We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but a few niggles” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Celini Suites Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marmari
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Celini Suites Hotel
Save
You added Celini Suites Hotel to your Saves list
| Ano Figias, Marmari, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Marmari
London, UK
Top Contributor
295 reviews 295 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
510 helpful votes 510 helpful votes
“Nice but a few niggles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

We stayed for a week at Celini Suites right at the beginning of the season. To get to Evia the options are either the ferry from Rafina, which seems to operate at rather inconvenient times during weekdays, or driving from Athens via the new suspension bridge at Haldiki, which takes 3 hours on a good day, and includes a mixture of new motorway and old, pothole-inflicted roads.

According to Dimitra, the owners' daughter, the hotel changed hands recently and the new owners have been busy updating the decor of the rooms and improving other features. Unfortunately, workmen were much in evidence throughout our stay.

Reception leads through to a comfortable lounge area and the dining room with additional tables outside on the terrace. The infinity pool is a good size, although a bit too cool to use early in May. A small number of sun loungers are provided but many guests would probably make their way to a beach.

The rooms are well laid out on three levels, ensuring that there's plenty of privacy. We were at the end of a lower terrace, giving peace and quiet plus a wonderful view. The room was functional rather than luxurious, and in reality, a studio rather than a suite, but included plenty of hanging space around the bed, a basic kitchenette area, a small shower (handheld, unfortunately) room and a limited sitting area with a single sofabed. Air-con and a flatscreen TV are in every room, and a wi-fi connection is available around the pool area.

The hotel now offers all meals rather than just breakfast, which is sensible as the nearest taverna is at Figa beach, a 5 minute drive or a long walk. Judging by the meals we had during the week, the hotel could develop quite a reputation for its food. Highlights included an excellent vegetarian risotto with black rice and feta, a delicious green salad with parmesan and strawberries, and a grilled vegetable stack with halloumi. But we could envisage the domestic-sized kitchen and inexperienced staff struggling to cope with more than a handful of guests. Also, prices for food and drinks weren't made explicit as there was no menu or wne list yet. Breakfast is an extra 12 euro per person, which seems a bit expensive for a standard continental buffet, although that included homemade jams and freshly-squeezed orange juice.

One option is to self-cater, but given the limitations of the kitchenette (four small plates, four large plates, two cups and saucers, a handful of cutlery, two pans and an electric double ring), preparing even a simple meal would be somewhat masochistic. And the lack of coffee/tea making facilities and supplies is surprising.

Food wise, apart from the hotel itself, one place shone amidst rather typical taverna fare in and around Marmari: a new restaurant called 'Akrogiali', which was opened mid April by a couple of Athenians, and is situated at the end of the Marmari bay opposite where the ferries arrive. The decor is clean and simple but with a quirky touch, such as colanders, graters and the like being used for light fittings. The food is authentically Greek but with modern touches to bring it up to date.

So, overall, Celini was a delightful place to stay but there were a few niggles which need addressing and perhaps should have been anticipated before reopening. As it stands at present, we'd give it a 'very good' rating; with more attention to detail, it would be 'excellent'.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

the hotel is located few kilometers from the marmari town but the wind is coming from the mountain and it was cool. we never switched on the air conditioning. the service is top. the breakfast is great.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles Area
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

We just returned from our five night stay at Celini Suites and it was even better than the reviews we had read on Trip Advisor! This was our fourth trip to Greece and our first to Evia which was easy to get to by ferry from Rafina (38 Euro for car and two persons).. It is a truly beautiful and varied island and well-worth visiting. The hotel is really more like a private home or B&B with guest cottages, all with amazing views of the bay.

Vasso, the owner and designer of Celini Suties, made sure everybody felt like extended family and Ms. Vivie is a fabulous cook and baker. Included with the room price were great Greek breakfasts with filtered coffee (expresso is extra, but worth it!) and Ms. Vivie's homemade breads, cakes and jams were a treat. Lunch and dinner are available (no menus, just ask) and delicious, as well. There is free wireless Wi-Fi in the pool and dining area and a desktop PC available. The majority of guests were Greek families, with some visitors from France, Germany and Italy; we were the only Americans. The staff keeps the place immaculately clean and the pool is to die for. Most times we had the pool all to ourselves. It doesn't get better than this if you're looking for a quiet, relaxing vacation.

Mamari is a lovely, small village and we took day trips to the Aegean side of the island to secluded and spectacular beaches. There are wonderful tavernas in Mamari and in the small villages on the roads to the beaches. The closet beaches are just down the hillside about 5 minutes away, but a better and more secluded beach area is only about a ten minute drive south of town.

My wife and I are already looking forward to returning to Celini next year. Opa!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2010

We had a fantastic time in Celine. Nice room - beautifull view - nice pool - friendly staff -
good breakfast - great service - wunderfull design furniture.
Very relaxed. The only problem is that after Celine all other hotels are very poor!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

staying at celini suites hotel fullfilled me with a great amount of relaxation and pleisure!! i would suggest it for a few days vacation if you wish to relax!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

we had a great time last year enjoying a peaceful place, Celini hotel.
Evia is near Athens and the island is not touristic; nevertheless the nature is great.
Celini hotel is a top quality hotel to relax and enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

Celini with its incredible view was something different.I was impressed by the cleanιng and the breakfast.We were two couples(one with a baby).Our rooms had perfect view (i think all of them have the same view)at the sea and when the atmosphere was clean,we could see till Athens!But the best was this view while swimming in its pool..also very quiet and relaxing with very kind staff

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Celini Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celini Suites Hotel

Address: | Ano Figias, Marmari, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Greece > Euboea Region > Marmari
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Marmari
Number of rooms: 10

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Celini Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.