We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all about the beach at Long Point” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Long Point

Long Point
350 Erie Blvd | PO Box 99, Port Rowan, Ontario N0E 1M0, Canada
(519) 586-2133
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 attractions in Port Rowan
Type: Geologic Formations, Bodies of Water
Activities: Birdwatching
Attraction Details
Guelph, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“It's all about the beach at Long Point”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We celebrated the end of summer and our camping season with a four-day trip to Long Point Provincial Park. The entire Long Point area, which includes the provincial park, is designated as a UNESCO World Biosphere Reserve and is located on a long sandy spit jutting into Lake Erie - the most shallow and warmest of the Great Lakes.

This park provides an outdoor experience completely different from the more Northern destinations where Ontario campers usually set their tents and trailers.

The campsites are on sand. The roads are sand. Everything around you.... sand, trees and water. At night, with a bright moon, there is no need for flashlights and lanterns as the moonlight reflecting on the sand is the perfect lighting.

The lake can be as still as glass one day. But overnight it can turn into a beast with crashing waves and a serious undertow.

Home to turtles, toads and snakes the park is also a migratory destination for birds and butterflies. In fact, this is a rest stop for monarch butterflies as they make their way to Mexico for the winter.

A trip to The Causeway restaurant 10 minutes outside of the park gates was perfect for an excellent take-out fish and chip dinner of fresh Lake Erie perch and the best coleslaw I've had in ages.

Long Point is another one of Ontario's amazing provincial parks. It's a popular holiday destination, so campsites book quickly.

Take your time looking at the different sites before you make your booking. Some areas of the campground resemble trailer parking lots and offer no privacy. They are busy and noisy. With that being said, there are a lot of really great sites. We stayed in the Turtle Dunes area. It was quiet and nearly every site offered incredible privacy.

All of the campsites are within a five minute walk to the beach.

Outside of the park, there are a few ice cream stands, beach stores and The Causeway restaurant. Definitely check out The Causeway for ice cream or a meal - it has a section of the beach with a great view of Lake Erie reserved for customers only.

The small town of Port Rowan is about a 20 minute drive from the park and offers a grocery, hardware and liquor store, as well as restaurants and various other shops.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    6
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Finish the summer with a day at the beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We decided to complete our wonderful summer with a sunny day at the beach. We went to Long Point and what a treat it was. The beach is long and the sand is clean. There is a sand bar that you can walk out in the water for a good 1/2 acre. There was no seagulls bothering us and there were very few teenagers so it was quite, fun and relaxing. There were a few other families near us who also had brought a lunch and were there for the fun. No smelly dead fish and hardly any garbage since it was less populated. Much cleaner and less crowded than Turkey Point or Port Dover and only a short drive away. I would recommend giving it a try for a day trip and I think it would make for a nice vacation if you were to rent a cottage. We did not go the the provincial park but there is one available.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledonia, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Camping is awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We love to camp at the long point conservation area. The beach is awesome. the sites are great for a big trailer, or if you want tent camping they have many dune sites that are surrounded by sand dunes to keep it private. Our family goes every year. The only problem is you have to book 5 months in advance.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great sand and beautiful water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

From Toronto to Port Dover (Long Point) you're looking at about 2/2.5 hour drive and Long Point's rival beach Sandbanks is around 3 hours. They're both great beaches but I prefer Long Point simply due to less driving time...Below are my point form notes on the beach...

- Around 2 hours from Toronto
- Beautiful Sand
- Water has big waves but is comfortable when shallow
- I arrived at 9am, picked the perfect spot and picnic table, after 11am you're not getting a table but a spot on the beach shouldn't be hard to obtain
- Washrooms are decent
- Parking is very close to the beach


Great place to bring the family

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Soft sandy beaches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

We go to Long Point beach every summer, it is about 1.5hrs from Hamilton but while worth the drive. We park sometimes at the Provincial Park when gathering with a group of people as you can BBQ and have a picnic there. They have picnic tables scattered around the parking area and the grassy beach area. If you come on the weekend make sure you get their early as they go very quickly.  Other times when it is just my husband and I we park in the small parking lot on the drive up to the park or the street, which is FREE! The sand is soft, clean and gorgeous! The water is the same.  There is not much around, no shops or places to get food so make sure you pack a lunch. Also there is no shady areas on the beach so bring a beach umbrella to keep cool. This year we brought our dog as we discovered they have a designated dog beach at the Provincial Park. Our dog had the most amazing time, she loved every second she was there. There were a few other dogs also that she could play with, she had an absolute blast. All the other dogs were very friendly and they looked like they were all having a wonderful time. Please remember to clean up after you pets if you do bring him/her. The dog beach is just as nice and lovely as the other areas, if you have a dog this is a awesome place to bring them for a fun filled day.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Long Point also viewed

Turkey Point, Norfolk County
Turkey Point, Norfolk County
 

Been to Long Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Long Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Long Point to your Saves list