We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Basilique

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de la Basilique to your Saves list
Hotel de la Basilique
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 - 5 rue Gambetta, 80300 Albert, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Albert
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Perfect position for a visit to the Somme Battlefields.the hotel does not take advantage of this,and has high standards in the Hotel and restaurant.
No lift,so be aware if you have mobility issues,however would not hesitate to return

Room Tip: The restaurant is very good and very popular
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    51
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
51
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

12 of us stayed here for 3 nights on a cycling tour of the WW1 sights. Clean rooms, good food and the most central location possible. Sandy and Didier made us very welcome. The decor is plain and simple so if you're looking for "rustic" then try elsewhere. For us it was perfect.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

This is an excellent regional restaurant that also has 10 rooms. We had one of the largest. It had a big modern bathroom. The room was not large, but perfectly nice and the staff were most cordial. If you want a five-star every-convenience hotel, this isn't for you. But we thought it was delightful, great food, and the Albert Somme museum is one of the best in the region.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We were a little disappointed with the Hotel de la Basilique particularly given the rave reviews on TA.

It's quite drab despite receiving a bit of a (budget) makeover. However, it does meet the basic needs of those visiting the WW1 battlefields. The rooms are clean, the beds comfortable, a good working shower and the location is great for the excellent Somme museum in Albert. We found parking difficult before 5pm, we didn't find the staff overly personable, breakfast was adequate. We had dinner in the restaurant and it was fine - not a particularly wonderful atmosphere but the food was good.

It's certainly good value for money as it was one of the cheaper hotels on our 5 weeks in France, but I didn't love it and even though I would recommend Albert and say this hotel is ok for those touring the battlefields, I doubt that I would return. Pity really, as it wouldn't take much to make this a lovely hotel.

A note to those travelling with luggage - there's no lift so you'd be wise to just take small bags to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel de la Basilique on the first and last nights of our recent trip to France.

The staff are welcoming and helpful and the hotel is clean and quiet. My only criticism is that the dining room is far too crowded; on our return visit we were literally shoved into a corner where an extremely rude man on the next table would not move to let my wife in despite the best offices of the staff. I suppose that I can't blame the hotel for ill mannered guests.

As I say I can't really criticise the hotel, it is what it is. I imagine that because of its position it makes a reasonable living from people visiting the World War 1 sites so good luck to them as it should be an excellent year for them; certainly there were people from the US and Australia there during our visit.

It's fine for a stop over but would I go there for a holiday? No! I'm afraid that I found little to recommend the town of Albert.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first ans second floors, the front of the hotel is on the town square but is very w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

The hotel is in a perfect situation; walking distance from the station and on the attractive square and opposite the beautiful basilica. We had room 9 on the second floor and it was worth trudging up with our bags because the view from the double set of large windows, overlooking the square, was so delightful. (They offered to help with the bags but we didn't need it). The room was spacious with a queen bed, desk and two chairs, plus two armchairs and a large bathroom. It was light and bright and clean. We loved returning to it to relax in comfort with a view. Free wifi works well. A French breakfast is available with fresh fruit salad, yoghurt, boiled eggs, ham, cheese, French bread, croissants etc. We chose to eat in the hotel restaurant both nights and the food was excellent and at a good price. The very helpful young woman on reception/ manager (part owner?) speaks good English and made us very welcome. The town itself is a gem and an excellent base for exploring the Somme and World War I sites. The tourist office is next door and they offer good tours. We chose to stay in Albert rather than larger Amiens and we were pleased with our choice. It is easy to visit Amiens, only 20 minutes on the train. Certainly choose Hotel de la Basilique with its personal touch and very traditional French character.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We were staying with elderly relatives, in order to look at the 1st world war memorials. The rooms could have been bigger, but they were simply furnished and comfortable, the wifi reliable and fast, the bathroom was fine clean if a little dated, the shower was very slippery. We had a very pleasant stay, and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de la Basilique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Basilique

Address: 3 - 5 rue Gambetta, 80300 Albert, France
Location: France > Picardy > Somme > Albert
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Albert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de la Basilique 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
we are happy to welcome you, the authentic 10 rooms offer comfort and relaxation. The restaurant propose a regional and traditional cooking, and the possibility to eat outside in front of Basilica ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel de la Basilique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de la Basilique, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.