We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean & great for Somme battlefields” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Royal Picardie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Royal Picardie to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royal Picardie
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue du General Leclerc, 80300 Albert, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up To -30% Off Room Rate
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Albert
Suffolk
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Very clean & great for Somme battlefields”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed here for two nights as part of our fortnights holiday in France. The hotel is well signposted in Albert and is situated on the outskirts of the town. Ideal for touring the Battle of the Somme region. We arrived on a Sunday evening and the hotel was very quiet -only appeared to be a few rooms occupied which felt a bit strange having come from the hustle and bustle of Disneyland. The following night was busier and included business travellers which gave the hotel a better atmosphere. Breakfast was very good and included the option to self boil eggs together with cheeses, cold meats and all the usual breads and pastries.

WI fi is free and worked very efficiently - in fact the best hotel for WI fi we had during our fortnight in France. As others have said the staff are very friendly and double up as waiters, bar staff and receptionists. They all spoke English well.
The restaurant was closed when we arrived on the Sunday evening but we ate there the following night and it was very nice. Just needed more diners to improve the atmosphere.

The rooms are in keeping with a three star hotel (adequate but not especially large) and are kept spotlessly clean. Our sheets were changed after our first night which was a pleasant surprise.

The outside design of the hotel intrigued me, a castle type frontage which didn't quite seem to fit in with the area or the interior. Strange but don't let this put you off.

Room Tip: A room facing the rear of the building will be quieter as away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    50
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
22
46
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

This hotel has good parking facilities on the edge of the town. It took us 20 mins to walk into the centre, stopping to take occasional photos so not rushing. We also found later that parking in the centre is not a problem. Albert is a very good location for visiting the Somme battlefields and memorials.

The superior room we booked was adequate - pleasant enough but not stylish. No toiletries or soap - just on the wall dispenser of green cleansing stuff by the bath and sink. The bed was comfortable but the thick duvet was too hot for the time of year and warm nights. The air con worked and was quiet, but I would have slept better with lighter bedding.

We ate breakfast and two dinners here - all fine. We asked the price of drinks in the bar as there was no price list on display and were told, for example, that a bottle of 1664 beer was 2 euro. When we got the bill, it was double this!! The bar man obviously had no dea what drinks cost and was guessing. Our bill was a bit of a shock!

Generally, there is just one person on front-of-house duty doing the reception, the bar, serving in the restaurant and cleaning the floors at the end of the evening. This person is rushing around and it gives the air of a hotel being run on a shoestring. Having said that, the staff we met (different morning and evening) were friendly and did their best to help.

I might stay again - not sure. It didn't seem particularly cheap.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

I took a small group there and they were ready for us upon arrival. The rooms were as good as you could expect for a three star hotel and the service was good in the restaurant was very good. Everybody really enjoyed their dinner here.

Room Tip: Be aware that the hotel is on the edge of Albert.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with innstant.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed here for three nights while visiting the Somme battlefields with our young son. It was very clean and quiet in a good location just on the edge of Albert. The staff were very helpful. The restaurant was good on the night we ate in and my son enjoyed the pool table in the downstairs lounge.
A very good location for touring the Somme battlefields. The only downside was that it was slightly too far from the centre of Albert to walk although parking in Albert is not really a problem

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012 via mobile

It's clean tidy, a little dated.. Rooms are in need of serious updating and the bed looks like its seen more action than Pamela andersons futon!!! A little over priced but ok. Drink are pricy well when you can pin down the one member of bar staff who is also the maid, the cook, front of house and the valet!! Would we come back, probably not.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Royal Picardie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Royal Picardie

Address: Avenue du General Leclerc, 80300 Albert, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Picardy > Somme > Albert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Albert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Royal Picardie 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Royal Picardie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royal Picardie
Best Western Albert
Best Western Amiens
Amiens Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Royal Picardie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.