We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand old lady” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Palace of the Golden Horses

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Palace of the Golden Horses to your Saves list
Palace of the Golden Horses
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Kuda Emas | Mines Resort City, Sri Kembangan 43300, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Sri Kembangan
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Grand old lady”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Overall, we enjoyed the stay. The staff were very polite and efficient. A grand hotel that time has caught up with as everything is beginning or already look dated. Room is spacious and comfortable but the furniture looked old, but still in good condition.

Went to the gym. The weights equipment were clearly very old but still usable - lifting gloves highly recommended. The pool is also relatively small and the kiddies pool has 2 water slides that will keep them happy for hours.

Was expecting more from the buffet breakfast, so was a bit disappointed to find the spread was similar to many other Malaysian hotels. BTW, had trouble trying to flush one of the toilets next to restaurant.

Room Tip: Was staying in rooms facing North (KL city) and had noise sounding like street racing until the wee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGHMines, Manager at Palace of the Golden Horses, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Warmest Greetings from Palace of the Golden Horses!

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay here with us. We believe that it is only through guest feedback that we are able to continue to improve on our services and facilities.

At the same time, we would like to extend our sincere apologies for the inconveniences that you have experienced during your stay. For your information, building painting and upgrading works is on progress where in the near future can experience the new look and providing memorable experiences for all guests in the Palace of the Golden Horses.

Once again, our apologies for the inconvenience caused and we thank you for your support and patronage. At the same time we look forward to welcoming you to Palace Of The Golden Horses.

Best regards
Francis Alberto
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    97
    90
    56
    50
See reviews for
114
110
23
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Castlebellingham
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Sumptuous and very much a palace. Real value for money. Another pleasant stay, the only draw back is the distance from the city. The bars, restaurants and spa are excellent. A walk in the grounds or boat trip using the hotel s water taxi to the local indoor market is worthwhile.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGHMines, Manager at Palace of the Golden Horses, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Warmest Greetings from Palace of the Golden Horses!

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay here with us.

We are delighted that your experience during your stay here with us at the Palace Of The Golden Horses had lived up to your expectations and we would like to take this opportunity to express our heartfelt thanks for your feedback.

Once again, thank you for your support and patronage. We look forward to welcoming you back to Palace Of The Golden Horses.

Best regards,
Francis Alberto
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Beach, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We went to check out the Selangor Turf Club today even though there wasn't a race meeting on. We watched a bit of track work and checked out part of the facilities - all fantastic. At the suggestion of the security guy we went down to this hotel, which is located pretty much opposite the track. It is 5+ star opulence. We had a coffee inside and were blown away by this hotel. My daughter, an apprentice jockey, wanted to move in right away! I highly recommend visiting this hotel, if not the track as well, which usually has a race meeting Saturdays and/or Sundays.

Room Tip: We didn't stay - just had a coffee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGHMines, Manager at Palace of the Golden Horses, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Warmest Greetings from Palace of the Golden Horses!

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on patronizing our outlet recently.

We are delighted that your experience with us at the Palace Of The Golden Horses had lived up to your expectations and we would like to take this opportunity to express our heartfelt thanks for your feedback.

Once again, thank you for your support and patronage. We look forward to welcoming you back to Palace Of The Golden Horses.

Best regards,
Francis Alberto
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I stayed here for one night. About a decade ago this was declared as the only diamond star hotel in malaysia. I drive pass and always mesmerised by this hotel. I finally stayed here just to feel and enjoy the hotel.

The lobby and main areas are really nice and grand. Rooms are clean and well maintained. It was nice cozy.

The major set back is the overall maintanance of this property. The building really needs a new coat of paint. I can feel that the occupancy rate is low. And the management are finding hard to maintain. Such a grand hotel but due to location n other reason, its going down wards.

Overall I really enjoyed the stay, I felt very comfortable and the staff were superb. I would come back again.

PS: management, please change the toilet seats at the restroom beside Carousel Cafe.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGHMines, Manager at Palace of the Golden Horses, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Warmest Greetings from Palace of the Golden Horses!

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay here with us. We believe that it is only through guest feedback that we are able to continue to improve on our services and facilities.

At the same time, we would like to extend our sincere apologies for the inconveniences that you have experienced during your stay. For your information, building painting and upgrading works is on progress where can experience the new look and providing memorable experiences for all guests in the Palace of the Golden Horses.

Once again, our apologies for the inconvenience caused and we thank you for your support and patronage. At the same time we look forward to welcoming you to Palace Of The Golden Horses.

Best regards
Francis Alberto
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puchong
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

This hotel used to host dignitaries, ministers and such, with beautiful decor considered to be grand during the 90s. We stayed here over a Friday night on the 6th of Dec 2013, as part of a wellness package. The room was relatively clean but the furniture seemed to have been recently sprayed over with a coat of white paint. It didn't feel as grand anymore. The carpet looked old and needed to be changed. Two small bottles of water were provided free, but there was a note stating that additional bottles would be charged RM 3.50 each. I felt this didn't feel hospitable- I'd stayed in many other international hotels and bottled water was always free. The safe in the room was also not working.

Also, there did not seem to be ample lifts. We had to walk from one wing to another wing to get to the pool. The path leading to the pool from the lift seemed to be blocked by the wellness center, and we took a long walk across the grass area and through the gym to get there. On the way back from the pool, we took the stairs instead and saw many cigarette butts lying on the floor. This shouldn't be happening in an international hotel.

All in all, I think this hotel needs to be better maintained and a more thorough refurbishment is needed. It does not seemed inclined towards being a wellness hotel, if that was the branding theme that the management wants to project.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGHMines, Manager at Palace of the Golden Horses, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Warmest greeting from Palace of the Golden Horses!

It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we appreciate your constructive feedback on your recent stay. We would like to extend our sincere apologies for the inconvenience and disappointment you had. We take pride in creating memorable hotel experiences for our guests and in this regard, we are regretful to learn of your experience. Please rest assured that the matters mentioned are duly dealt by the hotel team and ensuring them to focus on providing memorable experiences for all guests that stay at Palace of the Golden Horses.

Once again, our sincere apologies and we hope that despite your disappointment on this occasion, the hotel will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel sometime in the near future.

Regards,
Francis Alberto
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I stayed one night as I had business in the nearby convention centre. The location is not a convenient one & you wouldn't necessarily stay here unless you had to. I was relieved to find some many others on TA share what I have experienced. I was assigned a room that was circuitous to get to. The room itself was spacious enough but the deco tended towards ornate carved furniture & flock wall paper. The paintwork was chipped & not restored (in fact I had an inkling something was afoot when you find the metalwork in the lifts was peeling. Sadly it has not kept up with the times as it was tired & needed upgrading done very soon before more negative reviews come their way. I chose not to eat in the restaurants save for breakfast before checking out. It was more convenient to go over to the Mines mall & eat in one of the eateries there. I don't think I will be returning again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGHMines, Manager at Palace of the Golden Horses, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Warmest Greetings from Palace of the Golden Horses!

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay here with us. We believe that it is only through guest feedback that we are able to continue to improve on our services and facilities.

At the same time, we would like to extend our sincere apologies for the inconveniences that you have experienced. Nevertheless, we have taken note your comments and rest assures the upgrading works in progress.

Once again, our apologies for the inconvenience caused and we thank you for your support and patronage. At the same time we look forward to welcoming you to Palace Of The Golden Horses.

Best regards
Francis Alberto
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

The Palace is expensive, but worth it. You will not find many restaurants that other hotels may boast about, but the food served and prices charged at the restaurants are good. The atmosphere both inside as well as outside in their gardens are great. Their gardens are well kept and full of natural greenery, very unlike most hotels found in and around the bustling city. Their rooms have been recently refurbished and are spacious as they are comfortable. They offer a shuttle service on request to the Mines Wonderland as well as to the Kuala Lumpur City Centre (KLCC), two large shopping malls. There is also a lake cruise that you can hire to go to the Mines Wellness Hotel as well as to the Mines Wonderland. My holiday here was just what I needed to revitalize; quiet surroundings, friendly staff, great service and a very very relaxing atmosphere.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms which have been recently renovated and refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGHMines, Manager at Palace of the Golden Horses, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Warmest Greetings from Palace of the Golden Horses!

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay here with us.

We are delighted that your experience during your stay here with us at the Palace Of The Golden Horses had lived up to your expectations and we would like to take this opportunity to express our heartfelt thanks for your feedback.

Once again, thank you for your support and patronage. We look forward to welcoming you back to Palace Of The Golden Horses.

Best regards,
Francis Alberto
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palace of the Golden Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace of the Golden Horses

Address: Jalan Kuda Emas | Mines Resort City, Sri Kembangan 43300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Sri Kembangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Sri Kembangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace of the Golden Horses 4*
Number of rooms: 480
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Palace of the Golden Horses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Of The Golden Horses Hotel Sri Kembangan
Palace Golden Horses
Palace Of The Golden Horses Malaysia/Sri Kembangan, Selangor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palace of the Golden Horses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.