We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homemade breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sueno Celeste (Blue Dream)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sueno Celeste (Blue Dream) to your Saves list
Sueno Celeste (Blue Dream)
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Road #6 - Between Kms 28 and 29, Bijagua de Upala 21304, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Keswick, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Homemade breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Pride of ownership! Daniel and Dominique take amazing care of their bed and breakfast. The rooms are all new and immaculately kept. The breakfast is fresh, homemade and delicious!! They keep the grounds immaculate as well, there are lots of local plants, and birds in the yard. They grow their own bananas and some of the other fruit for breakfast right out in the yard. They have a hummingbird feeder just outside the breakfast room. There is a constant stream of different types of hummingbirds right outside the open windows as you eat your breakfast. The rooms are more like their own cabins. They each have a nice patio to sit and relax on, as well as each having their own hammock to lounge in. Both Daniel and Dominique speak a few different languages and give you a welcome package, explaining the sites and what is around in the nearby town, including a laminated map! The only thing I would change is that there is no A/C in the rooms, which is what affected the "sleep quality" score.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    613
    58
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
147
399
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montesano, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

My wife and I and our adult daughter spent 2 nights here in this outstanding B&B. It truely lived up to its rating! Daniel and Dominique were wonderful hosts. Besides providing for all of the usual necessities (coffee pot in room, hot water shower, great beds, clean neat rooms, beautiful plants) they prepare the most wonderful breakfast each morning as well. And Daniel will provide excellent advice and directions for activities, which then saves you guide fees!!..... in multiple languages too! We also did a load of laundry at their facility, but as we found the rest of our trip, with all the humidity, nothing actually dries out in Costa Rica!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

My significant other and I stayed at Sueno Celeste for the first 4 nights of our trip in Costa Rica. This bed and breakfast has great charm and is absolutely gorgeous with the variety of plants and wildlife all around the property. The morning breakfasts are excellent. Simple, yet clearly made with fresh, local ingredients (many grown onsite or nearby) and entirely homemade. Daniel and Dominique are absolutely wonderful hosts. Extremely welcoming and very knowledgeable of all the area has to offer. We loved being able to explore on our own yet also have great insider recommendations with all of the information needed. We hope to be back to Costa Rica in the future and we will definitely stay at Sueno Celeste again. Completely and whole-heartedly recommend. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Daniel and Dominique are wonderful hosts. We were given a warm welcome, lots of helpful advice and recommendations for the area and a wonderful breakfast in the morning. We would highly recommend this small, intimate and beautiful gem in Bijagua.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Daniel and Dominiques beautiful lodges Sueno Celeste guarantee relaxing days. Homemade marmelade and scrambled eggs from their own hens for breakfast, all kinds of birds in the garden and the volcano always in sight made out stay very enjoyable.
Daniel knows all about the Area and could help us with valuable tips.
Anytime again!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights of our honeymoon at Sueno Celeste, and we both wished we had spent more time there. Daniel and Dominique were wonderful hosts! The rooms were clean and comfortable with hot water and electricity. The grounds were beautiful, full of fruit trees and flowering plants. We also enjoyed watching the hummingbirds while eating the freshly prepared breakfast each morning. Daniel also took care of setting up a horseback riding tour for us and provided us with a wealth of information about the surrounding area and things to do. We certainly recommend staying here to anyone traveling to the Tenorio region.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Tapir room, which was perfect for 2 people. The small fridge outside the room allow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juelich
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

A marvelous experience in all regards: a clean room, artistically decorated (reminders of Pablo Neruda), with a small terrace in front of a lush tropical garden, extremely friendly hosts, serving homemade bread and marmalade for breakfast, in a veranda-style room with views of all sorts of tropical birds outside competing for papayas and pineapples, an excellent information folder with maps and highlights of the surrounding. The recommended 2-3 hour hike from the lodge through the back country to Bijagua was a real discovery, incl. a tree full of oropendulas and pleasant encounters with very friendly local people, a simple but extremely tasty dinner in the casa de maiz... in retrospect one of our fondest memories of this trip! Ansgar and Teresita

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sueno Celeste (Blue Dream)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sueno Celeste (Blue Dream)

Address: Road #6 - Between Kms 28 and 29, Bijagua de Upala 21304, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Bijagua de Upala
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bijagua de Upala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sueno Celeste (Blue Dream) 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sueno Celeste (Sky Blue - Dream) is a small hostel with two nice decorated rooms with private bathrooms and personalized service, in a green and quiet environment. Our breakfasts are famous; made of fresh and home made products you will have them watching the panoramic view on Volcano Tenorio and a lot of colored birds flying around. We are located 2 miles south of Bijagua, at 1.500 Ft above see level and close to the entrance of Volcano Tenorio National Park and the famous Rio Celeste (you will need about 6 hours to visit that park). Meet here in Bijagua the authentic Costa Rican "Pura Vida" life, its people and its specialties. On your way between Arenal or Monteverde and the beaches of the Pacific, it is the perfect place for memorable experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Sueno Celeste (Blue Dream) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sueno Celeste (Blue Dream) Costa Rica/Bijagua De Upala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sueno Celeste (Blue Dream), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.