We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glenfiddich Distillery

Glenfiddich Distillery
Dufftown AB55 4DH, Scotland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 12 Attractions in Dufftown
Type: Breweries, Specialty Museums, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Glenfiddich, producer of the World's Most Awarded Single Malt Scotch Whisky, has developed a new tour programme for The Glenfiddich Distillery in Dufftown, Scotland. From January 2015, visitors will be able to choose from a tailored range of three paid-for tours, including an option to draw a dram straight from a cask in our oldest warehouse. The over-18s-only tours cater for all interests and budgets, from those looking for a unique behind the scenes distillery visit through to whisky enthusiasts seeking a fully immersive experience, and vary in duration from one and a half hours up to three and a half hours. Further details are below: 1. Explorer Tour (£10): a fully guided tour of the distillery and Warehouse 8, including a tutored tasting of four award winning drams. This replaces the complimentary tour. Draw Your own Dram (£25): those on the Explorer tour also have the opportunity to draw a 20cl bottle directly from a cask laid down more than 12 years ago and log it in Warehouse 1's logbook. Glenfiddich Solera Deconstructed (£35): a new hands-on, tailored experience with a full introduction to Glenfiddich's unique Solera system. Visitors can nose several samples and enjoy a tutored tasting of 4 cask strength 15 year old samples before recreating their very own version of Glenfiddich Solera. 2. New Pioneer (£95): a half-day immersive experience for whisky enthusiasts. This in-depth tour offers insight into the marrying process in Warehouse 6, and the opportunity to bottle a 20cl whisky from the Malt Master's personal selection of casks. Finally, guests enjoy a nosing and tasting masterclass in the Grant Family Home, featuring five Glenfiddich whiskies matched with appetisers. We are extremely proud of the fact that Glenfiddich is one of the few single malt distilleries to remain entirely family-owned today and all tours will continue to offer an unforgettable insight into our unique, family-run heritage. We look forward to welcoming guests to our distillery.
Useful Information: Stroller parking
Ballarat, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The tour Guide we had was simply fantastic. A young girl with dark hair. very relaxed and informative tour/

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    456
    151
    21
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Tour Worth Taking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We wandered in here while visiting Scottish friends on a cold snowy day. We took the tour, which is free. The tour was very good - great to see the process as it happens. Finished with a tasting of 3 whiskeys. Cant compare to other distilleries in the region but def worth a visit!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excelent place to visit - Free nice 1 hour tour with tasting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is a nice tour I recommend, where I always take the people that visit us. They offer a free guided tour around the facilities, ending with a tasting of three different types of Whisky (12-15-18 years).

The tour guides are really nice.
Definitely, recommended.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great whisky tour in the heart of whisky country”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I took the free tour and found it to be the best tour of a distillery/ brewery I have done. Very informative tour of the history, distillation and tasting of this beautiful drink. Very nice property it is too!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, Warks
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Excellent and informative tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Really enjoyed this relaxed and informative tour, very well ran and the tour guide was knowledgable and friendly. Ended with taster of three different whiskeys , also went to restaurant and had possible the best ploughmans I've ever had ! Brilliant !

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glenfiddich Distillery also viewed

 

Been to Glenfiddich Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenfiddich Distillery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.