We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happily surprised. ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Van der Valk Hotel ARA

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Van der Valk Hotel ARA to your Saves list
Van der Valk Hotel ARA
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Veerweg 10, 3336 LM Zwijndrecht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Zwijndrecht
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Happily surprised. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

The hotel reservations where made buy others for me. The place was described as "in the middle of no where" Got to the room and opened the door and was impressed. Large standard bright room, huge bed, deck, big windows, large bathroom. Made the stay that much better. If possible get a room on the second floor, the view is better.

The area is quiet which helps.

Was very jet lagged, the bed made the night that much better.

Staff where friendly and helpful.

Ate the restaurant for dinner and breakfast. Dinner was above average, but the portions could have been a little bigger. Breakfast was good for a hotel. Good selection of food.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank longhorn75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Luttre
Level Contributor
133 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed at this hotel, taking advantage of a special package including a 4 course diner. We decided to stay 2 nights to discover few cities around (Rotterdam, Delft, and Dordrecht) and to benefit from the Spa available at the hotel. It was one of our best week ends in this area and a very good decision to extend the package with an additional night.
The hotel is located in a very isolated and calm area along a canal. There is plenty of cycling or walking path that you can take to discover the local fauna and flora. The hotel offers the possibility to rent bikes at a very affordable price. Despite its isolated location, Rotterdam or other typical cities are maximum 30 minutes drive.
The hotel is very well equipped and the spa offers a nice pool and sauna that allow for relaxing or to maintain its shape in a very well equipped fitness room.
The rooms are large, very well equipped with a large flat screen TV, a very useful dressing, a safe, a complaisance tray and nicely decorated. The bathroom was one of the largest I’ve occupied so far with a shower and a bathroom that can easily welcome 2 people. The bedding was of very high quality too and very comfortable.
The hotel offers a nice bar with a large choice of drinks until midnight. Afterwards, a distributor can help in case of later thirst. We could test the restaurant 2 times and we were entirely satisfied at each time. The food was very good and the menu offers 3 to 4 choices for each course so that everyone can accommodate own preferences. The breakfast buffet is extensively furbished with a very high variety of salty and sweet dishes. Bread and orange juice are fresh and you can be provided with eggs and bacon on demand and according to your taste. A perfect way to kick off an active day of visit or physical activity. People are very friendly and helpful. You are cordially welcome be it at the reception, in the restaurant, at the bar or for the breakfast. Of course, the language may be a bit challenging if you only speak French (Dutch en English are practiced fluently). But the personnel will try its upmost to help and worth to mention that menu’s are available in French too.
As a piece of advice, I recommend to ask for a room at the second floor (larger windows if you have a view on the parking) and the view on the canal is really worth the possible extra charge.
We will definitely visit this hotel again and will recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: I recommend to ask for a room at the second floor (larger windows if you have a view on the parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

This hotel is standard Van der Valk style, efficient, clean and lacking soul. It is a business hotel with various conferences being undertaken daily. Check in was efficient and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The bathroom had two door entry which is quite unique and clever. Entry to each floor is with your swipe card for additional security. There is a pool and sauna in the basement, though lighting that was on would have assisted when it got dark!
The food in the restaurant is excellent and service was done with a smile. The breakfast staff could not do enough to assist, even when people arrived after the time that breakfast finished. Greta hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wotnohair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rustington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Stayed at the Ara for one night, it is in the middle of nowhere so kind of trapped it you dont drive or have use of a taxi.

The room, 223, facing the carpark was clean, bright and modern. Nice large bathroom with the usual amenities and wet room style shower next to the bath (a little odd tbh) and the toilet whilst offset had no door for privacy if a couple using the bathroom as a whole.

Made use of the pool and sauna. The pool was deserted, no light switch could be found so it was pretty dark at 17.00, had to turn the Sauna on ourselves. No shower gel in 2 out of 3 of the showers and the mens dressing room door opens into the corridor - so if your in the buff at the wrong moment and eyeful is provided to all and sundry!

Service in the restaurant was initially slow, to the point of painful. We waited 5 minutes to be guided to a seat, a further 5 minutes for a drink order, then a further 15 for a menu, add another 10 to take order it was at the point of walking out. However, every cloud - the food was great. I had Goose to start - plentiful and full of flavour, followed by Beef Tournedo, very tender in a rich red wine sauce, slightly underdone veg (very al dente) and the dessert of Bavaros and Cinnamon Ice Cream was delightful. The food service was efficient, breads were provided (stating these were free - sounded odd and a tad patronising).

The bar was interesting, after moving around three tables due to the dust on them, settled down for some drinks - very attentive service by the barman and was a pleasure spending the remainder of the evening in there.

Morning breakfast was missed - however, when we mentioned this (arrived at 10am and shuts at 10am) we were made welcome to help ourselves and no trouble was spared when we said we'd take our food into the bar area - a table was quickly laid.

All in all, having stayed at Van Der Valk chain a few times now, I know what to expect and would agree that this is a mid 3 star in European standards.

Room Tip: My room faced the car park, so its not pretty but not disturbed either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaydogz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Nicolas, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

The rooms are great, but make sure to have a room with a view on the river, since views on the other side are boring and quite ugly... (parking lot). We were a bit disappointed in the wellness, since we expected more facilities than just a (nice) pool and a small sauna for a hotel that promotes a stay there as a 'wellness getaway'... No towels in the pool area, the changing room for ladies was totally flooded, it made a lousy impression at first! The towels arrived an hour later and by the next day the changing room was dry again, so they do make an effort. The food was good, some of it even excellent, but I would stay away from the meat, since this was not 'restaurant quality' at all. When addressing the waiter about it, he suggested we took fish instead...
All in all a pleasant stay, great rooms with a superb bathroom and all this for a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Ask a room with a view on the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anneken_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hergenrath, Belgium
Level Contributor
122 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Booked a special offer DBB. Real value for money. We arrived early around 10:30am and hired bikes in order to cycle to Dordrecht. Our room was not ready as check-in was 14:00. On arriving back at the hotel around 15:15 we were told that our room was still not ready. We eventually got our room at 16:00. This is a no go especially when they advertise 14:00 check-in.
Evening meal was good as was the breakfast the next morning. Room was of a large size with the bathroom way above average. Service in the hotel from cleaners, restaurant and reception staff was good.
My only complaint was the check-in time - 2 hours later than advertised - a no go.

Room Tip: Rooms in direction of the river have a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Great hotel with excellent facilities inc swimming pool and sauna and friendly staff, great views of the river but location is isolated with nothing close by. Taxi to Dordrecht or Rotterdam are not cheap! Therefore the hotel prices are typically expensive at 5€ a beer and about 25€ for a main meal. Still worth it though and will be back end of September, business not pleasure!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenny E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zwijndrecht
3.9 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Dordrecht
4.1 mi away
Van der Valk Ridderkerk
Van der Valk Ridderkerk
#1 of 1 in Ridderkerk
4.5 of 5 stars 416 reviews
5.0 mi away
Apollo Hotel Papendrecht
Apollo Hotel Papendrecht
#1 of 1 in Papendrecht
4.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Villa Augustus
Villa Augustus
#2 of 8 in Dordrecht
4.5 of 5 stars 191 reviews
3.7 mi away
Postillion Hotel Dordrecht
7.8 mi away
Suite Hotel Pincoffs
Suite Hotel Pincoffs
#1 of 53 in Rotterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel ARA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel ARA

Address: Veerweg 10, 3336 LM Zwijndrecht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Zwijndrecht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Zwijndrecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel ARA 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ARA is a hidden treasure along the Oude Maas. It's a surprising location with a unique and fantastic aspect in a green environment and still only a 10 minutes trip from Dordrecht and Rotterdam. In all its diversity ARA offers you the perfect accommodation. Hotel ARA has more than 80 spacious hotel rooms available, of which 6 are splendid suites, all arranged very comfortably. 29 rooms have a magnificent view of the Oude Maas. For relaxation we offer you a large indoor swimming pool, sauna, sun bed and fitness area. You can make excellent trips close by on one of our rental bikes or jog kilometres along the many paths following the river or through the countryside. Next to the hotel there is a large parking lot with 240 free parking spaces. With its cosy appearance Hotel ARA's restaurant is the sparkling centre of the hotel. Our menu offers a large selection of dishes. We work according to traditional methods with each day fresh products. For groups of up to 35 people we have a 3 course menu with 5 selections of entrees and main courses. For the warmer months of the year we have available a very spacious patio with a stunning view of the Oude Maas. During good weather, lunch is always on the patio! Hotel ARA is located very centrally in nature at only 7 minutes from the A16. It is very accessible form Rotterdam (14 km), the Rotterdam-Den Haag airport (28 km), Dordrecht (9 km), and Breda (33 km). Hotel ARA is the ideal location for meetings, company events, parties, dinners, teambuilding sessions and trainings. No matter what your goal is, you can set it up in one of our 8 meeting spaces varying from 40 m2 up to 340 m2. Our largest hall has its own patio and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Venere so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel ARA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Der Valk Zwijndrecht
Van Der Valk Hotel ARA Zwijndrecht, The Netherlands - South Holland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing