We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unbelievable place!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Carolina Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bijagua de Upala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Carolina Lodge
San Miguel | Bijagua, Bijagua de Upala, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
new jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“unbelievable place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The drive to La Carolina alone was magnificent!! Pulling up to the hacienda, I could see I was in for a special few days and I was very correct.. Although we could barely understand each other, the staff was so kind and helpful-the cabin I stayed in was right down by the river and was so gorgeous-when they light up the pathways with candles at night, it is just magical. I went horseback riding twice and at one point our group came upon an injured falcon in the grass-Alejandro gathered it up and brought it back to the lodge to strengthen it up before another guest drove it back to San Jose for care-that is just one beautiful memory I was lucky enough to be a part of at this special, special place..Also-they have a great lake on property and a paddle boat for some great bird watching!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    166
    13
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
60
78
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Was a blast,very hard to get there, you need a 4 by 4,but once you there you love it! is PURA VIDA!!!!! the cabin by the river is the bast,everything is nature and fresh the food was the bast nothing fancy but delicious we was there for 2 days I hope to go back for four, that will do. I just hope the road will b better.

Room Tip: the honeymooner cabana close to the river!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esterillos Oeste, Costa Rica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

La Carolina Lodge brings you back to the days when Costa Rica was pura vida! The staff is like family, the food cooked on a wood burning stove and fresh squeezed juices are a party for your taste buds! The gardens overflow with colorful flowers and green pastures keep the horses healthy and strong. Stay overnight and hit the magical rio celeste waterfall at 8AM after a hearty Tico breakfast!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We wish that we had more time here! We spent two nights. After coming from the hot Guanacaste coast the shady jungle and lush pastures were delightful. I was a little wary at the drive on the bumpy road and as it was our first experience with Costa Rica rural dirt roads and we went very slowly after the turn off in Bijagua. But on arriving at La Carolina lodge I experienced a kind of peace that I had not experienced in a really long time. I don't know really where to begin, as our stay there was completely wonderful. We had the "honeymoon cabin" with the private hot tub and hammock on the porch looking out over the crystal stream. The bed was very comfortable--we used the mosquito net, though it probably wasn't necessary, it was very romantic. At night the candles are lit on the path ways and on our porch. Gorgeous.
We enjoyed every bit of our meals and the company of the other guests. One of our lunches when we were the only guests seemed a little less than the previous day--which was too bad because we were very hungry after our hike at Rio Celeste. While eating meals we watched pretty little colorful birds eating at fruit that was put out for them. Seemingly on cue, a pair of Toucans appeared. We went horseback riding both days with Alejandro--who was an excellent guide and horseman. The ride was stunning through the pastures among the grazing horses and beautiful cattle and we came across howler monkeys. You could tell that a lot of care had been taken with the ranch animals. We also had Alejandro guide us on the hike to Rio Celeste which was great. We loved the informality, and enjoyed the calm and slow pace. This was certainly a highlight of our trip!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This was our 2nd stay at La Carolina Lodge. We were here 8 years ago and it has grown more beautiful and the meals are more varied. They actually have a pastry chef come in every day to prepare delicious desserts! We rode horses when we felt like it; the horses are wonderfully trained using gentle methods; when they aren't being ridden they get to roam through lots of pasture with plently of grass. This contributes to their being relaxed and reliable. They don't have that pent-up energy you see in a lot of American horses who don't get enough freedom. The pasture land all around is just naturally stuffing. Within the lodge acreage the landscaping is beautifully done. The staff there really have it together and make you feel welcome. We traveled husband, wife (me) and our daughter in her 20's. There is a lot to do in the area. We didn't fish but understand the fishing is exceptional. The LaCarolina website doesn't do it justice. I understand they will post a new website this year.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I really didn't know where to go. My friend suggested La Carolina Lodge, a little bit of magic. Bill and Karien make you feel like your one of the family. The waterfall, the horseback riding, the staff, the hot tub, the food all make this magic. Their two kids are just a treat. If you want to do something they will get it done. I can't imagine going back to Costa Rica without stopping by to say hello.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stumbled on a preservation at La Carolina Lodge and it was a fantastic experience. We were placed in a small and rustic cabin near the river which lulled us to sleep at night. The cabin was spacious and comfortable but we didn't spend much time in it other than to sleep. Between the swimming hole, the hot tub, the hikes and the horseback riding, we were too busy. All meals are included in your tab and they are prepared fresh and always accompanied by delicious fruit juice mixes. These were are all typical Costa Rican meals and we loved them. Besides the opportunity to see a rural and non-touristy (and perfectly beautiful) area of the country, we were charmed by the kindness and attention of all the staff, and especially the expertise of Alejandro, who took us into the national park and also out riding in the hills surrounding the Lodge. This is a low-key place and a great place to soak up the natural surroundings either by doing nothing or by participating in all that is available. We also met some very interesting other guests whom we will stay in touch with. You can't go wrong with this lodge—stay several days if you can. Bill and Karien are great hosts and know how to make you feel welcome.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Carolina Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Carolina Lodge

Address: San Miguel | Bijagua, Bijagua de Upala, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Bijagua de Upala
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Bijagua de Upala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
La Carolina Hotel Province Of Guanacaste
Hotel La Carolina
La Carolina Lodge Costa Rica/Bijagua De Upala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Carolina Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added La Carolina Lodge to your Saves list