We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pub, good atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sportsman Pub

The Sportsman Pub
Cuckfield Road | Goddards Green, Nr Hurstpierpoint, Burgess Hill BN6 9LQ, England
+44 1444 233460
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 57 Restaurants in Burgess Hill
Price range: $9 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Sportsman Pub, Goddards Green, is a classic independently operated rural country pub with views towards the South Downs. We specialise in great home cooked food alongside ever-changing thirst quenching local Cask Marque accredited ales including local microbreweries as well as Darkstar, Harveys & Downland. Locally sourced & seasonally changing fresh cooked food is available everyday Mondays to Fridays. 12 Noon-3 pm & 6 pm - 9 pm Saturdays 12 noon until 9 pm & on Sundays 12 noon until 7pm We try and cater for everyone in mind, with a range of tapas style starters, fresh fish dishes, vegetarian choices & char-grilled steaks & homemade burgers alongside daily specials. In addition to our main menu we also offer a set menu from only £9.50 Mon - Thurs We also have a children's menu & most dietary requirements can be accommodated. We also host local live music acts (1st Friday of each month) & occasional themed evenings & tasting nights. Facilities are available for birthday celebrations, christenings & wakes Masses of free parking / families & dogs welcome too Follow us on twitter thesportsmanpub and on Facebook The Sportsman Pub, Goddards Green
Worthing, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Nice pub, good atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Enjoyed a relaxed and leisurely lunch. Good food, large helpings. Pleasant staff. Would definitely go again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    51
    15
    17
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Night to remember!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Visited The Sportsman in celebration of a birthday. The staff were unbelievably accommodating of our (awkward) family and went out of their way to make us comfortable. Food was excellent, especially as the waitress disagreed with the wisdom of swapping the vegetable accompaniment for chips when serving with the baked cod in Serrano ham - she was SO right! The evening was made perfect by the live appearance of Wilbury Jam (folk trio) in the bar. Wonderful! Will most definately become regulars.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Relaxed, great atmosphere , great food x”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Enjoyed a beautiful lunch with a friend on 25th April 2014 at the restaurant. It has a lovely atmosphere and friendly polite staff. Relaxed setting. The owner is a very good host and takes pride in his patrons enjoying their time at the pub/restaurant. Food was presented in a beautiful way. I had cod loin wrapped in sorrento ham with courgettes and potatoes. The fish was beautiful. My friend had Steak and Kidney pie with mash and a lovely gravy and vegetables. For dessert we had fudge cake with a beautiful choc sauce and a small pot of choc chip ice cream. I just had to have it as it had mentioned chocolate so many times it seemed rude not too ;-) my friend had a beautifully presented selection of cheese and biscuits. We were both very happy with our chat and catch up made more enjoyable with good food and a warm place to relax. Highly recommend you visit . Thank you for a lovely time xxx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing cod and chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We were given a Travelzoo voucher as a gift and went for our meal on a Monday evening. We were slightly apprehensive as Monday is usually the chefs night off! We needn't have worried and had a fabulous meal. The 2 waitresses were really polite and attentive. We shared the baked camembert which was most enjoyable with plenty of bread. I had the cod and chips and it was absolutely delicious. A thick piece of perfectly cooked loin with the thinnest, crispiest batter I have ever known. The chips were good and really lovely tartar sauce. My partner had the burger- as usual! He does love a home made burger and said he had never had a better one. We had some very fine ice cream for desert.

I was so impressed that I took my mother there one very busy lunchtime. We hadn't booked and were warned that there may be a 25 minute wait. We were happy with this and both had the fish and chips. It was jolly good, although maybe not quite as good as the first time. We both agreed that we would go there again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
1 review
“Poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Was shown to the table and waited over 20 minutes before I went and asked if we could order. When we had finish our main course was asked if we would like to see dessert menu, waited another 20 minutes before we decided to pay and leave. Will not be rushing back.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sportsman Pub also viewed

Burgess Hill, West Sussex
Burgess Hill, West Sussex
 
Bolney, West Sussex
Burgess Hill, West Sussex
 

Been to The Sportsman Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sportsman Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.