We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rip off!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tannochbrae Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dufftown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tannochbrae Guest House
Save
You added Tannochbrae Guest House to your Saves list
22 Fife Street | Banffshire, Dufftown AB55 4AL, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 15 Dufftown B&B and Inns
Perthshire,Scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“rip off!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed here with another couple during a walk across Scotland. Not helpful that the front door was locked and we could not get in until just before 4pm - it was a very wet day and we were drenched and cold!

The hotel and rooms were clean - we had the 2 deluxe rooms. These were expensive for a B&B and we expected something special - disappointed. Whilst the bed was very comfortable and we all had a good night sleep - they were small doubles. The bath in one room was coloured and not white and had a very 70's feel about it. The other room had no bath. Whilst both rooms had tea making facilities, finding a plug and a safe place to use these was not easy.

We chose not to eat in the hotel due to the cost and the extra's although did have a few drinks - including some whisky from the bar. I would agree with previous comments that the prices are way too expensive and a rip off even for cheaper malts. £6.50 for a Dura malt which could be had in a pub for under £4.

Breakfast was Ok - although too many things on the menu again had additional costs beside them. I have never seen this in a B&B and it is so wrong - £4.50 extra for some haggis makes you wonder where he goes to catch it!!!!

Our total bill for our nights stay with a few rounds of drinks was around £250 - this for 2 rooms, 4 people and no dinner is in my opinion a rip off and we certainly will not be back or recommending it to any of our friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    18
    5
    5
    13
See reviews for
19
35
1
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herts, UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Together with two other whisky pilgrims we made a 2nd visit to Tannochbrae B&B.This time it was for 3 nights and the last one for 4 back in 2010.
We were expecting to be four people in two twins but unfortunately one of our party had to bow out of the trip a week before. We informed Allan as soon as we knew but he was unable to change the booking at this relatively late stage.
On check-out we again reminded them of the circumstances but he made no concessions at all - not reducing to single occupancy nor even a symbolic £5 per night reduction to reflect an untaken breakfast. This left a somewhat sour taste on top of the overall feeling of "that'll be extra" at many other opportunities (as noted by many other reviewers).

The product / rooms are now looking dated and in need of some refreshing.

Susie provides good quality, locally sourced food from a varied menu. However there a large number of items (both for dinner and breakfast) carrying a supplemental charge to the set menu price which is already near the top end for value.

The whisky bar at the rear is a good place to relax and meet up, pre or after dinner, with other enthusiasts, but again, pricing system is confusing with a multicoloured dot system and generally are on the high side.

We know that this is "business" but sometimes a little more give and less take would create a better feeling and encourage us to not look at alternatives next time we are in the area. 

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oswestry
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Hotel clean room a bit small quiet couldnt check in till 4pm so lost some of first day.Didnt use restaurant or whiskey bar seemed expensive really only interested in Canadian visitors and others from overseas Every where else on our tour haggis came as standard but they were charging £4.50 extra and I bought a whole one from local butcher for less

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Allan has a Whiskey bar to rival any pub in the area. 350 whiskey's to choose from and that's only the stuff on the shelf! (More in storage) Susie was an amazing cook and even opened the restaurant for us a few days early since it was slim pickings for food in town. We staying two days and had a wonderful, comfortable visit. I would recommend this B&B to anyone in staying in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Inn for a week in June and had a wonderful time. Our host was most gracious and went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. Our host invited to enjoy a dram with him in the whiskey room and we had a marvelous time learning about the region and the history. He also recommended two wonderful restaurants for dinner which we enjoyed immensely. The room was quite large with a wonderfully large bathroom. We found breakfast each morning to be more than ample and delicious to boot! We are looking forward to going back to Scotland and staying at the inn again and again. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone who wants a wonderful experience, great food, wonderful hosts, and generous room sizes.

Room Tip: The room at the top of the stairs to the left was amazing. Lots of room and privacy and extremely q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We had a good stay at Tannochbrae. The menu was a bit pricey, but the food was good. We came in from the US, and they responded quickly to any questions we had prior to our stay which one would think is standard but we found that isn't always the case. Alan and Susie responded quickly and that was appreciated. Thanks again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronshoej, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We spent a week at Tannochbrae, and had the pleasure of experiencing the hospitality. Very nice rooms, comfortable beds, excellent choice of breakfasts, and top cuisine in the evening. Rounding the evening off in the whisky bar turns a great day into pefection.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tannochbrae Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tannochbrae Guest House

Address: 22 Fife Street | Banffshire, Dufftown AB55 4AL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Dufftown
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Dufftown
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Tannochbrae Guest House Dufftown, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tannochbrae Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.