We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer service was terrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Taza

Taza
187 London Road, Burgess Hill, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 57 Restaurants in Burgess Hill
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Customer service was terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

Had two friends down who traveled around 5 hours. Got there before 10 pm. Customer service was no good as every dish and drink was banged onto the table to an extent that was only ordered one beer each. Should have walked out but thought it would get better but to no avail

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    10
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
burgess hill
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nearly walked out!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Four of us went to the Taza indian restaraunt last night. A terrible experince because:

Although there were plenty of other table they tried to sit us squashed up in a corner with one of my friends seated right in front of their entrance door. Eventually they moved us.

It took nearly 20 minutes just to get a drink.

Another 10 before they cold take our order (keep in mind restaraunt only half full)

We waited 30 minutes for out starter

Another 10 for main course. We were there from 7.15pm until 10pm, a ridiculous amount of time.

We had to go without our coffee (which was meant to have been included)

The service was terrible, everytime we looked pleadingly or asked (nicely) where our food was, we got a grunt, and an irritated look, no acknowledgement or apology for our extremely long wait.

I was mortified when a friend was being served their chicken puree started (in a pancake) and the waited actually lifted the pancake with his bare fingers to check the filling!

When the main (finally) arrived our cutlery was virtually thrown at us.

Don't go there, we won't bother again

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Saturday night curry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We ate at Taza one evening and were very impressed. The advertising describe it as modern Indian cuisine I'm not sure what that meant but we liked it. The decor was modern, the frontage bright with easy takeaway/bar service, and the background music was pop. More importantly the food was excellent and the service attentive. All the usual curry offerings on the menu and the servings were good but not over-large. We enjoyed our evening and if we lived locally would definitely be back

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“takeaway choice for good curry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We have been using Taza as our choice for takeaway Indian cuisine for the past two years and the food has always been very good.
We have never collected our order only to find that it was wrong, as has happened before with other restaurants and Taza will cater for individual needs if requested.
We have never "eaten in" as the location is not exactly inspiring band the ambience seems a little flat, but I would not hesitate to recommend the food.
There has been a recent change of management but this has not affected the food, I think that the chef is the same and the prices are very good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South of the Thames
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“If I had wanted that amount of salt I would have mined it!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We arrived early one evening in May and were the first diners. There was a could not be bothered attitude to the staff as we were shown to a table without a word and left for 15 minutes with the menus.

The starters were acceptable but then it is farily difficult to go wrong with tandoor chicken and sheek kebab. My main was far too salty and the meat not pleasant, my wife's main was bland to the point of insipid.

It might have been an off night but I am not chancing a return.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taza also viewed

Burgess Hill, West Sussex
Burgess Hill, West Sussex
 
Burgess Hill, West Sussex
Burgess Hill, West Sussex
 

Been to Taza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.