We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best indepth tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glenfiddich Distillery

Glenfiddich Distillery
Dufftown AB55 4DH, Scotland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 12 Attractions in Dufftown
Type: Breweries, Specialty Museums, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Glenfiddich, producer of the World's Most Awarded Single Malt Scotch Whisky, has developed a new tour programme for The Glenfiddich Distillery in Dufftown, Scotland. From January 2015, visitors will be able to choose from a tailored range of three paid-for tours, including an option to draw a dram straight from a cask in our oldest warehouse. The over-18s-only tours cater for all interests and budgets, from those looking for a unique behind the scenes distillery visit through to whisky enthusiasts seeking a fully immersive experience, and vary in duration from one and a half hours up to three and a half hours. Further details are below: 1. Explorer Tour (£10): a fully guided tour of the distillery and Warehouse 8, including a tutored tasting of four award winning drams. This replaces the complimentary tour. Draw Your own Dram (£25): those on the Explorer tour also have the opportunity to draw a 20cl bottle directly from a cask laid down more than 12 years ago and log it in Warehouse 1's logbook. Glenfiddich Solera Deconstructed (£35): a new hands-on, tailored experience with a full introduction to Glenfiddich's unique Solera system. Visitors can nose several samples and enjoy a tutored tasting of 4 cask strength 15 year old samples before recreating their very own version of Glenfiddich Solera. 2. New Pioneer (£95): a half-day immersive experience for whisky enthusiasts. This in-depth tour offers insight into the marrying process in Warehouse 6, and the opportunity to bottle a 20cl whisky from the Malt Master's personal selection of casks. Finally, guests enjoy a nosing and tasting masterclass in the Grant Family Home, featuring five Glenfiddich whiskies matched with appetisers. We are extremely proud of the fact that Glenfiddich is one of the few single malt distilleries to remain entirely family-owned today and all tours will continue to offer an unforgettable insight into our unique, family-run heritage. We look forward to welcoming guests to our distillery.
Useful Information: Stroller parking
Lillehammer
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Best indepth tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The guides are exelent and very knowledgeable. We took an Explorer tour. It cost a bit but was worth it. Took a few hours. Tasted five different samples and bottled a small sample at the end.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    456
    151
    21
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best Free Distillery Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Compared to other Free Distillery Tours this one by far has the most content.
Starting with an informative video presentation giving you the background of the distillery.
The guides are great very knowledgeable and enthusiastic. A good length of tour and the chance to taste three ages of Glenfiddich Malt at the end (12/15/18).

If you only go to one distillery make it this one!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The best distillery tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Most guidebooks tout Glenfiddich as the best distillery tour, and our experience did not disappoint. Enthusiastic, informative guide, and a tasting of three different whiskys at the end. And unlike most other distillery tours, this one is free!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
128 attraction reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“An excellent tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We visited Glenfiddich Distillery on a bright sunny day last spring. The free tour of the distillery was very interesting. Our guide was very passionate about both the process and the history behind the single malt production. She was also able to answer some tricky questions put to her by some rude Americans. At the end the tour we were invited into the visitors centre to try some generous samples of the 12, 15 and 18 year old single malts - still at no charge. Life doesn't get any better than this.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Just as expected!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Visiting what we believed to be the Mecca of Whisky was no surprise. The place was beautiful, we were taken through the entire process of whisky-making and treated to the 12/15/18 year old malt at the end of it all.

If you are a Glennfiddich or even if you'd like to take a tour of the brewery and the pretty surroundings, then this is definitely worth it.

Ps: Weird as it might sound, the women's restroom is quite nicely done!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glenfiddich Distillery also viewed

 

Been to Glenfiddich Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenfiddich Distillery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.