We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful green refuge with caring hospitality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sueno Celeste (Blue Dream)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sueno Celeste (Blue Dream) to your Saves list
Sueno Celeste (Blue Dream)
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Road #6 - Between Kms 28 and 29, Bijagua de Upala 21304, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful green refuge with caring hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Sueno Celeste is a charming B&B located on Route 6 next to the small town of Bijagua. We stayed there for one night to go to the Tenorio Volcano national park and would have stayed longer, but it was booked. The setting is peaceful and remote with lush plantings and many, many birds.The 3 rooms in two small buildings are removed from the road and oriented toward the volcano, so you aren't bothered by road noise. Our room felt hand-crafted and romantic with handmade quilts, colored stucco, & a natural wood vaulted ceiling. Each room has a small porch with a hammock and table & chair. There is no air conditioning, although a fan is provided. The room would be improved by the addition of a ceiling fan and a softer mattress.

Owners Daniel & Dominique are kind and helpful. We were offered coffee when we arrived and given very useful laminated maps of the national park & of restaurant options in town. From Sueno Celeste B&B, it's a 45-60 minute drive on a rough gravel road to the entry of the national park. A 4x4 vehicle is required. There was a heavy rain on the morning we arrived, so we walked through a lot of mud in the most beautiful primary rainforest, enjoyed the natural hot springs, and managed the difficult climb down to the gorgeous waterfall. We brought in a bag lunch and spent a total of 4 hours in the park (it closes at 4pm) - for me, it was the most memorable part of our 11 day trip. I wouldn't consider any other B&B to visit this national park.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    52
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
142
354
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

at Sueno Celeste and we loved it! Daniel and Dominique were the most excellent hosts and the quality of the accommodations was superb. Daniel greeted us with coffee, a map, and a list of activities in the Bijagua area. Throughout our stay, he continually consulted with us to make sure we were enjoying ourselves, to give us tips for areas to look for birds, and to schedule activities for us. As others have noted, the breakfasts were quite good and we have not found a nicer place to eat our breakfast in all our travels. Communing with the hummingbirds and the beautiful gardens every morning was a treat. You won't regret a trip to Bijagua and Sueno Celeste - stay a few days and take advantage of the many treats the area has to offer.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed at Sueno Celeste for 2 nights.
The hotel is very nice, clean, relaxing and with a beautifull garden.
Daniel and Dominique (the owners) were really nice and helped us planning our time in Bijagua. We went for a hike in Rio Celeste which was unique, very beautiful. We also visited a biological farm in Bijagua and the owner (Jesus) taught us every thing about his plants and his butterfly creation. It was really interesting. We loved our time in Bijagua and Sueno Celeste.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We spent 3 days with Daniel and his family. He is a true guide for Costa Rica and helped us during our stay to visit some places. His advice was very valuable. Every morning we enjoyed a nice breakfast with home made bread, pancakes,...
the rooms are comfortable and clean. We had a very good time in Sueno Celeste !

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We went for our honeymoon. Beautiful location. Clean Rooms. (They even changed out sheets frequently.) Awesome breakfast and coffee!! Our hosts were extremely helpful and knowledgeable about the area(and I think they spoke 5 languages). Bijagua is truly an amazing place with some really magical sights in the rainforest. Being away from major tourist centers really gave us a truly special, secluded, and unique experience. At first I wasn't sure about the town, but everywhere you turned there was a surprise that opened up into an incredible experience. I would suggest this b&b to anyone, couples and families. Arriving to this b&b was refreshing after traveling so far from the capital. Tea was waiting for us when we arrived! I don't think I could ask for anything more, it was perfect.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights while visiting Rio Celeste. The hotel is definitely what was advertised on their website and I was glad to see it was even nicer than expected. Our hosts were very special and would serve us breakfast daily by the beautiful garden from where you could see hummingbirds, flowers and the volcano. They also provided us with a detailed guide on what to do in the area and a map. The fact that they took the time to even prepare such information shows how passionate they are about their hotel.

If we ever go back to Bijagua this is the place to stay for sure!

Regarding Rio Celeste... there are no words to describe how awesome it is. It's a must see if you are in Costa Rica for sure!

Room Tip: Two of the rooms have an awesome view of the garden and the Volcano. Request those =)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

The owners are incredibly welcoming and accommodating, and they helped us have a very memorable stay. The accommodations were very pleasant, not fancy but obviously decorated by an artist. The weather was great (heavy winds almost roaring at night but so warm you could go outside in a t-shirt).There's very little to see or do in town at night, so we went to bed early and got up early every day to have coffee and sit outside at the bird feeder watching one incredible creature after another, more birds than anywhere else we went. (At this point the local internet cafe is very rudimentary, full of kids playing video games and no one speaking English, which was not an insurmountable problem but could be better.) Host Daniel is very involved with trying to encourage sustainable tourism and help develop the tiny town in ways that engage and assist local residents, which we found admirable. He arranged the high point of our stay, a day trip into the forest with a remarkable young local woman as our guide. She was an inspirational example of a new generation connected and committed to nature and conservation. (She also took us to the best food we had in Bijagua, unfortunately on our last day, at a tamale place on the highway in town, so ask about that place and anywhere else the locals eat.) Daniel and Dominique serve a nice breakfast every morning and are very helpful with plans and connections. We had a great trip in Costa Rica for nearly three weeks, but found that our three days at Sueno Celeste were the most memorable, because of meeting these charming people and their lovely home, spending the day in the rain forest with our guide, and getting more of a chance to interact with local people.

Other tips: 1) Get up early or you won't see many birds or animals. 2) Take advantage of sophisticated hosts like these and follow their tips for crafts or souvenirs, since there wasn't much of this visible in any of the places we visited. On our last day in Costa Rica, we went to the national museum in San Jose and visited a great large artisans' mercado right next door; we were thrilled with the embroidered tapestries we bought there (look around first, since prices varied at different vendors).

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sueno Celeste (Blue Dream)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sueno Celeste (Blue Dream)

Address: Road #6 - Between Kms 28 and 29, Bijagua de Upala 21304, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Bijagua de Upala
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bijagua de Upala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sueno Celeste (Blue Dream) 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sueño Celeste (Sky Blue - Dream) is a small hostel with two nice decorated rooms with private bathrooms and personalized service, in a green and quiet environment. Our breakfasts are famous; made of fresh and home made products you will have them watching the panoramic view on Volcano Tenorio and a lot of colored birds flying around. We are located 2 miles south of Bijagua, at 1.500 ft above see level and close to the entrance of Volcano Tenorio National Park and the famous Rio Celeste (you will need about 6 hours to visit that park). Meet here in Bijagua the authentic Costa Rican “Pura Vida” life, its people and its specialties. On your way between Arenal or Monteverde and the beaches of the Pacific, it is the perfect place for memorable experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelBookers, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sueno Celeste (Blue Dream) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sueno Celeste (Blue Dream) Costa Rica/Bijagua De Upala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sueno Celeste (Blue Dream), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.