We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go once and will never return.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Emperor

The Emperor
1 Cyprus Road, Burgess Hill RH15 8DX, England
+44 1444 232828
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 53 restaurants in Burgess Hill
Cuisines: Chinese, Dessert, Dim Sum
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Description: A family run Chinese restaurant, serving delicious oriental food and quality customer service. We also offer 'eat as much as you like' menu and we offer take-away and deliver at the same high restaurant quality. Come visit us, you won't be disappointed!
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Go once and will never return.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

My girlfriend and myself live in Burgess Hill and fancied a meal that meant not driving anywhere so decided unfortunately to frequent this reateraunt. Upon arrival we were hastily ushered to a table and within 15 seconds the waiting staff were onto us to order drinks. To be fair the bottle of wine we ordered was good. The decor is pink mainly that has partitioned sections with a lot of tinsel and of poor taste and tired cosmetically. Of more of a worry was the food quality and price. Two examples, the chicken was of the watery pulp variety and the sauces watery and bland. For £50 inclusive of tip we received a large'ish starter to share, green curry with rice and a chilli shredded beef birds nest with a bottle of white wine. Left feeling dissapointed.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    23
    14
    5
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Value Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The service is always good and the food is reasonably priced as well. They also ensure that you always get a table and there is a bar area with seating.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Better than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Before eating at this restaurant I had read a couple of reviews here on Trip Advisor that were not very favourable - however I still decided to go as it was booked. I am very pleased that I did as the service and food were very good. Maybe the owners had read the reviews and had taken action. We had the "all you can eat" menu which when you add the Duck course it is not cheap but we found the food to be very good quality, tasteful and good sized portions. We had a lovely evening and very pleased to have gone there. We will also go back.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great restaurant in the heart of town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

This restaurant is tucked away in a car park and at first sight may not give it the best view. The food is excellent and staff helpful. The tables are well spaced and can accommodate large and small groups. The prices are good and the selection of dishes will fit most tastes. We went with our fussy children who can be a challenge to feed but they loved it. They also do take a way and home delivery.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“As good as usual”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

My wife an i dropped in on Saturday lunchtime on the off chance and enjoyed another great meal.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Emperor also viewed

Burgess Hill, West Sussex
Burgess Hill, West Sussex
 
Haywards Heath, West Sussex
Burgess Hill, West Sussex
 

Been to The Emperor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Emperor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.