We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Owners are great! Wonderful spot.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cataratas Bijagua Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cataratas Bijagua Lodge to your Saves list
Cataratas Bijagua Lodge
Bijagua | Costa Rica, Bijagua de Upala 1000, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Owners are great! Wonderful spot.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I found the place by accident after not being able to find a previous spot that I had reserved near the Volcan Tenorio National Park. Its an old dairy farm turned lodge at the end of stunning country road turned into a modern lodge with 5 isolated wood bungalows. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and it is on the bank of a beautiful river (the lodge gets all of its power from a hydroelectric unit in the river). Warren, the youngest of 11 brothers and sisters finally realized his dream and built a family dairy into a lodge. He and Carla welcome you to the family. They prepare delicious breakfast and do not tire of talking about costa rica. Some great memories from my trip were spending several hours with them and group from a Costa Rican high school one evening. I got to practice my spanish and learn more about their wonderful country. I hope I get to visit them again one day. I never had time to check out the waterfall so I will have to come back next time. Both a tranquil and fun spot.

Room Tip: oops no swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    17
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
30
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, FL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights and had a fantastic time. Hotel has beautiful huge garden for bird watching and is very peaceful. There are two beautiful trails, you don't want to miss and Rio Celeste is just 15 min drive. Everything in hotel is very close to nature.
Hotel rooms are huge and can fit 4 adults with no problem although they have minimum ammenities.
The best part of the hotel was the service. Hotel is run by a local young couple, Warren and Carla and they are lovely and very helpful people. We came to know so much about costa rica just by talking to them.
We were served fresh breakfast everyday and they even put extra effort to cook something vegitarian for us.
I would highly recommend this hotel and will certainly stay there next time we go there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataratasBijagua, Propietario at Cataratas Bijagua Lodge, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thanks for your comment this encourages us to improve every day more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed only one night but I wish we could have stayed longer just because we did not have the time to explore this nice property. We didnt have the chance to see much of what it is around but it was because we arrived late, then went to rio celeste and then next day we left for Guanacaste. I was told in the mornings (very early) you get tosee all kinds of birds.

Do not forget is chash only!

The only thing that I would point out is that the road that takes to the hotel (2km long) is not in great shape, although we had a small rented car and we were fine, you just need to go very slow.

these cabins are lovely and at the same time very rustic. For people looking for peace and quiteness, this is the place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataratasBijagua, Propietario at Cataratas Bijagua Lodge, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thanks for your comment this encourages us to improve every day more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

If your looking for something rustic and charming Cataratas Bijagua Lodge is the place.It's family run and you feel at home. The two hikes they have on the property are worth taking. One takes you to the waterfall and the shorter one takes you to a lookout spot where you can see the town of Bijagua and the Tenorio Volcano. Breakfast is included in the price of your cabin. If you let them know in advance you can order dinner at the lodge as well. The town of Bijagua is close by and offers a couple of eateries and super markets .A great place for nature lovers , there are many different types of birds and tropical plants and flowers.Warner and Carla the couple that live on site and run the lodge are very friendly and are great hosts.We will return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataratasBijagua, Propietario at Cataratas Bijagua Lodge, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Google Translation
Gracias por su comentario, para nosotros es un gusto atenderles tratamos de mejorar cada día para que su estancia en nuestro Lodge sea inolvidable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed on march 27 to 31, 2013. Just for nature lovers. The rooms, the food and the owners were excelent. You don´t need to visit the most popular tourist places in Costa Rica, full of people. In Bijagua you can see all kind of animals, plants, rivers and volcanos. Celeste fall is ver near from Bijagua and warm water too. We really enjoy to be in Bijagua.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataratasBijagua, Propietario at Cataratas Bijagua Lodge, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Google Translation
Gracias por su comentario, para nosotros es un gusto atenderles tratamos de mejorar cada día para que su estancia en nuestro Lodge sea inolvidable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MISSOULA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed one night March 13, 2013 at this lovely rain forest lodge. Carla and Walter, the local Costa Rican owners, are such charming young people. The large cabinas are only a few months old and very nice and clean, with good beds. The landscaping is stunning, with beautiful flowers, tree, birds (toucans, parrots, monkeys, etc.). The property is truly an "eco-lodge" as it creates its own electricity with a water wheel on a beautiful mountain stream. You can take lovely, well-marked jungle walks from the property, one to a stunning waterfall where previous quests had spotted a jaguar. Its a few miles up the mountain on the Miravella volcano from the really charming town of Bijagua. Carla cooked us a delicious tipical Costa Rican dinner and breakfast. If you want a true rain forest experience, this is the place. I wish them the best of luck and I do apologize for accidently taking the flashlight key ring.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataratasBijagua, Propietario at Cataratas Bijagua Lodge, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Google Translation
Gracias por su comentario, para nosotros es un gusto atenderles tratamos de mejorar cada día para que su estancia en nuestro Lodge sea inolvidable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We just were there for lunch but we walked around a bit and fell in love with the place. Within 10 min in the nearby forest we saw many birds, monkeys and many butterflies. The food was nice and the staff and owners are great hosts. Will be back there for a night over stay to enjoy the scenery a bit more. The place is tugged away beautifully in the nature.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataratasBijagua, Propietario at Cataratas Bijagua Lodge, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
It was a pleasure to serve you, thanks for your comment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cataratas Bijagua Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cataratas Bijagua Lodge

Address: Bijagua | Costa Rica, Bijagua de Upala 1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Bijagua de Upala
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Bijagua de Upala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cataratas Bijagua Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cataratas Bijagua Lodge Costa Rica/Bijagua De Upala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cataratas Bijagua Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.