We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The finest pearl” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Enclos des Lauriers Roses

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added L'Enclos des Lauriers Roses to your Saves list
L'Enclos des Lauriers Roses
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   71 rue du 14 Juillet, 30210 Cabrieres, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cabrieres
Malmo, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The finest pearl”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We indeed appreciate L'Enclos des Lauriers Roses. It’s construction, based on different terraces, in the typical Provencal architecture, and the surrounding hotelrooms with their own terraces offers an elegancy and a calmness which we appreciate very much.
We were staying this time at the upper pool and had a room with a private terrace just some meters from the pool - separated through a lovely Laurier giving the desired privacy. The room had an elegant entrance lounge, a big luxury bathroom and an inner sleeping room. We had also a glance at the two rooms under renovation on the top terrace - decorated with a “impeccable” grey touch - and with a fantastic view over the landscape.
The service was of a very high class. Always someone there to help you, with a smile, even if the questions were raised in English.
The dinner was served next to the pool at the base terrace. The pool, the surrounding houses with their gardens and the very nice lightening reinforced the excellent atmosphere. The breakfast, offering a very good choice of high quality products, was also taken next to the pool.
The village, Cabrieres, has kept it’s Provencal charm and is luckily enough far away from being touristic.
Yes, we indeed appreciate L'Enclos des Lauriers Roses which is a fantastic place created by fantastic persons and it is with pleasure we will come back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Propriétaire at L'Enclos des Lauriers Roses, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Madam,

What a great and beautiful commentary! Thank you so much.

You are among our oldest customers of the hotel and what a pleasure to see you again in our home, even if you do not have the opportunity to visit us every year.

Thank you again for your testimony, full of affection for our hotel, our family and our staff and we hope to see you very soon.

Please accept our best regards,

A. BARGETON
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    57
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
105
121
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Pleasant hotel with nice room. Relaxing environment around colourful pool terraces. But food only average and expensive. Breakfast 15euros with fruit salad from a tin - excuse given in July
"fresh friuit is not in season" - criminal ! 19.5 euros for main of tiny piece of roast salmon set on one slice of tomato, with a small soggy baked potato cooked in a microwave (admitted by waitress) - but dressed in tin foil with a sprig of rosemary to make it look fancy.Penne Pasta as a main with a bland sause almost certainly from a jar. Shame because it was a nice place, but just got impression of being taken for a ride with the food.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Propriétaire at L'Enclos des Lauriers Roses, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your commentary. I was the person at the reception who took your complaint. Unfortunately, you have misformulated my response about the fruit salad (which comes from a tin - it's not a secret.) I explained to you that it is impossible to make a fruit salad with so few _local_ fruit in season (during your stay we had only apricots, peaches and nectarines available). Each morning there was local, fresh fruit on the buffet, on a tray, for you to choose from.

I am also very sorry if the cuisine did not satisfy you. But one thing is sure: we do not use microwave oven for cooking and especially not for cooking fresh potatoes...! Apparently, the waitress in question had not understood your question. Otherwise she could not have admitted something that is not true. You stayed in our hotel for 2 nights and you had dinner at our restaurant the two evenings. We thank you for that. I am just wondering what made you stay for dinner the second evening if you were not satisfied with the quality of the food the first time.

We try to do our best making our customers happy each time they come to our hotel - for one night or two or even for 3 weeks. Each customer is important and equal to us. We are not perfect, but we are always very sorry if we fail at satisfying each person who comes to our place looking for perfection.

Best regards,

Madame Hulmi-Bargeton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

The hotel was full when we visited in May 2012 but you wouldn't have known it as it was so quiet. The room we had was delightful. The staff were attentive without being pushy. The food and its presentation was all we could have hoped for. It felt a very happy place.

We haven't rated fitness centre or room service as we have no idea about these. The swimming pools looked well kept.

Room Tip: The rooms are spread around. We couldn't hear anyone else (apart from a few splashes from the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArmelBARGETON, Propriétaire at L'Enclos des Lauriers Roses, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Dear Madam,

What a great review, thank your so much for it.

We are so happy to read that your stay was excellent. We really hope to see you again in the future.

Please accept our best regards,

A. BARGETON
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

This hotel is really a mini resort. They offer full dining, three meals- delicious. Many rooms have entrances from the outdoor courtyard, others on second floor. Each room very differently and distinctively decorated. Four different pools (it was too cool to enjoy in April), that would be handy in the summer. Not far from Nimes, well located in Provence.

Room Tip: All rooms are very interesting. Some even can handle four people, most are for two or one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArmelBARGETON, Propriétaire at L'Enclos des Lauriers Roses, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for your kind review. I remember you perfectly. You were 4 persons in 3 independant bedrooms.

We are happy to know to enjoyed a very nice stay in our hotel and we hope to see you again in the future. Even if you are in US :-))

Please accept our best regards,

A. BARGETON
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights. Room (Lavande) was very spacious, kingsize bed and a single, separate wc from the bathroom, all spotlessly clean. Only niggles were squeaky bed and squeaky doors to the wc and to the wardrobe. Also a bit chilly, especially with the tiled floors, we needed two blankets but this was mainly due to the weather. Restaurant food disappointing, a case of beautiful presentation but not the taste to go with it, would be hard to spend more than 4 nights with the selection. Location very quiet, a little remote (our satnav had a few problems misdirecting us around the area). The free parking area very limited, basically 4 spaces, but parking on the road in front or behind the hotel is possible.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArmelBARGETON, Propriétaire at L'Enclos des Lauriers Roses, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Dear Madam, Dear sir,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay in the room "LAVANDE".

It is true that the weather was not friendly with you during these four days.

We are sorry you did not like the food at the restaurant. As mentioned in many posts, it is impossible to please everyone. We have so many customers who like it.

I think the hotel is very easy to find. There are two highway exits 10 minutes from our village. All GPS does not know our street. It is really weird. On our website, there is a "access" webpage that shows exactly how easy reach from the hotel.

We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Best regards,

A. BARGETON
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

This was our second trip. We wanted to show the region to our daughter who couldn't make our first trip last year. We had the room Les Orchidees. A large room divided by an open bathroom. Our daughter slept on an added bed in the living room. Outstanding view on the small square in front of a series of room positioned around a lovely pool. The main pool is near the reception/restaurant building.
Service remains as friendly as ever. The only negative was a less good restaurant food than last time we visited. Maybe a different chef. Pasta was over cooked, meat was not as great as last time...wine list had run out of a lot of bottles...clearly the hotel was not yet fully ready.
But still would return anytime, a wonderful place to explore Uzes, the Pont du Gard, Nimes, Avignon etc.
Prices are very reasonable.

Room Tip: Choose a room around the second pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArmelBARGETON, Propriétaire at L'Enclos des Lauriers Roses, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Dear Madam, dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your review. We are happy to know your second stay in our place was nice, especially in the hotel and the room "ORCHIDEE".

About the restaurant, we have well noted your comments more negative. We always try to do our best. And as Tripadvisor readers can see other reaviews, the restaurant can please to other people. It's so hard to satisfy everyone.

We hope that if you return a third time in our place, the restaurant suits you and as much during your first visit, you will be totally satisfied.

Best regards,

A. BARGETON
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

We booked this hotel thru Logis as we did with most of our accommodation during a month long study of regional food and wine in southern and east central France,travelling from Barcelona to Charles DeGaulle Airport avoiding the areas of large population. The accommodation was good and very reasonably priced (particularly half board) and the local wines were excellent ( and value for money). We stayed at 15 different hotels of various ratings located near places of interest. L'Enclos des Lauriers Roses was chosen for its proximity to Nimes,however, it proved to be the standout hotel of the trip.Three days of "Roses" atmospheric enclosure with wonderful gardens,three pools,superb food and great local wines and attentive staff was simply not enough.We hope to be able to return before too long.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArmelBARGETON, Propriétaire at L'Enclos des Lauriers Roses, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for your kind review...from Ausralia.

We are so happy to know our hotel was the best for you during your whole trip.

We really hope to see you soon, even if France is far away from your country.

Thanks again.

Please accept our best regards,

A. BARGETON
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Enclos des Lauriers Roses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Enclos des Lauriers Roses

Address: 71 rue du 14 Juillet, 30210 Cabrieres, France
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Gard > Cabrieres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cabrieres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Enclos des Lauriers Roses 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Enclos des Lauriers Roses is located in Cabrières, a small picturesque village at the flank of a hill in the Roman Provence. Its 1200 inhabitants live peacefully in the rhythm of the seasons. Situated at a distance of 15 kms from Nîmes, 16 kms from Uzès, 30 kms from Avignon and 40 kms from the Mediterranean beaches or Luberon, Cabrieres is surrounded by vinyards, apricot trees, olives and almond trees, not to forget the thousands of hectares of a landscape called the "garrigue" where wild lavenders, rosemary and thyme grow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your L'Enclos des Lauriers Roses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Enclos Des Lauriers Roses

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Enclos des Lauriers Roses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.