We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sueno Celeste (Blue Dream)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sueno Celeste (Blue Dream) to your Saves list
Sueno Celeste (Blue Dream)
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Road #6 - Between Kms 28 and 29, Bijagua de Upala 21304, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfect B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This was hands-down the best place we stayed at during our 2 week trip to Costa Rica. Unfortunately, it was only for one night - in retrospect I wish we would have made more time to explore the gorgeous Bijagua area while enjoying the lovely hospitality of Sueno Celeste!

The rooms were super clean, and decorated with love. But the real highlight was the couple that runs the place. They were there to greet us as soon as we drove up, and took the time to show us around, and offer insight on what to do in the area. They even gave us maps to use during our stay! They made restaurant suggestions, which were all spot on. And the breakfast they make is AMAZING. Fresh baked bread, homemade jams/jellies, eggs (from their own chickens), and fresh fruit. Since it was close to Christmas, they even brought us some fresh gingerbread cookies.

Such an adorable couple, great service, and terrific rooms. I can't say enough good things about this place!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    612
    58
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
147
398
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sherbrooke, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed dec. 10th and 11th 2012. This is a great a very neat & clean B&B. Lots different kinds of birds to see just a few feets away during the breakfast...thanks to Daniel's fruits. :) A good breakfast. Quiet place. Nice garden arrangement. Good advices from the owners regarding the things to do around and where to eat. Rio Celeste is a nice hike and lunch at the Posada Rio Celeste, a lost restaurant (& B&B too) lost close by the Rio Celeste park worst the additional 600m drive to eat in the nature. No other pictures to add...the ones offered by others shows the place..Yes I would return, without any hesitation!
Warm evenings even in december in the mountains but just cool enough to have a good sleep!! Hot during the day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harderwijk, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

What to add to all the great reviews? The bungalows are very nice, the breakfasts are homemade, fresh and different each day. We loved all the different species of birds in the garden. The location is central to all the beautiful natural parks of the area.
Despite of the rain, which was plentiful during our stay, we really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wuppertal, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We spend 2 days in Sueno Celeste during our roundtrip, the houses was so wonderful and sweet, the hosts welcomed us friendly and helpful, because our luggage was stolen on our way, we felt a familar atmosphere it was like coming home. Even the breakfast was lovely prepared and the owner gave us good advices where to go and what to do. With a breathtaking view and the beauty of the garden we loved being in Bijagua, also the small village is very nice, people are very friendly and even if there are only a few restaurants, the food was excellent. After a hiking day to the beautyful lake and without clothes to change the hosts washed our clothes within 1 hour! Thank you very much for the good time!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We were at Sueno Celeste for the second time in two years. Same great experience and great people
They have added two more cabins on their ground and the architectural details are very pleasant.

The garden is as always full of flowers.

The owners are full of details and suggestions on the whereabouts, accurate and REAL!

Room Tip: We were there for two nights and two breakfast. Plenty of very good food and a real bird show in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We liked the small lovely mediteranean bungalows. We felt very well and welcome. The owners were very nice and Daniel gave us many hints for hiking. Every morning we had a lovely made and different kind of breakfast - we enjoyed it a lot. Staying with Dominique and Daniel was one of the most beautiful inhabitations we had on our trip through Costa Rica.
Thank you very much for your friendly being!

Marina und Matthias Bader Germany

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, ME
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The Sueno Celeste is a true find. The rooms are beautiful (and have a tremendous view to top it off), the owners are friendly, knowledgeable, and personal, and the morning breakfast of fresh fruit, eggs, and homemade breads topped with homemade jam is the perfect start to any day. We were lucky to spend our first two nights here and couldn't have imagined a more wonderful transition into our time in Costa Rica. This stay was worth every penny (and more)!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sueno Celeste (Blue Dream)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sueno Celeste (Blue Dream)

Address: Road #6 - Between Kms 28 and 29, Bijagua de Upala 21304, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Bijagua de Upala
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bijagua de Upala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sueno Celeste (Blue Dream) 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sueno Celeste (Sky Blue - Dream) is a small hostel with two nice decorated rooms with private bathrooms and personalized service, in a green and quiet environment. Our breakfasts are famous; made of fresh and home made products you will have them watching the panoramic view on Volcano Tenorio and a lot of colored birds flying around. We are located 2 miles south of Bijagua, at 1.500 Ft above see level and close to the entrance of Volcano Tenorio National Park and the famous Rio Celeste (you will need about 6 hours to visit that park). Meet here in Bijagua the authentic Costa Rican "Pura Vida" life, its people and its specialties. On your way between Arenal or Monteverde and the beaches of the Pacific, it is the perfect place for memorable experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Sueno Celeste (Blue Dream) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sueno Celeste (Blue Dream) Costa Rica/Bijagua De Upala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sueno Celeste (Blue Dream), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.