning. WELL DONE

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Faisanderie also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Faisanderie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.