We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Used to be grand a decade ago, now looks dated.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Palace of the Golden Horses

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Palace of the Golden Horses to your Saves list
Palace of the Golden Horses
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Kuda Emas | Mines Resort City, Sri Kembangan 43300, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Sri Kembangan
Puchong
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Used to be grand a decade ago, now looks dated.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

This hotel used to host dignitaries, ministers and such, with beautiful decor considered to be grand during the 90s. We stayed here over a Friday night on the 6th of Dec 2013, as part of a wellness package. The room was relatively clean but the furniture seemed to have been recently sprayed over with a coat of white paint. It didn't feel as grand anymore. The carpet looked old and needed to be changed. Two small bottles of water were provided free, but there was a note stating that additional bottles would be charged RM 3.50 each. I felt this didn't feel hospitable- I'd stayed in many other international hotels and bottled water was always free. The safe in the room was also not working.

Also, there did not seem to be ample lifts. We had to walk from one wing to another wing to get to the pool. The path leading to the pool from the lift seemed to be blocked by the wellness center, and we took a long walk across the grass area and through the gym to get there. On the way back from the pool, we took the stairs instead and saw many cigarette butts lying on the floor. This shouldn't be happening in an international hotel.

All in all, I think this hotel needs to be better maintained and a more thorough refurbishment is needed. It does not seemed inclined towards being a wellness hotel, if that was the branding theme that the management wants to project.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGHMines, Manager at Palace of the Golden Horses, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Warmest greeting from Palace of the Golden Horses!

It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we appreciate your constructive feedback on your recent stay. We would like to extend our sincere apologies for the inconvenience and disappointment you had. We take pride in creating memorable hotel experiences for our guests and in this regard, we are regretful to learn of your experience. Please rest assured that the matters mentioned are duly dealt by the hotel team and ensuring them to focus on providing memorable experiences for all guests that stay at Palace of the Golden Horses.

Once again, our sincere apologies and we hope that despite your disappointment on this occasion, the hotel will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel sometime in the near future.

Regards,
Francis Alberto
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    97
    90
    56
    50
See reviews for
114
110
23
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I stayed one night as I had business in the nearby convention centre. The location is not a convenient one & you wouldn't necessarily stay here unless you had to. I was relieved to find some many others on TA share what I have experienced. I was assigned a room that was circuitous to get to. The room itself was spacious enough but the deco tended towards ornate carved furniture & flock wall paper. The paintwork was chipped & not restored (in fact I had an inkling something was afoot when you find the metalwork in the lifts was peeling. Sadly it has not kept up with the times as it was tired & needed upgrading done very soon before more negative reviews come their way. I chose not to eat in the restaurants save for breakfast before checking out. It was more convenient to go over to the Mines mall & eat in one of the eateries there. I don't think I will be returning again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGHMines, Manager at Palace of the Golden Horses, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Warmest Greetings from Palace of the Golden Horses!

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay here with us. We believe that it is only through guest feedback that we are able to continue to improve on our services and facilities.

At the same time, we would like to extend our sincere apologies for the inconveniences that you have experienced. Nevertheless, we have taken note your comments and rest assures the upgrading works in progress.

Once again, our apologies for the inconvenience caused and we thank you for your support and patronage. At the same time we look forward to welcoming you to Palace Of The Golden Horses.

Best regards
Francis Alberto
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

The Palace is expensive, but worth it. You will not find many restaurants that other hotels may boast about, but the food served and prices charged at the restaurants are good. The atmosphere both inside as well as outside in their gardens are great. Their gardens are well kept and full of natural greenery, very unlike most hotels found in and around the bustling city. Their rooms have been recently refurbished and are spacious as they are comfortable. They offer a shuttle service on request to the Mines Wonderland as well as to the Kuala Lumpur City Centre (KLCC), two large shopping malls. There is also a lake cruise that you can hire to go to the Mines Wellness Hotel as well as to the Mines Wonderland. My holiday here was just what I needed to revitalize; quiet surroundings, friendly staff, great service and a very very relaxing atmosphere.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms which have been recently renovated and refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGHMines, Manager at Palace of the Golden Horses, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Warmest Greetings from Palace of the Golden Horses!

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay here with us.

We are delighted that your experience during your stay here with us at the Palace Of The Golden Horses had lived up to your expectations and we would like to take this opportunity to express our heartfelt thanks for your feedback.

Once again, thank you for your support and patronage. We look forward to welcoming you back to Palace Of The Golden Horses.

Best regards,
Francis Alberto
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

This hotel really doesn't live up to its reputation anymore and it's really saddening and nothing has been done despite so many negative reviews i've read here.
I stayed for 3 days and the service, room and food are worst than 3 stars hotels. If it's not because of training, i won't have selected to stay in this hotel.
5 stars hotel, 3 stars service. Obviously i'm not returning to this hotel anymore.

I've submitted 2 feedback forms to the receptionist before i checked out. I hope someone is going to do something about the things i've said there.

Please do your market research to see how 5 stars hotel live up to their reputation.
Big disappointment.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGHMines, Manager at Palace of the Golden Horses, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Warmest Greetings from Palace of the Golden Horses!

First and foremost, please accept my sincere apologies for the unpleasant experience when you stayed here recently. I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and am very sorry that the services rendered not up to our expectation.

Rest assured, this is not standard of service that the hotel is renowned for and I have taken the time to personally discuss the issues highlighted with the team members, ensuring the team focus on providing memorable experiences for all guests in the Palace of the Golden Horses.
Once again, our sincerest apologies and we hope that despite your disappointment on this occasion, the hotel will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel sometime in the near future.

Regards,
Francis Alberto
Manager, Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sri Kembangan hotels

scunthorpe
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

This property sits on a large site and occupies a grand position, it is about 45 mins form the airport on a good day and the same to the city centre.
It is quiet and peaceful, to quiet at night you find yourself walking around alot as there is not a great deal to do once you have eaten in an evening.
Rooms are better than I had expected from readin reviews on TA however they need updating and new carpets, the standard of cleanliness is poor and this may be due to the lack of training given to house keepers or the General Mangers failure to monitor their staf, I don't know.
The beds are comfortable, however the air conditioning was either of or freezing, even after requesting someone look at it.
A large complex which would have been fantastic in 1999 but it now needs a bit of TLC and a change for visitors.
Food - Buffet was good we didn't eat breakfast there, we went across to the mines shopping centre.
Drinks are high compared to the rest of KL but are cheap in comparison to home.
We exchanged RCI points to stay at the palace of golden horses so it was a reasonable rate.
kL 5 days is enough we hired a car on day 2 as we were needing to get out and about more, we used 'Hawk' at the airport and they were really professional and reasonable about £148 for 5 days everything.
Go to Petaling Street at night for tea it is a sight to see.
Go up the towers it's ok but you have to if you have travelled miles.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGHMines, Manager at Palace of the Golden Horses, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Warmest Greetings from Palace of the Golden Horses!

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay here with us. We believe that it is only through guest feedback that we are able to continue to improve on our services and facilities.

At the same time, we would like to extend our sincere apologies for the inconveniences that you have experienced. Nevertheless, we have taken immediate actions from your comments and rest assures the comments on some areas that been highilghted was improved.

Once again, our apologies for the inconvenience caused and we thank you for your support and patronage. At the same time we look forward to welcoming you to Palace Of The Golden Horses.

Best regards
Francis Alberto
Manager, Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

What a depressing environment . I feel sorry for anyone coned into staying in this hotel. This hotel should be banned from opening until they upgrade their facilities and rooms. They are tharnishing the name of Malaysia, especially when they put pictures of ministers who came and stayed there. If the want to put pictures of important people , please upgrade the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGHMines, Manager at Palace of the Golden Horses, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Warmest greeting from Palace of the Golden Horses!

It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we appreciate your constructive feedback on your recent stay. We would like to extend our sincere apologies for the inconvenience and disappointment you had. We take pride in creating memorable hotel experiences for our guests and in this regard, we are regretful to learn of your experience. Please rest assured that the matters mentioned are duly dealt by the hotel team and ensuring them to focus on providing memorable experiences for all guests that stay at Palace of the Golden Horses.

Once again, our sincere apologies and we hope that despite your disappointment on this occasion, the hotel will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel sometime in the near future.

Regards,
Francis Alberto
Manager, Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The hotel was chosen as a venue for 29th ASEAN Teachers Convention (ACT) by hosting country Malaysia. The teachers conference was held in October 2013. We stayed 3 nights in this beautiful hotel as participants. The hotel is very spacious and beautifully decorated. It also has beautiful surroundings. There is no shopping centre nearby but the hotel provides regular shuttle bus services to The Mines Shopping Mall and to Kuala Lumpur City Centre. There is also boat service (RM8 per trip) to The Mines Shopping Mall. So you would be able to do your shopping either at The Mines or in Kuala Lumpur. The hotel room is big and spacious and can sleep 4 persons easily. However we found the room carpet is stained and does not look pleasant. The toilet need to be maintained and improved. So that the hotel can maintain her 5 status. You could capture many nice pictures of the hotel and sceneries from the hotel. This hotel is very close to Kuala Lumpur International Airport (KLIA). Staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The rooms located near the horse race course are more noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGHMines, Manager at Palace of the Golden Horses, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Warmest Greetings from Palace of the Golden Horses!

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay here with us. We believe that it is only through guest feedback that we are able to continue to improve on our services and facilities.

On another note, we would like to extend our sincere apologies for the inconveniences that you have experienced. Nevertheless, we have taken actions from your comments and rest assures the comments on cleanliness of the room was improved.

Once again, our apologies for the inconvenience caused and we thank you for your support and patronage. At the same time we look forward to welcoming you to Palace Of The Golden Horses.

Best regards
Francis Alberto
Manager, Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palace of the Golden Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace of the Golden Horses

Address: Jalan Kuda Emas | Mines Resort City, Sri Kembangan 43300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Sri Kembangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Sri Kembangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace of the Golden Horses 4*
Number of rooms: 480
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Palace of the Golden Horses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Of The Golden Horses Hotel Sri Kembangan
Palace Golden Horses
Palace Of The Golden Horses Malaysia/Sri Kembangan, Selangor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palace of the Golden Horses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.