We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Petit Chou

Save Saved
You added Le Petit Chou to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Petit Chou
4 Place de la Republique, 12140 Entraygues-sur-Truyere, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Herent, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Splendid place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Thanks again Nigel and Bindy. Our plan was to stay two nights in Entraygues, but we were so charmed by our room (Olive) that we decided to stay four nights. Nigel and Bindy and their team are very warm and helpful people, they recommended some good restaurants and beauful places to visit.
Breakfast is excellent (you can even eat a scandinavian breakfast), and we loved the tapas bar.
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Olive has a marvelous bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

My husband and I wanted to explore this beautiful region of France, and Le Petit Chou was the perfect place to stay while doing so. We really enjoyed having the room with the balcony that overlooked the street; the hardwood floors and furniture are lovely!
Bindy and her staff are all very warm and friendly, and they also make excellent food. The breakfast downstairs was always delicious, and we ate at the adjoining tapas restaurant each night. An added bonus is that this is a very affordable place; you get more than your money's worth! If you are interested in visiting some of the most beautiful villages of France (Conques, Estaing, etc.), Le Petit Chou is a great place to stay!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bude, Cornwall
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We recently stayed at Le Petit Chou to attend a wedding nearby. We had seen the good reviews for Le Petit Chou and were very intrigued! We were most definitely not disappointed: Bindy and Nigel are wonderful hosts - very relaxed and we felt at home immediately. The rooms have been so thoughtfully and sympathetically restored and furnished - just as we had imagined they would be, and the shower room was fitted out to a very high standard. We could not have asked for more - well, we could - we would have liked to stay for much longer! This is an absolutely beautiful part of France and we can't wait to return to Le Petit Chou. The only down side (if you could call it that) was that our short stay was mainly spent at the wedding and we would have loved to sample some of the atmosphere in the bar with Nigel and Bindy - oh well, that's another excuse for a revisit! Bindy's interior design shop, Le Petit Pois, just a few yards away, is another reason for a return trip - but this time we would need a much bigger car ...!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

We went to a friends wedding last week and stayed at this fantastic B & B/hotel. The owners Nigel and Bindy were incredibly friendly and helpful, and went out of their way to make our stay memorable. The breakfasts were a joy, delicious freshly baked croissants and bread and great coffee. Excellent supper in the Tapas bar next door, all very reasonable priced with great local wines. Rooms and beds very comfortable and surprise surprise a kettle with tea and coffee making facilities in your room. The wedding was wonderful with Bindy taking the photos, and guests relaxed too, all in all this hotel should be added to your wish list of places to stay in France.. it was how i remember France to be, secret valleys, and medieval villages a wonderful weekend in a wonderful place, one i highly recommend . Thanks guys and hope we meet up again.
S and N

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

We stayed two nights in this chambre d'hôte/tea/coffee/ice cream/tapas bar and wished it had been longer. The bedroom, Framboise was beautifully decorated, spacious with wonderful French style fittings and clearly created by someone with an eye, unsurprisingly considering that the owners also ran an interiors shop, 'Le Petit Pois' in Entraygues-sur Truyère.

We ate the tapas both nights, drank local wine and sampled their own home-made ice creams, muffins and divine cheesecakes.

Le Petit Chou is clearly the place to be and we will return

Room Tip: All three bedrooms are gorgeous so take your pick
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

We stayed here on a side trip from the GR65 compostella walk. The countryside around Entraygues is beautiful, and "le petit chou" is definitely the place to stay. There are great walks in the area, we walked the "GR de pays lo camin D'olt" from Golinhac and Espayrac, taking a shortcut through Firminhac. If you are want something quieter than the busy GR65 this is a good alternative, and there are other circular walks around Entraygues.

Nigel and Bindy have lived there for years, and make their guests feel very welcome. The salon-de-the is good for sitting back and relaxing, apart from occasional jazz bands. Good food, beer, cakes and coffee.One of the highlights of our trip.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

I actually bid for a short break at Le Petit Chou at a charity luncheon based purely on the short description of the hotel and the town of Entraygues sur Truyere. I am so pleased that my bid was successful and that we extended the holiday to five days as this small Chambre d' Hotes is a real gem and the area is unspoilt (as yet!) and quite stunningly scenic. The owners Nigel and Bindy are the perfect hosts and have stamped their individual style and personalities very clearly on this charming place which seems to be as popular with the French as with the Brits. The ground floor houses a thriving Salon de The which serves up an array of tempting bites and light meals and which also doubles up as an ice cream parlour and breakfast room for hotel guests.
Our hosts were unfailingly helpful and informative and we will certainly be back in Entraygues to continue our exploration of this beautiful region in the future

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Petit Chou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Petit Chou

Address: 4 Place de la Republique, 12140 Entraygues-sur-Truyere, France
Location: France > Midi-Pyrenees > Aveyron > Entraygues-sur-Truyere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Entraygues-sur-Truyere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Petit Chou is a charming and romantic Chambrés d'hôtes with four delightful bedrooms, each with en-suite bathrooms. Downstairs there is a bustling little Salon de Thé which serves homemade products from ice-cream, cakes, tarts, scones etc. and a gambit of healthy savoury lunches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Le Petit Chou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Petit Chou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.