We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for a winelover” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Enoteca Vino e Convivio

Enoteca Vino e Convivio
Via di Coselli, 4/6 | Guamo, 55060 Capannori, Italy
0583403573
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 41 Restaurants in Capannori
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: A winery, 3000 different wines and champagne, 4 rooms, 4 tables, no double shift... a place were relax and enjoy a good wine a simple italian cuisine based on a first quality raw material ...enjoy all this in your time. in a quiet atmosphere. We have also a great selection of french wines, whisky and rhum. Booking is highly suggested . The winery has its own parking lot right in front. do not hesitate to contact us for a special request...we will do our best to satisfy it. Our best pubblicity : our guests...
Izmir, Turkey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A great place for a winelover”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Pros:
Great hospitality by Mamma and Pappa
Fantastic wine list, very reasonably priced
Very good cuisine (especially tagliata and spaghetti carbonara)
Free parking


Cons:
Ten minutes driving from Lucca

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    32
    6
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Tuscan experience not to be found elsewhere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Located in an industrial section of Guamo near Lucca - 10 minutes on way to Pisa, this family owned and run wholesale wine shop doubles as a tiny, intimate restaurant, mini deli where the 5 or 6 tables are surrounded by thousands of bottles on display. There is no menu. Giuseppina, suggests what you might like and Giovanni, a retired exec from the (I think?) paper biz, decides on the vino. Amazing Tuscan reds. Truffles on scrambled eggs were the best ever. Carbonara is bliss - it is all simple Italian. Try the ham! Neither speaks English so it is a good idea to give Giovanni a rough idea of how much you want to spend on the wine. I think it is all at wholesale prices. Don't let the tyre shop next door put you off!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“shop and restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

While this review is for the restaurant, it should be noted that this is a wine and liquor shop as well. It is on a square with superb WiFi which only adds to its advantages. As far as we know, they had the only Bourbon in Lucca.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppet, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food and wine experience, but price not fully transparent.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I had dinner at Vino e Convivio a few days ago with my wife and a couple of friends. The atmosphere is really nice: there are just a few small tables nestled between shelves of wines. All tables are separated from the others so there is a nice feeling of intimacy. There were no menus on the table. We ordered some affettati & antipasti to start and they were all very special. Our primi were well cooked and delightful. Our server suggested the wines: the choice of the bottles was pretty unique, extremely interesting and well matched with what we were eating. Last but not least we had pane briao for dessert , which was heavenly. I would rate it 5 stars if it wasn't for the price which I think was a bit high (and hard to reconcile since we didn't have menus). I will probably go back but maybe be a bit more cautious next time.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Wine and Conviviality indeed, and then some...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

We were fortunate to be introduced to this incredible enoteca by my cousin who is a winemaker and bon vivant. The owner (Giovanni) is delightful; the wine list extensive with reasonable prices, and Giuseppina, Giovanni's wife prepares wonderful food. He retired from his business some years ago, and his avocation became his new vocation. The cacio pepe was extraordinary as was the tagliata di manzo. I wish we had been able to return, but we have every intention of doing so next trip. This place sizzles, and don't be fooled by the environs which appear somewhat industrial and inauspicious. This is our new favorite restaurant in Lucca, and nothing even came close! This is hardly faint praise since Lucca is renown for la cucina alta.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Enoteca Vino e Convivio also viewed

Capannori, Province of Lucca
 
Capannori, Province of Lucca
Capannori, Province of Lucca
 

Been to Enoteca Vino e Convivio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Enoteca Vino e Convivio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.