We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come for the view, stay for the great dining.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel le Catalan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel le Catalan to your Saves list
Hotel le Catalan
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route de Cerbere, 66500 Banyuls-sur-mer, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Banyuls-sur-mer
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Come for the view, stay for the great dining.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012 via mobile

Hard to beat the view from the balcony over banyules just a 5-10 minutes walk down the hill. Can imagine this place as crazy busy in summer but in April it was perfect. Hard to tear yourself away from the great view but the excellent meals served in the restaurant were worth it. Menu of €26 was great value for 4 courses of really delightful food. Lovely staff were very helpful when we lost our way in the GPS and with directions to the Cathar fortresses! Highly recommend (even though plumbing was a bit loud!)

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    43
    20
    13
    3
See reviews for
16
62
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

After several pleasant visits during summer months to this hotel, we stayed four nights in Oct.
We had been in northern Spain & had very warm weather but this had changed as we reached France. Upon arrival we were registered & found the room we had requested.It became so cold we asked for the c.h. to be put on but they haven't any & we were given a
convector heater which was completely inadequate for the size of the room. Towels in the bathroom were the worst I have ever had, like sandpaper & literally as stiff as boards. We had a problem with the window in there too, blowing open and banging in the early hours when the wind got up.There was strong smell of damp along the corridor of the 2nd floor
also but on the plus side Le Catalan has lovely views of the bay and landscape surrounding it, the balconies are a reasonably good size & there is an extensive parking area.If you take
a short-cut into town you can follow the path, down the steps at the side of the s/pool.
We ate a la carte & thought the food very good. All the staff are very pleasant & we would not hesitate to recommend this restaurant but oh dear, this once delightful hotel needs a serious update.

Room Tip: Room 433 is more spacious than others we have tried
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

We stayed here for one night at the end of a trek through the Pyrenees. The hotel is not modern but is well maintained and our room was spacious and clean and had a lovely view of the sea. The bed was bit narrow for two. Desk clerks were very helpful. Dinner was absolutely incredible, gourmet dining and superb service!! Breakfast was adequate. We would have stayed longer if possible.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Nice hotel walking distance from Banyul centre. Watch all the steps! The restaurant is quite formal and they serve very nice food and loads of great cheeses. Staaf very friendly and helpful.
Unfortunately our bed was very very hard and the airco maked so much noise ik looked like a plane was flying over.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We managed to book a room on a Friday night in the Catalan. We were given a good rate for Bed, Breakfast and evening meal. The room was great, Aircon/balcony and overlooking the bay. We wanted to stay the Staurday night, but they were fully booked. The gentleman on reception helped us find another Hotel, but later that evening he had a cancellation and called us to ask if we wanted to take it up. He then called the Hotel we had booked back to cancel. We had to change rooms, but we were told just to pack our things and the staff would move them to our next room whilst we enjoyed our day. Not quite as good room, but all facilties ( except aircon) and again spotlessly clean. We were so greatful for all the help we were given and we had another excellent meal that night.
I have nothing but praise for the staff in this Hotel, they really went the "extra mile". Would stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a High floor for spectacular views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaria, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I've stayed at the "Le Catalan" hotel at Banyuls for three times now and next time I'll be in the area I'll stay there again for sure.
Le Catalan is located on a hill with a magnificent view of Banyuls bay, the town and the backdrop of the Pyrenees Mountains.
The rooms are nice and clean and the staff at the hotel is very friendly and helpful. They also have a very good restaurant with stunning views over Banyuls and the sea.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
419 helpful votes 419 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Fantastic place and a real beauty of a hotel, staff were so friendly and helpful and bent over backwards to help and serve everyone always time for a word and hint on the area and town.
Views were stunning over the bay and harbour/marina with plenty to see and do around here and we walked every day into town but be warned it is very much uphill coming back with a lot of steps!!
Rooms were generous and seemed to all have a sea view of some description over looking the bay, 2 pools as well with plenty of sun beds and shade as well.
Food was superb and so well presented and cooked, wine list was extensive and drinks available all day hot and cold as well.
Could not praise this place enough from checking in to checking out all excellent and well organised a brilliant place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel le Catalan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Catalan

Address: Route de Cerbere, 66500 Banyuls-sur-mer, France
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Pyrenees-Orientales > Banyuls-sur-mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Banyuls-sur-mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel le Catalan 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel le Catalan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel le Catalan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.