We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic but friendly staff and near the woods” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mat Leon Village

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kuala Tahan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mat Leon Village
Save
You added Mat Leon Village to your Saves list
Taman Negara, Kuala Tahan 27000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very basic but friendly staff and near the woods”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

1. We stayed at the basic chalet with adjoining toilet with a large queen bed and a double Decker.Costs RM5o per day. The chalet was dry, clean but very basic. The toilet may not be palatable to Westerners and city dwellers but it does flush properly and with cold shower. Blankets and towels provided. Never mind there is no AC as its very cold at night due to the jungle climate.

2.Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. We arrived at K.Tahan at 6am and the Mat Leon owner picked us up without complain. In the morning the owner or his family members also provide free boat ride to the jetty until 845am, later than that depends if the 4WD is available, but you can still walk to the jetty at 10-15 minutes. The walk will go through an orchard and a road with other chalets and village houses. The villagers are very helpful to point out directions. We notcied many Westerners stay at these remote chalets and seem to enjoy the walk.

3.As for other services, the canteen serves decent food and you can order hot local food and drinks at reasonable price. To sum up its a very laid back place and very basic but its nearer to the jungle which IMO is better than the sleazy K.Tahan Town and touristry resorts. We spent our time up the river and hiking most of the day and we had no problems resting our tired bodies at MatLeon.

4.In conclusiom, its a basic place to sleep and stay at a budget. I enjoyed the remote location.

P.S: Bring a torch light or two as at night its pitch black if you plan to walk between the jetty and MatLeon.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    21
    3
    2
    5
See reviews for
4
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, UK
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Before we checked out, I was ready to give this place an average 3 star review. The place is basic, as expected but perfectly adequate for a couple of nights sleep.

Location is about a 15 minute walk from the main town, nice and isolated in the jungle right on the riverbank. Our 4 bed dorm was ok, beds creaky and mattresses a bit too soft, but it is the jungle! Bathrooms were nice enough, showers were powerful but very, very cold! Fine after a long trek but a bit of a shock first thing in the morning.

What let the place down however was the customer service, or complete lack of it. When we arrived we were greeted with the most disinterested woman ever. Barely a grunt was made and a smile was no where to be seen, she just about managed to tell us our room number and give us our key before walking off. No other communication whatsoever, normally I expect a quick run down of the facilities at the very least.

Both mornings we were woken by a crying baby and then screaming children before 7am, not quite the jungle sounds we were hoping for but given its a family place, forgivable i guess. The blankets/sheets we were given were very tatty towels, too small to cover you in bed.

But the thing that really brought this down to a 1 star review was the rudeness and disrespect of someone, who I think was the owner. We checked out and went to pay our bill, 15RM per night (most others are 10RM so a little on the expensive side considering the facilities) and we were asked to pay an extra 10RM each for the 'self-service breakfast' we had both mornings that we thought was part of the price!

The breakfast consisted of toast, butter etc and tea/coffee, very basic but we thought it was nice that it was included and was enough to start the day with. Nowhere did it state that there was a charge for breakfast, or so we thought until the disinterested lady pointed out one small line on an A4 sheet of paper at the bottom of a notice board on the floor!! Maybe if their communication had been better to begin with we would have known this, at the very least a clearer sign by the breakfast is certainly needed!

We then tried to reason with them, calmly and politely that there was nowhere saying they charged 5RM for breakfast and after they pointed it out, that it wasn't clear or obvious at all. The lady called a man over for us, we told him our problem and all he said was 'I will call the police', initially I thought he was joking, so continued to try to reason with him, he then got out his phone and repeated his threat, not even attempting to converse or reason with us. His words were "I'm tired, I don't care..!" In the end we begrudgingly paid the full amount an left.

An absolutely disgraceful way to deal with what was a minor problem, and a terrible way to treat your paying customers!! We've been travelling Asia for 4 months now and have never met anyone so rude and aggressive. There are plenty of other (cheaper and probably nicer) guesthouses a to choose from, don't stay here!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuala Tahan hotels

Paris
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We came to the Mat Leon Village a few days ago. As the pictures present it, the place it's ROOTS but the atmosphere is really amazing. The two brothers with their families host you in their world.
They are very kind and flexible, always on time, very organized and mostly very PROFESSIONAL (for example, we borrowed them their motorcycle to go in the village at 2 minutes away and we also went for fishing with one of the brothers and his kids for the whole afternoon after our arrival : Unforgettable experience ! )
Concerning the room, we had an A/C chalet with private bathroom. Ok it's not a 5* accommodation but you definitely know it when you book a guesthouse.
We are both working in the tourism industry and we can tell you that this is perfect considering what you are here for.
For us it's the place to be, much better than staying in Kuala Tahan (no interest)

Room Tip: we recomand you to choose : - Chalet with fan or with A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Mat Leon three nights with my family ( children 5 and 7).
We stayed in one of the basic chalets for 80 RM. but AC rooms are available. We thoroughly envoyed the secluded feeling, jungle sounds all night through and the river view.
The Food at the restaurant was far better than at the Floating restaurants.
Mat picked us up by car in the Day we arrived and sailed us in every morning. The town itself offers nothing of interest.
Fine selection of tours at his place. Can recommend the canopy Walk and rapid shooting.
Would definately recommend this place!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

While looking for a place to stay, I looked out for two basic criteria: cleanliness and price. We got both, even in the cheapest room with only a fan and no hot water. It was perfect for us, because the night was cool enough for us to do without air conditioning, and the price was very affordable. We generally didn't find insects in the room (except one lost spider in the bathroom, haha) and the room was very clean. Sleeping at night amongst the jungle sounds was a very unique experience.

The meals cooked by Mat Leon's wife were absolutely delish, and Mat Leon's family (who run the place) was very personable and friendly. We got to just sit around at night at the restaurant (no shoes in the restaurant! Kampung style (:) We liked the crowd who stayed at the chalet -- a large group of Malaysian school principals and teachers stayed there on the second night we were there. Very family feel. It felt quite safe for us (a small group of ladies) to stay there.

Distance from the entrance of the park was an issue we considered while picking a place to stay. In fact, we were concerned right up to the moment we reached the chalet by boat that we were basically in the middle of nowhere. Nevertheless, it was not a problem at all, because Mat Leon simply sent us by car to the river bank near the entrance, where we took a 1RM boat across to reach the entrance of Taman Negara (:

All in all, I would definitely come back to Mat Leon chalet if I return to Taman Negara.

Last thing, there's definitely no wifi here. It's in the middle of the jungle now come on. =P We relied on a roaming mobile phone data connection and tethered it as a hotspot at a later location.

Room Tip: Make sure the netting lining the top of the dorms are fully intact so insects don't come in. Mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We read a review of this place before we booked and it sounded like Mat Leon did wonderful meals and was really helpful to travelers and would also help with arranging tours etc. Unfortunately this was not the reality that we found! In fact we never even met Mat Leon until we were leaving the place to move on!! When we asked about tours the guy seemed to just shrug his shoulders so we just went through the main guy who you get dropped off at Mama Chop's restaurant!

The grounds of this hostel were nice in that it was set in a big outdoor space and away from the rest of the hostels, which was more of the rainforest experience of Taman Negara! However, it did cause us some issues when the promised transfers to where we needed to get to each night for eating/activities we actually had to walk ourselves, which was ok during the day, not so great at night!! Thank god they lent us a torch! Bonus was hearing the many toads croaking away in the dark, wouldn't have liked to do that walk on my own there though so if you're a solo traveler maybe don't stay here!

I stayed in a 4 bed female dorm and it was very basic and pretty rough around the edges, but the beds were actually comfortable enough. You run the risk of sharing your shower with a leech if you stay here because the showers and toilets are outside and that's just what you get in the humid rainforest. It was difficult having cold showers there despite the humidity and luxury it ain't! The most disappointing thing about this place was the staff and how unfriendly and unforthcoming they seemed to be when we arrived. By the end of our stay (2 nights) we managed to get a bit more of a response, but it just felt like they weren't bothered if you were there or not, which seemed odd considering it is their business!

I enjoyed my stay overall but that's because we were 4 girls all together making the most of 'roughing it' for a few days and we appreciated it was in the rainforest. Just would have made a big difference if the staff were more friendly and welcoming and the place wasn't as shabby.

It is very cheap though, just 20RM per night so that's a bargainous £4!

Room Tip: Think from the reviews the chalet rooms would be better, but we never got to see them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubon Ratchathani, Thailand
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

I stayed in one of the basic chalets and it was great--large and clean. Food at the restaurant was excellent. I took the two-day jungle trek with overnight in a cave. I was lucky and was able to join a group that had booked the tour. The guide was very good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mat Leon Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mat Leon Village

Address: Taman Negara, Kuala Tahan 27000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Jerantut District > Kuala Tahan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Kuala Tahan
Number of rooms: 20

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mat Leon Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.