We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tour of Distillery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glenfiddich Distillery

Glenfiddich Distillery
Dufftown AB55 4DH, Scotland
44(0)1340 820 373
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 12 Attractions in Dufftown
Type: Breweries, Specialty Museums, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Glenfiddich, producer of the World's Most Awarded Single Malt Scotch Whisky, has developed a new tour programme for The Glenfiddich Distillery in Dufftown, Scotland. From January 2015, visitors will be able to choose from a tailored range of three paid-for tours, including an option to draw a dram straight from a cask in our oldest warehouse. The over-18s-only tours cater for all interests and budgets, from those looking for a unique behind the scenes distillery visit through to whisky enthusiasts seeking a fully immersive experience, and vary in duration from one and a half hours up to three and a half hours. Further details are below: 1. Explorer Tour (£10): a fully guided tour of the distillery and Warehouse 8, including a tutored tasting of four award winning drams. Tours from 9.30Pm - 4.00Pm Draw Your own Dram (£25): those on the Explorer tour also have the opportunity to draw a 20cl bottle directly from a cask laid down more than 12 years ago and log it in Warehouse 1's logbook. Glenfiddich Solera Deconstructed (£35): a new hands-on, tailored experience with a full introduction to Glenfiddich's unique Solera system. Visitors can nose several samples and enjoy a tutored tasting of 4 cask strength 15 year old samples before recreating their very own version of Glenfiddich Solera. Two tours daily 2. New Pioneer (£95): a half-day immersive experience for whisky enthusiasts. This in-depth tour offers insight into the marrying process in Warehouse 6, and the opportunity to bottle a 20cl whisky from the Malt Master's personal selection of casks. Finally, guests enjoy a nosing and tasting masterclass in the Grant Family Home, featuring five Glenfiddich whiskies matched with appetisers. One daily tour. We are extremely proud of the fact that Glenfiddich is one of the few single malt distilleries to remain entirely family-owned today and all tours will continue to offer an unforgettable insight into our unique, family-run heritage. We look forward to welcoming guests to our distillery.
Useful Information: Stroller parking
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tour of Distillery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Excellent tour,,, very informative, put this on your list of places to visit while in the area, theres no charge for the tour, whiskey tasting at the end of the tour

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    480
    158
    22
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Must see for any true Scottish Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This free tour through the working Glenfiddich Distillery. The tour guide was a delite, very knowledgeable about the distillation process. The distillery allowed access to the entire distillation of whisky capped by a tasting of the 3 aged single malts of the distillery. Great afternoon -

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Free tour that's worth going on”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Great free tour that's worth doing if you have a spare hour. I came out with a higher opinion of Glenfiddich than when I went in (I'm a geek with over 20 distilleries visited). It's a very "romantic" view given of whisky / the distillery... don't forget it's a factory behind the scenes and not quite as traditional as they'd want you to believe! Fantastic to get 3 drams at the end of the tour, all free. Well done!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fifield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A great tour, all for free”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

The tour and whisky tasting is all free and the people are lovely. An absolutely enormous distillery in a great setting and in a lovely part of Scotland.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

We started with a meal in the restaurant which was very nice and they offered to make a smaller portion of sandwiches for the children. We then went on the tour which was quite informative and offered the usual information for a distillery tour. We were then offered the three nosings of the whiskey which was quite generous having paid in the past for only one sample. It was only very good (and sensible policy) that allowed us to take our children around so they could enjoy a trip and we could all go around together. All in all, a really good experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glenfiddich Distillery also viewed

 

Been to Glenfiddich Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenfiddich Distillery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.