We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good .. super location.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mutiara Taman Negara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mutiara Taman Negara to your Saves list
Mutiara Taman Negara
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kuala Tahan 27000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kuala Tahan
Limburg
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Pretty good .. super location.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

The accommodation you've got to decribe as 'cute' or 'charming'...
In many respects a bit tired .. ours had a pretty good leak in the bedroom during the heavy rains. However we still enjoyed our stay. The main plus point here is location location location.
When you go to eat, it's on the floating restaurants on the other side of the river .. 1 ringet p.p. in the watertaxi. You get great food there in a lovely atmosphere for almost NOTHING ....
I read earlier comments about the poor service by the girls in the restaurant at Mutiara .. but this has definitely CHANGED. We found the girls very attent and helpful; nothing like the earlier comments. We only used the restaurant for breakfast but can only assume this would be the same the rest of the day.
The accommodation at Mutiara is definitely overpriced but if you want to stay in the area, there isn't a heck of a lot of choice if you're not a back-packer. The standard price isn't real; only JUST acceptable if booked via Agoda at discount prices.

Room Tip: Book via Agoda !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    238
    117
    58
    28
See reviews for
132
264
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Mutiara Taman Negara for two nights as part of a tour of Malaysia. This was our first taste of real Malaysia (our first night was in KL) and it was a great introduction.
It began with the trip up the river from Kuala Tembeling in a canoe. My first reaction was "OK, so how does our heavy luggage get there?" The answer was simple, it goes in the canoe, no problem. It was a pretty large canoe with a big outboard and about twenty on board. The journey upriver was a great way to see the rainforest and the surrounding country.
We arrived to hear the staff singing a welcome.
The chalet village is very pretty. Our chalet was comfortable but the decor was a little tired. The bathroom didn't have a hot tap but so what? We were in the jungle!
The activities were excellent; we did the night jungle walk the day we arrived, went jungle trekking the following morning and had a trip up the Tahan River (in a small canoe!) that afternoon. The guides were very friendly and knowledgeable and were able to tell us all we wanted to know about the rainforest, trees and wildlife. The wildlife was everywhere including under our chalet at night - which all added to the sense of adventure!
We ate at the Mutiara Restaurant every day and we found the food and the service were very good.
It was all a great experience.

Room Tip: Watch the monkeys in the trees as you eat dinner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korea
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

My friend and I booked a tour package to Taman Negara and decided on the AC dorm room for accomodations. Multiara Resorts is right on the border of Taman Negara. The line is basically indiscernable. Because we booked it as a package, I'm not sure how much the beds actually cost. The room was pretty basic but it did include sheets, a blanket, a towel, and a locking armoire. The shower/bathroom facilities were shared (separated by male/female, as I think the rooms were). They were clean (for a shared bathroom in a hostel) and the toilet paper was regularly restocked. The showers only had cold water, but with the heat and humidity, it wasn't a big deal. We did not eat at their restaurant nor book the tours through Multiara. The tours seemed way overpriced (~20-50% more than the ones through Mama Chop across the river). I'm not sure what the regular bungalows were like, but based on our experience at the hostel, it was myeh. It wasn't horrible, so I'll give it a thumbs up.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

Luxurious, very clean and very comfortable chalets, excellent food, all you can eat buffet. If you book this resort as a package, you will get a very knowledgeable tour guide who knows everything about the forest. We loved that, he was so friendly and nice.
But!: too many people! It is like a village of tourists. There were at least 200 people. It is also very expensive. And across the river there were fireworks at night. In the middle of the jungle! What a nonsense, it sure scared away all the animals. So honestly, we did not like this place but mainly because of the crowd of tourists. If you need luxury in the jungle, you should definitely come here, but if you prefer a remote peaceful place search for it somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

Most people who visit Kuala Tahan stay in the B&Bs or hostels on the village's side of the river. However, if you fancy a bit higher level of comfort, then Mutiara Taman Negara is one of the few options available. Although the atmosphere may is not be so "close to the nature" as with the more modest accommondations on the other side of the river, the hotel is of ok quality, especially when thinking that it located in the middle of nowhere. We had a basic room which was our own bungalow with Western shower facilities and air conditioning. The meals were included in the hotel package and we were satisfied with the breakfasts and dinners. The biggest minus is the location on the other side of the river - if you wish e.g. to go for a drink in the evening, it can be a bit of a fuss getting a water taxi there and back. Be aware that the price of the hotel is considerably more than that of the hostels in the village.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

My husband and I and our college age daughter and her boyfriend, who are both studying biology/zoology stayed in this hotel for three days. We saw an incredible variety of life, even just on a dusk walk around the perimeter of the hotel. The Canopy walk was so long that I got over the scary height of it and actually looked around.

The hotel is as pleasant as one can make it in the rain forest. It is probably impossible to keep clean and in good repair; there is just too much mud and too many things that will happily eat a wooden building. The staff is friendly and try to be helpful, but they are not well trained. The young couple had bathrobes, but we didn't. We had a remote control to the A/C and they didn't. The roof of their shower leaked.

That said, it was a great relief to be able to come back for a day in the forest, clean ourselves, be in a clean room and eat a cooked meal. There are a lot of little hotels and hostels across the river, some as inexpensive as 10 /(ten) MYR a night, and I don't think one would ever get that clean, escaped feeling there.

The hotel food is quite decent, especially the large, varied breakfast and the Malaysian dinner from the a la carte menu. It is expensive by Malaysian standards. You can take a boat across the river to one of the other restaurants for one MYR and eat just about as well and much more inexpensively.

The Internet connection was a disappointment; oen working computer with viruses on a very very slow link. But it did work.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

Chalets as room, the jungle as garden, good food, interesting trekking and activities

Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mutiara Taman Negara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mutiara Taman Negara

Address: Kuala Tahan 27000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Jerantut District > Kuala Tahan
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kuala Tahan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mutiara Taman Negara 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mutiara Taman Negara Resort, PahangDiscover the wonders of an ancient forest at Mutiara Taman Negara. Pitch tent or check-into this forest reserve and bask in the natural surroundings of the Taman Negara park. Mutiara Taman Negara, an eco-tourism Resort that offers a variety of accommodation types promises guests this unique experience with basic amenities and sufficient modern comforts. A virgin jungle expanse covering 4,343 square kilometres, Taman Negara was established in 1939 and is the largest park in peninsular Malaysia reputed to be The Best Kept Tropical Rainforest, thanks to its protected status. With minimal damage to this special ecosystem, Mutiara Taman Negara is dimly lit to avoid scaring off wildlife and conserves energy. Everything used is biodegradable and all the wooden chalet interiors are made of natural produce. Guests at Mutiara Taman Negara will wake to the drone of cicadas, the chirping of bird species new to them and a myriad of other unfamiliar sounds that form a consistent cacophony unique to rainforests. You will begin their adventure at your door step or veranda which makes a perfect perch especially for nocturnal sightings. Sighting wildlife outside the chalet is a norm and the fruit season attracts the most number of wildlife, from the mischievous long tailed macaques, the beautiful chestnut-breasted malkoha and the thorny porcupine to the gentle slow loris. The ancient life forms that blanket Taman Negara are impressive and during each visit, Mutiara Taman Negara gives its visitors the opportunity to glimpse at the flora and fauna species estimated at 10,000 plants, 150,000 insects, 25,000 invertebrates, 675 birds, 270 reptiles, 250 freshwater fish and 200 mammals. Some of the flora and fauna found in Taman Negara are rare or indigenous to this country. If you are not travelling with a group, you can plan your trip to Mutiara Taman Negara well before you arrive or enlist the help of guides at the Park Centre. Things to do at Mutiara Taman Negara include river cruises, guided walks, bird watching, fishing, swimming by waterfalls and night safaris. The world’s longest suspended canopy walk is the most popular activity in this rainforest and you have to be prepared to queue for a while. Secured 40 metres above the forest floor, visitors have a good vantage point from here and if lucky, you can sight some curious animals. The only people who are allowed to hunt and forage are its original inhabitants, the Orang Asli people who still live a nomadic lifestyle. They farm, fish and hunt in the park and nowadays play host to curious visitors armed with flashy cameras. The women may shy away but the men folk can put on a show with some advance notice. Travelling to Mutiara Taman Negara, guests can either do the four hour scenic drive down or board a coach from a designated location in Kuala Lumpur for a 3 hour drive down followed by a 3 hour boat trip down river ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA and Odigeo so you can book your Mutiara Taman Negara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mutiara Taman Negara Hotel Kuala Tahan
Mutiara Taman Negara Jerantut
Mutiara Taman Negara Hotel Jerantut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mutiara Taman Negara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.