We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great guide at balvenie, fantastic tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Balvenie Distillery

The Balvenie Distillery
Balvenie Maltings, Dufftown AB55 4BB, Scotland
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 attractions in Dufftown
Type: Tours
Attraction Details
Edinburgh
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great guide at balvenie, fantastic tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I loved this tour! David was a fantastic guide who really made the day for us. I would recommend this tour to everyone. It is absolutely value for money and we came away feeling a lot more knowledgable than when we went in. The tasting was great as was the opportunity to see the coopers at work and the maltings floor. All steeped in tradition. Thanks David!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    2
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Simply The Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Well worth the £25 for the long tour which includes all aspects of the whisky industry. David Mair was our host for the day who has a real passion for his place of work and the product. The taste sessions from the casks and back at the base where we nosed some specials. Were extra special. You can bottle your own bottle from the cask for £25 .. worth it. Forget all the free tours they are free for a reason and shell out. It's worth it.
Note They only accept pre booked tours.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“For the Scotch Lover”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

If you really want a class in scotch whiskey making this is the tour for you. Their guide is very well informed and loved to answer questions. It's tour is small and 3 hours long and you see every step of the process including barley malting floor and a cooperage where they make their own barrels. Truly wonderful tour and experience.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I highly enjoyed the Balvenie tour. Even though it's a bit more expensive than some other tours at nearby distilleries, the smaller group sizes (maximum of 8 people, only 3 on my tour) and getting to see a working malting floor and cooperage make it well worth it. The nosing and tasting session was also well done and quite informative.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Eliza, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“First class whisky tour - best in Scotland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We took their extended 3 hour tour and it was too short! David Mair, a Balvenie Ambassador, guided us through the distillery with a very relaxed, easy-going manner. As the distillery does some of it's own maltings as well as having a cooperage on-site it was the complete tour of whisky making. We visited over 20 distilleries and non matched this tour. A highlight was David pouring drams of 15-20 year old cask strength whisky into the palms of our hands to taste in the warehouse. Didn't wash my hands for a week (too much information?).
At the end of the tour we had a formal tasting of 5 whiskies, but as we had some serious whisky drinkers onboard David couldn't help himself and brought out a couple of 'specials' to try as well. Well worth the visit!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Balvenie Distillery also viewed

 

Been to The Balvenie Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Balvenie Distillery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Balvenie Distillery to your Saves list