We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and helpful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe del Nord

Cafe del Nord
Playas Fornells, PARC EH11, 07748 Fornells, Minorca, Spain
+34 971376697
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 35 Restaurants in Fornells
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very friendly and helpful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Very friendly staff and excellent customer service. When I told them I was a vegetarian, they were very accommodating, and the second time we went there went out of their way to make me a vegetarian meal.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    75
    29
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Food, service, ambience at it's best.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed in the area for 2 weeks in the summer and this restaurant was in walking distance from our apartment and what a find , the staff , the food and service are of an excellent standard , and nothing is of too much trouble, hence we went here about 1/2 a dozen times and ate our way through the menu ,which is truely spanish and sorced locally.
The view is spectacular, not many restaurants on the island have this sort of vista.
The Menorcan Gin is as an apparetife is a must!
All in all go and enjoy for yourself.(weekends get very busy so advisable to book
tel:-971 37 66 97

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An excellent tasting menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

One of two restaurants and a snack bar situated next door to each other above the beach in Playa de Fornells. Although we only had one meal there during the week we stayed, we had the local daily menu which was a special for a local festival. There is also a wide choice of other dishes. The special menu was 15 Euros and each course was delicious. Also the house wine was particularly god value. We recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This is the second visit to this area and we enjoyed the restaurant last time and it is still as good thsi time round. We had the special Menorcan Cuisine Fair 3 course set meal which only cost 15 euros and provided an excellent taste of local cuisine. It is a testament to the quality of the restaurant that it was always busy. The staff were experienced, friendly and thoroughly professional. We would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great view, great food, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Perched high overlooking this planned community, this restaurant seems to work hard to outperform the almost-identical looking restaurants on either side of it. And it works. The food is very good, the staff is very helpful, and the views are wonderful. We ate here twice and my only complaint was that on the second evening, we did not have a table near the edge of the patio. Lacking that view didn't bother me, but like many Spanish restaurants, they've replaced the incandescent bulbs with the twisted tube fluorescent bulbs, which give a harsh light and make the food look less appetizing. I guess if I'm paying to eat out, I expect the restaurant to cough up a few extra pennies and have nice lighting. The fix for this is to book ahead and request a table with a view, wherein the sunset offsets any glare from the lights over the more interior tables.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe del Nord also viewed

Fornells, Minorca
Fornells, Minorca
 
Fornells, Minorca
Fornells, Minorca
 

Been to Cafe del Nord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe del Nord, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.