We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Sol Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Sol Hotel to your Saves list
Gran Sol Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de la Playa s/n, 11393 Zahara de los Atunes, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Oxfordshire
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A Perfect Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Perfectly situated - on the magnificent beach. Perfect service - lovely staff. Perfect room cleaning - unobtrusive and efficient. Perfect decor - not too fussy, boring or over the top. Perfect breakfast - provided you go early. The hotel was completely full when we went and got very very busy for breakfast. Not quite perfect parking - very busy when we went in September but you can pay the attendant a couple of euros to save you a place!

I loved this hotel and found it fitted in perfectly with the naturalism of Zahara. If you can't appreciate this hotel and environment - then you must be tired of life!! Perfect - can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Try for one with balcony overlooking the beach - the most expensive but worth every penny
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    33
    22
    10
    7
See reviews for
22
54
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chiswick London
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This hotel looks great from the beach ... you'd really like to stay there!! Booked in for 2 nights including breakfast (big mistake) ..the hotel has some faded appeal but is in desperate need of waking up to the present day!! the room was clean, great view from balcony but in need of a comfort revamp,a fridge would be a good start... there was a space for one! The breakfast was dreadful and dull like the waiters who didn't really want the guests cluttering up the dining room...nothing was fresh or appealing ....save your money and eat out!!! A smiling face at reception wouldn't go amiss ...

Room Tip: try another hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iznajar, Spain
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Great location but beware of petty crime in the area. hotel has a faded gradjure location could not be better.staff very friendly. Hotel very clean. Hotel food lets it down and is not good value. Go for the menu del dia. Lots of good places to eat in the village.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a front sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Scotland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

It is a very attractive hotel in a beautiful location. My wife and I visited Zahara recently and were very much attracted by the looks of the hotel and the location. We booked a three night stay for later in the week and negotiated a good rate for half-board. The hotel is comfortable enough, glorious views from the balconies, room was clean and comfortable, the half-board was a mistake as the selection and quality of food was poor. What really irritated was the attitude of the staff and, particularly, of the duty manager. On the first evening in the hotel I slipped in the bath while having a shower, banged my ribs on the edge of the bath and was in considerable pain for the remainder of our stay. We reported my fall to the duty manager; he couldn't have cared less and other than having a non-slip mat put in the bath on the following morning ignored my plight totally. We asked for directions to the nearest doctor the following morning and he drew us a map which led us in totally the wrong direction! Fortunately, my wife speaks excellent Spanish so we were able to find our way despite his awful map! At no time in the three days did he ask if there was anything he or the hotel could do to help me and offered on discount by way of compensation for my pain; pain I would not have incurred if the hotel had provided a non-slip mat in the first place. The manager appeared to have no concept of customer care and never appeared to address a word to residents other than minimal responses to questions asked. Does not inspire confidence in guests!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estepona, Spain
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This was a wonderful find. A hotel that accepts pets (often difficult to find) and actually welcomes them. We have stayed three times, always in the same or similar balcony beach-facing rooms, and have intoruced friends to the hotel. All have been as pleased as we were at the accommodation, the food and the warmth of wlecome and help from the staff. Unfortunately, and no fault at all of the hotel, I fell over in a passageway and broke my hip. The staff could not have been more helpful. The management have given us 'favourable' rates since then (the hotel could not be decribed as expensive, anyway) and we have always been made very welcome. The dining room is very good, although I would advise looking into the town (small but lots of choice) for evening meals. Tuna is the speciality of this region and this town and it can be had locally in all its forms. The hotel, of course, also serves tuna. My partner and I and out two dogs were very happy indeed at this wonderful little hotel!

Room Tip: As can be seen from the beach, two rows of balcony rooms overlook both the pool and the beach. Thes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This hotel is in the prime spot on the beach in Zahara. The hotel is family run and their care is visible throughout. The staff are very friendly and proficient, whether you are dining, having a drink on the fantastic terrace or just relaxing in the lounges. There is a also a good size pool in a very attractive garden area.

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

The hotel also owns some luxury self catering apartments, which are equally good at the other end of the village (Gran Sol Apartmentos)

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the sea have spectacular views, but if you are nosey and like to people watch and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludenscheid, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

We have just come back from a fortnight in this wonderful hotel. The service is great, the rooms are clean and comfortable. The cleaners come round every day and change the towels and clean the rooms completely. We had half board - you get a choice of three starters, two main dishes (fish or meat) and desert or coffee. Drinks are cheap! You are directly on the beach and a beach bar is a stones throw from the hotel. On the very windy days the pool is the best bet! Everyone was very friendly, and we had a really great time.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gran Sol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Sol Hotel

Address: Avenida de la Playa s/n, 11393 Zahara de los Atunes, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Zahara de los Atunes
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Zahara de los Atunes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gran Sol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Gran Sol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Hotel Gran
Sol Hotel Zahara De Los Atunes
Zahara De Los Atunes Sol Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Sol Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.