We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Staff Service a Toss up” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Atlantic Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Atlantic Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   cnr Commaille Road & 13th Ave, Melkbosstrand 7441, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Melkbosstrand
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Location, Staff Service a Toss up”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

I stayed in the hotel for one night in February with my mom. The room was clean, spacious and had a wonderful view of the ocean. We had dinner in the hotel which was really really good, as well as the service from our waiter (cant remember his name). There was a full bathroom with great fittings, a fridge and an amazing coffee machine.

After a great dinner that night we were really looking forward to breakfast..Well, were we mistaken. First of all, we were never offered coffee or tea, the waiter had to go into the kitchen to actually see what they serve and then we were told that there was only one breakfast available. There was a buffet that was obviously put out for the conference guests, but it was dry/no existent. My mom ordered a breakfast with scramble egg which they just dished up off the old buffet - I think it could have bounced if you dropped it on the floor, and my fried eggs were so raw you could see the plate through the white. They then started clearing the tables around us, banging all the crockery/cutlery and chatting as if we weren't even sitting there.

On checking out, the reception was full of the waiters crowding around the reception desk. Once they had finished messing around, the receptionist didn't even acknowledge that we were standing in front of them for at least 10 - 15 minutes. Once they did, there was no apology, no happiness or smiles, it was like they had a gun to their heads to even just speak to their guests. It was so disappointing that because of this morning, I only gave it 3 stars, which is a shame. I would have got a friendly receptionist in a backpacker for a quarter of the price. The lady standing with her (I think was a manager) didn't even look up to greet us.

I am in the industry, so maybe I am fussy, but for the price we paid I expected a lot more.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    15
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
1
11
Solo
0
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Springs, South Africa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

We stayed over at the Atlantic Beach Hotel in Melkbosstrand on 21 February 2012. What a pleasant hotel. The room was spacious and mod. With a view. We found the hotel very clean and well looked after. Staff was helpful and well trained. Under cover parking was a plus. Close enough to the beach and restaurants. Great breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

We stayed 4 nights and were very well looked after. We found all staff helpful, pleasant and thoroughly honest. Breakfast was good and the evening bar was nice enough if a little short of people. Nearby are several beach restaurants all in a safe area for walking to and from. When we return on business next year we will have no worries and look forward to our stay again. We met several other guests and all were quite happy and we heard no complaints at all. Don't think I would stay here if I needed Cape Town city - it's too far out.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms face the sea and are mini-suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

We recently had a work function at the Atlantic Beach Hotel in Melkbosstrand and we had an absolute ball of a time. Friendly and helpful staff, fantastic food and great ambience! Would highly recommend this place to anyone who is looking for good value for money!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

Do not visit this establishment if you expect good service and honesty in your dealings with the staff. However, if you don't mind paying for poor service and inattentive staff, then this is the place to be!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

Lovely hotel with great views of Table Mountain. About 30 minutes from Cape Town so probably best suited to those who have stayed in Cape Town before.Easy access to City. Right on lovely beaches and good golf courses nearby.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melkbosstrand
Restaurant, Bea...
Show More
7.2 mi away
Dolphin Beach Hotel
Dolphin Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Table View
4.0 of 5 stars 40 reviews
Free Parking, R...
Show More
11.7 mi away
Lagoon Beach Hotel & Apartments
Business, Room...
Show More
14.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
15.9 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 303 reviews
Beach, Pool, Fr...
Show More
13.2 mi away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#38 of 101 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 100 reviews
Independent Hot...
Show More
6.9 mi away
Aquarius Luxury Suites
Aquarius Luxury Suites
#2 of 6 in Bloubergstrand
4.0 of 5 stars 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Beach Hotel

Address: cnr Commaille Road & 13th Ave, Melkbosstrand 7441, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Melkbosstrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Melkbosstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantic Beach Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Atlantic Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Beach Hotel Melkbosstrand, Cape Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.