We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful cabins by a pond” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southwest Pond Cabins

Southwest Pond Cabins
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Lunaire-Griquet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Southwest Pond Cabins
Save
You added Southwest Pond Cabins to your Saves list
P.O. Box 58, St Lunaire-Griquet, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 2X0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Peaceful cabins by a pond”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Conveniently located between Anse aux Meadows and St Anthony, these quaint cottages were our savior. We hadn't booked anything or planned, we really wingged it the whole trip and we got lucky with this little gem. We were able to fish in the pond and each couple had their own bedroom. The showers were, and after a week of camping it was perfect! The kitchen was fully equipped and there was a little tv, not that we used it much. It cost us $134 per night which we found reasonable as it was a weekend during the summer months and split in 2 couples is actually pretty cheap. The staff were super nice and friendly. We went to do our laundry and the lady had even folded it for us! (we left it to go fish)
In all it was a very pleasant stay. There is a convenience store and nice little restaurant (The Daily Catch) not too far away.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

Our family rented 2 cabins for 3 nights and everything was good. The cabins are spacious, well equipped and very clean. The pond has a short boardwalk and bench to rest and enjoy the wonderful scenery. There is a small play area for children. Just a short drive to the Viking Meadows and a bit longer to Saint Anthony. We rented cabins near Wiltondale and St. Barbe and these cabins were the best of them.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Our group of 24 stayed at the Southwest Pond Cabins for 3 nights during our 10-day north-south tour of West Newfoundland. The Southwest Pond Cabins is the best cabin among the 3 places we stayed. Each cabins are spacious, well laid out and well equiped. They are also clean and tidy. Definitely the place to stay if you are visiting the north tip of Newfoundland.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dartmouth, nova scotia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

2 minutes from the Lance aux Meadows viking site. Clean rooms and friendly staff. has complete appliances and wellstocked. Bathroom clean and furniture was newer. One of the best cottages in the area and a huge step up Staedy Brook for 2/3 of the price. If you are visiting Lance aux Meadows - spend the night here rather than travel the moose infested roads at night.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2007

My friend and I stayed for 2 nights while exploring St. Anthony (iceberg / whale watching) and l'Anse aux Meadows Viking site nearby - both are within half an hour's drive of the cabins' quiet location. 8 cabins sit in a row, each with a small balcony containing a gas barbecue for guests' use.
Our cabin, number 7, had 2 double bedrooms in addition to the well laid-out central room. The sofa & easy chair were very comfortable and the full-sized fridge & cooker meant proper meals could be stored and cooked.
We were very pleasantly surprised at the thoughtful touches incorporated into the cabin - good quality furnishings were evident throughout and the cabin was scrupulously clean. For $70 CDN a night, this has to be one of the best bargains of my Newfoundland trip. I would recommend these cabins to any friends travelling to the area.

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st john's
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2005

This place has two bedroom cabins, in a good location, not too far from the Viking site and from ST. Anthony. It is just north of Saint Lunair/Griquet in a more rural setting. The rooms are simply furnished but pleasant. The bedrooms have comfortable beds and the living room has a TV. There is a small kitchen with a microwave. The cabins are nicely set back from the road. (Snorri cabins, a little further north, also looks like the cabins are nice but they are not separated from the roald. There is a pond near by, where we saw a moose. And a small store near the front desk. We paid $70 per night. I think this is very good value.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Southwest Pond Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southwest Pond Cabins

Address: P.O. Box 58, St Lunaire-Griquet, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 2X0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St Lunaire-Griquet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in St Lunaire-Griquet
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Southwest Pond Cabins Hotel Newfoundland And Labrador

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southwest Pond Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.