We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive for what you get” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Tour Cocooning Gastronomie Hotel Chatillon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Tour Cocooning Gastronomie Hotel Chatillon to your Saves list
La Tour Cocooning Gastronomie Hotel Chatillon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Place de la Republique, 01400 Chatillon-sur-Chalaronne, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Hoorn, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Too expensive for what you get”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

La Tour is strange hotel. They present themselves as the perfect place to get out for a while. In fact the rooms are quite poor, so are the showers, breakfast and opening hours. The hotel doesn't have a proper restaurant or bar. The reception is no populated after 10 PM, to get in you need a key.
The village of Chatillon is nice, with some decent restaurants.

The rates of this hotel are much too high for what you get. They must be very glad that Chatillon doesn't offer a real good hotel, because that would put them out of business. I did stay in som B&B's in Chatillon, which offered the same quality, but at half the cost. I would recommend to stay there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    23
    16
    11
    5
See reviews for
10
52
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vevey, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Unfortunately I was running late so didn't arrive by 8pm as I'd intended. Nor did i phone to change my eta. However the manager called around 10pm to inquire as to my whereabouts. He said he'd wait up and I was at the hotel by 10.45. After parking on the street in front of the hotel I was told the main building was full and that I'd been allocated a room in the annex, about a 10 min walk away but also about 10 min by car once you've found your way around the town's one-way system and got into the private car park using a code. A second code and small map gives access and directions to the building proper and you then find your room key in the rack above the unmanned reception desk. All a bit too much hassle and impersonal I feel for €127 per night. My room was by a noisy through-road. Breakfast is served back in the main building and costs an extra €10. Breakfast itself is good but you sit in the cramped reception area with hardly room to put your bag down, such is the clutter around - albeit very 'cute' clutter and no doubt part of a grand design, but I felt uncomfortable. The manager was already back on duty and friendly enough but I did not get a greeting from the manageress.
I've stayed here once before about four years ago but I am unlikely to return - though if I have to, I'll insist on a room in the main building and have breakfast in my room.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building. Avoid the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haute Savoie
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

We stayed here one night with some friends and our small children. Our room was large, recently decorated with a large bathroom (no bath), warm and quiet. The food in the restaurant was very good, though presentation of all the dishes would have been significantly improved by investment in some new crockery. I felt breakfast was expensive just for some mediocre coffee and a couple of mini croissants. Overall we enjoyed our stay but I did feel it was maybe a little overpriced.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

When arriving at the hotel, we were impressed by the nice outside looks and the decoration in the common areas. However, our room was rather average, not too large, and with a clearly dated bathroom and rather lukewarm radiators. We found the dinner rather heavy and overpriced. The continental breakfast was nicely presented, yet with limited choice. On balance, it did not quite live up to our expectations.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

We recently spent one night at La Tour and can understand why it's not everyone's cup of tea. But we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

La Tour seems to be the labor of love for a young couple, chef and wife, who do everything. They are very charming; the wife greeted us at dinner and explained the menu (we had a package of room, dinner with wine, and breakfast), helped us select a wine. She couldn't have been warmer even with some language difficulties (my poor French and her limited English). Later, she brought over her husband, the chef, so we could chat about their upcoming trip to California (where we are from).

The hotel is very unusual -- the entry area is filled with sculptures, pottery, candles etc. that is also all for sale. The dining room and a glassed-in area (where we had breakfast) are filled with these items, plants, unusual artwork....just a wild but I think attractive collection, like being in an art gallery or upscale home decor boutique. Our room was a bit small but not extremely so; they managed to fit in 2 chairs and a desk without blocking traffic. The bathroom was very good sized with modern fixtures. We had one tall window (double-paned, facing the street, so it was quiet) and one French door that led to a patio area (one would need to be careful about keeping it closed if the meeting room was being used). But the real issue is the decor -- you have to be in the mood for kind of an ultra-modern experience -- and dark. The walls were painted a washed lavender/gray, the floor was black (as was the stone sink the bath) the window treatments were beige or black linen. It's not for everyone, but we enjoyed it after so many nights of traditional French wallpaper and upholstery. (Nice flat screen TV but only French stations)

Dinner was absolutely delicious, served with great style and flair (dishes, glasses etc) and exceptionally good -- a complimentary cocktail, a foie gras pate with special breads, roast quail with potatoes gratin, and a choice of gorgeous desserts.

Breakfast was beautifully served, although it might be nice to include something beyond the juice, coffee and breads. Just a little yogurt or a fruit might have been a nice addition.

Do not miss a stroll around the old part of Chatillon, which is just around the corner from the hotel. It is charming, historic and beautiful including an old church, ancient covered market area, and flower filled bridge over a stream. A really delightful town plus a unique hotel experience if you are willing to step outside the typical French small town hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dijon, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

Tested 3 rooms at the 1st and 3rd floors during 2 weeks.
Very bad beds, only a continental breakfast is available (2 pieces of bread, orange juice, coffee or tea). The water temperature in the shower is not consistant (varies with other guest usage) by the way it is a good way to wake up.
When you switch off the light all power supply plugs are switched off so I used the shaver power supply plug in the bathroom to charge my laptop during the night...
Reception is close between 8:30pm to 6:30am
Need to ask to have additional shower gel (replacement seems not automatic).
As a resume, it could be a 2 star class hotel, not a 3 star class.
positive item: the hotel has a free WiFi Internet connection

Room Tip: 1st floor seems better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chatillon-sur-Chalaronne hotels

paris, france
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

Far from any sightseeing
Rooms small and very noisy bad soundtrack proofing ver expensive for value

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Tour Cocooning Gastronomie Hotel Chatillon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tour Cocooning Gastronomie Hotel Chatillon

Address: Place de la Republique, 01400 Chatillon-sur-Chalaronne, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Ain > Chatillon-sur-Chalaronne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chatillon-sur-Chalaronne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Tour Cocooning Gastronomie Hotel Chatillon 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Tour Cocooning Gastronomie Hotel Chatillon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Tour Cocooning Gastronomie Hotel Chatillon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.